My Twitter break has been... Revealing I've been on a break from Twit ...

in DBuzzlast year

My Twitter break has been... Revealing

I've been on a break from Twitter (and pretty much all social media) for a month or two now, and I have felt SO much better for it.

Interesting what happens when you get away from over-sensitive snowflake culture!

Posted via D.Buzz

Sort:  

I was never too active on Twitter, but I was very active on Facebook... I'm happy that the circles I've been to in Facebook were all good people, but when my mental state is bad, FB quickly drains my stamina, and I've stopped being active for 5 years now. (Replaced it with HIVE.)

Posted via D.Buzz

I am not sure if I can "replace" anything with anything, TBH. I think that, in many ways, all social media suffers from the same affliction - including Hive. But that doesn't mean it isn't worth it, just means that moderation in everything social media is required to maintain balance in life.

That's fair... We just have to moderate our communities better.

Posted via D.Buzz

Twitter does have a certain vibe to it… yeah gotta all gotta step away sometime

Posted via D.Buzz

It really does. I'm not sure it'll get better with Musk at the helm, either. Just one of those things about social media: everyone has a platform to speak... Even the ignorant and the entitled.

 last year  

I hardly spare any time for social media such as Twitter for a long time.
I spend all my time in Hive and dBuzz. I think this is more useful for me.
!LOLZ

Posted via D.Buzz

I would agree with you! Why spend time on those social media sites when the time spent here actually rewards you?

Danger here is that there is the potential for Hive to become an echo chamber, we must guard against this.

 last year  

become an echo chamber

can you explain it a little bit more 😀

Posted via D.Buzz

Sure! The "echo chamber" is the idea that because a grand majority of the people in a group think and believe similarly that we end up just saying the same things back and forth to each other, artificially reinforcing our beliefs because there is little outside influence/alternative perspectives. The danger I see is that, because we support Hive, we are less likely to keep our critical eye and thoughts towards both the good and bad of Hive. Only way to fully appreciate it and safely use it is to accept it wholly for the mixed bag of benefit and risk that it is, and to not delude others (specifically new users) into thinking it's the "miracle pill" that'll solve all their social media and financial problems.