Longing for Venice (two works) - greasy pencil on rough paper and watercolor on paper

in Discovery-it4 years ago

20200910_115713.jpg

glimpse of Venice

2 0 2 0   
greasy pencil on rough paper


Longing for Venice.

Hello everyone dear friends and welcome back to my blog. I haven't been back to Venice for 8 long years and I fight my desire with the means I have at my disposal, drawing and painting.

Assuming that I will go to Venice next year, now I am content to draw it with a greasy pencil. I propose a chiaroscuro pencil drawing of a glimpse of Venice where I deliberately geometrized the soft lines of the bridges and houses.

20200910_115713detail2.jpg
detail

I have always loved light and shade with the use of greasy pencil and every now and then the desire to work on it returns, especially where ancient architecture is the protagonist.

I imagined a glimpse with a bridge, and the classic Venetian fireplaces, defining the buildings in the foreground with darker tones of the pencil while the more distant ones I drew lighter.

20200910_115713detail.jpg
detail

The rough sheet of paper and the pencil stroke highlight many clear dots that make the painting lighter and more pleasant, an exercise that I recommend to all young artists.

A hug from my dream of Venice.

Armando.

however I prefer watercolors

venice.jpg
Venice - watercolor on paper

Voglia di Venezia.

Ciao a tutti cari amici e ben tornati sul mio blog. Sono 8 lunghi anni che non torno a Venezia e il mio desiderio lo combatto con i mezzi che ho a disposizione, disegno e pittura.

Partendo dal presupposto che l'anno prossimo andrò a Venezia, adesso mi accontento di disegnarlo con una matita grassa.

Vi propongo un disegno in chiaroscuro a matita di uno scorcio di Venezia dove ho volutamente geometrizzato le morbide linee dei ponti e delle case.

Ho sempre amato il chiaroscuro con l'uso della matita grassa ed ogni tanto mi ritorna la voglia di lavorarci, soprattuotto dove sono protagoniste le architetture antiche.

Ho immaginato uno scorcio con un ponte, e i classici camini veneziani, definendo con toni più scuri della matita i palazzi in primo piano mentre quelli più lontani li ho disegnati più chiari.

Il foglio di carta ruvido e il tratto della matita mettono in evidenza molti puntini chiari che rendono il diesgno più leggero e gradevole, un esercitazione che consiglio a tutti i giovani artisti.

Un abbraccio dal mio sogno di Venezia e comunque preferisco gli acquarelli.

Armando.

Sort:  

 
Ah, a new side of you! Amazing how versatile you are. The drawing reminds me of a wonderful song by Charles Aznavour.

Italiano:

English:

Français:

I prefer watercolors

Me too. But the pencil drawing is still a very nice piece of art. Abbraccio con canzone :-)
 

You are always a surprise, for me who are old class 1963 this song reminds me of many things. I love her very much (along with Radiohead and Joy Division) and I heartily thank you.

Not so surprising. We're about the same age (I got 3 years on you) and probably refusing to get old in equal measure :-)


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

!discovery 35
Portali più spesso in chiaroscuro, bellissimo!