Epiphany Hour

in Discovery-it2 years ago

image.png


It's been a bit of a weekend for me. I will get to that later in the week probably. Just know that I am doing my best to catch up and get back to some kind of a normal schedule. Today, I wanted to write a quick post about a certain phenomenon that I have come to realize in my life.

It really isn't anything new, I am sure it has been happening pretty much my entire life, but after blogging on Hive for over four years, pretty much everything becomes a post at some point or another right?

There might be a technical term for what I am about to talk about, but if there is, I don't know it. Instead, I am just going to call it "epiphany hour".

My definition of "Ephiphany Hour" is that time right before you go to bed when you are supposed to be sleeping, but instead your mind kicks into overdrive.

Typically, one of two things happen during epiphany hour. Either you remember all of the stuff that needs to get done (I keep my phone by the bed so I can add those things to my Google Keep list), or you come up with wildly brilliant ideas that you either forget about or never follow through on.

I can't tell you the number of post ideas I have come up with laying in bed at night right before I fall asleep.

It seems counter productive to me on so many levels. This is the time when your mind is supposed to be winding down and shutting off. Instead, it's firing up the engines like a jet getting ready to take off.

Maybe it is the fact that your mind finally has a chance to just be still and now it has a chance to bring things into focus that have been on the periphery all day. I honestly don't know, but I find the whole process a bit fascinating.

As a school social worker, part of my wife's job is looking for the signs of ADHD or ADD in students. Although I have never been officially diagnosed, she would put money on the fact that I tick off a lot of the boxes. As such, achieving a still mind has always been a bit of a struggle for me.

In fact, I would wager that I have probably never had a moment where my mind is perfectly still. It's like a person channel surfing through a million channels up there. Which I think is why this epiphany hour intrigues me so much.

The lists I actually don't mind. Like I said, I have a lot of stuff going on my head most of the time, so remembering things I need to do is kind of a blessing because typically I forget.

On the other hand those "great ideas" are the ones that I tend to struggle with. I can't tell you the number of lifestyle changes, or other "brilliant ideas" I have realized or never followed through on that came to me just before sleep overtook me.

It makes me wonder if anyone else experiences this and how many of the worlds greatest issues might be solved if one of us were actually able to see one of these epiphanies to fruition. Or, how many of the worlds problems were solved because someone did accomplish one of them...

Have you had one of these moments? Did you follow through with it? Did it bring you the expected result?

source


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


All pictures/screenshots taken by myself or @mrsbozz unless otherwise sourced

Sort:  

Dude, it's no question I can relate. I am right there with you. I'm not professionally diagnosed with anything along those lines, but I would be shocked if I didn't have a cocktail of OCD with a dash of ADHD.

When I read this part of your post: "pretty much everything becomes a post at some point or another right?" I chuckled a bit, because that is so spot on.

Hope the weekend thing was not too bad, but will definitely check it out as you post about it. It's a new week, clean slate. Crush it!!!

@bozz
!CTP

Oh, it was great weekend. So great in fact that I am dragging today. I got about five hours of sleep last night and my head is still spinning.

Ohhhh YEAH! Glad to hear that @bozz

!CTP

That happens with me too. Then I wake up in the morning and have either forgot or realise it wasnt such a good idea that I had! !LOL

What's a dry orange good for?
Nothing at all. It's juiceless.

Credit: reddit
@bozz, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @mypathtofire
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(1/2)

Yeah, that second part is totally on the nose! Like when I think: "I am going to start running every day..." Then in the morning I realize that is just a ridiculous thought!

LOL so true 😅🤣

Right before sleeping if I find myself thinking too much about a certain thing or idea, it's only going to escalate so I try to not think or at least change the idea, think about something else of lesser means otherwise there's a big chance my sleep will be delayed. Sometimes I found myself in bed still not sleeping even after 2-3 hours but still thinking, that can't be good. 😁

Voted on ListNerds!

Yeah, I have been there before too. I used to take melatonin to try and combat that, but I haven't done that in quite some time now. The struggle is real for sure!

Epiphany hour is both the bane and the blessing of my existence. When I'm working on a piece of poetry or fiction, especially, ideas come pouring out shortly after my head hits the pillow. I have to write them down in a notebook or in the notes app on my phone or it interferes with my sleep. I lay awake worrying that I won't remember them the next morning. I think it's everything in our subconscious bubbling to the surface due to lack of stimuli.

You are probably right! I figured you would likely have some really good insight on this! I know I should probably keep something more analog by my bed. Using my phone is probably counter-productive to the impending falling a sleep process. :)

Smart move to go analog with this kind of thing! I actually love when it happens to me but it can be frustrating if you need to get up early in the morning. I'm the kind of person who needs at least seven hours of sleep to function.

You and me both!

It´s the brainwaves that change I think it´s the Theta (like the crypto) stage Theta, it´s like a meditational state and that triggers creative ideas and things to float to the surface that you in other wave states overlook.
Happens to me as well and I do the same make a list and look at it tomorrow !CTP

See, I knew there was probably some kind of technical explanation for it! :)

I like that! I have those thoughts too, as well. Just never had a solid name to call those times.

I feel like, for me, it's all night and not just for an hour or so. But my greatest ideas and thoughts come at night that keep me up. You have heard some of the work-related thoughts, now if only hive post ideas would pop into my head that easily.

Good post! Nice to hear that you and others in the comments experience this as well.

Lucky for me it doesn't usually keep me up all night. I'd probably be even less personable each day if that were the case!

I used to have an active pre-sleep time when my mind wandered around. Nowadays I generally fall asleep soon after I hit the bed, without thinking about anything at all. I don't miss those times. While I could produce some wild ideas, it sometimes prevented me to fall asleep for hours.

Yeah, I can totally understand that! It can be a bit frustrating sometimes when you know you should be sleeping, but you keep thinking of things you need to write down so you don't forget them!

I hate it when I go to bed and my mind kicks in thinking about new ideas or problem solving. Glad to know I am not alone. Thanks for sharing.

No problem! It seems it isn't as uncommon as I thought and there might actually be a perfectly chemical reason for it!

It's insane, but it happens to me also. Just when you think you're so tired that you can sleep, your mind goes in overdrive and the most crazy ideas are spinning round and round. Unfortunately, I forget most of them. But yeah, I can very much relate to this.

Kind of makes you wonder what kind of world changing ideas are lost forever!

I´m sure they would be life-changing ... if I could only remember them