Sort:  

Black Hole Sun might almost sort of qualify, of course leave you horribly depressed too.... I love the selections! You can never go wrong with U2! I like country quite a bit too, growing up in a rural area before moving to L.A. It's nice that you get so many shows so close to home, and some of the best shows are the ones without the broadway influence, just raw talent!

Yeah, George Strait was a lot like that too. He just sits there and sings. It's some good stuff. We have a few really nice venues in Michigan that we like to attend, then we travel down to Ohio occasionally too.

I'm lucky to be here in California, always a lot of venues. The only problem is anything in L.A. proper is a nightmare traffic wise and then they rape you on parking prices.... I prefer the stuff in Orange County!

I can respect that. I totally agree with you. Driving down to Detroit for stuff is always a nightmare. I'd much rather stick to some of the closer spots. Easy in, easy out and about half the price to park.

I'm happy to see so much enthusiasm for the eclipse. It is an amazing event. To think that by sheer coincidence the much smaller moon is the perfect distance to completely cover the sun. In a few hundred years that will no longer be the case.

So I'm ok with them cancelling schools, planning big events, and handing out eclipse glasses to everyone. I do hope nothing bad happens. The US does not exactly have a good track record with mass gatherings and guns. But I'll be hoping for the best.

The fact that they changed your area prediction from total coverage to 90% worries me. I imagine many people have been told that at totality they can safely remove their eclipse glasses. If they have already been told that and then don't hear the updated information that there won't be a totality... Well, guess it could be good business for the eye doctors in a few years when the effects from that start to hit.

That Post Malone song was great! That's a really nice sound. I don't know about the Aldean one..

I'm not saying I am opposed to all the excitement, I just don't ever remember there being this much before. It's kind of bizarre. I honestly don't know why you would remove your glasses in the first place. It's just not worth it to me. That site I shared gives a pretty good idea of where the key areas will be. Right now I am mostly worried about it being too cloudy for us.

Yeah I get you. When I was a kid and we had an eclipse, I don't remember any fuss at all. The teachers tried to get us to make pinhole cameras so we could see it reflected on a sheet of paper, but we were all forbidden to look up.

My hometown (Muncie) is in the path. From what I hear, everyone is going nuts there, with both schools and businesses closing for the day. If it's cloudy that day and everyone misses out, that'd be too bad, but also a little funny in a way.

That's kind of what I remember too. If it were happening during the day I'd just head out to the shop building and grab a welding mask. I hope it works out well for everyone. I just want people to be smart and all this talk of "state of emergencies" is a bit unnerving.

😃 eclipse had appeared in but we weren't that disturb. It just occurred for half an hour or so and then everything became normal.

Yeah, that's kind of what I remember too. I have seen several of them in my liftetime, but I think only one was total.

I've never seen a full eclipse and the partial ones are not so spectacular. I'd probably have to travel to see one.

In some countries people are scared of eclipses. My sister found that in Dubai.

U2 look quite old in that video and it's a rare one where The Edge isn't wearing a hat. The Aldean video seems to be blocked here. I don't know Post Malone's music, but it doesn't sound like my sort of thing.

Post Malone does quite a bit of different things these days. He is quite talented. I think the U2 song was from one of their recent greatest hits albums. They threw it on as a bonus track and it did really well for them. I can see why eclipses might be scary.

"Total Eclipse of the Heart"

Spare me, I thought about it before reading you veto'd it.. phew.

I saw a while ago you were getting a total solar eclipse
Reminds me of Bonnie Tyler and Total Eclipse of the Heart. Youtube is getting knickers in a twist one of those U2 songs was unavailable!

Ah, that figures. It's hard to find stuff that everyone can watch when the audience is worldwide!

Not my cup of tea. But

Glad to see a Heroes reference ;)

Thanks, I appreciate it! I was afraid nobody would. I actually wonder if I had led with the other photo and a different title if my post had gotten more eyes.