Painting a Travel Memory: A Sea Cliff in Moraira, Spain while on a Speed Boat Excursion - Gouache Painting on Paper

in Discovery-it12 days ago
Authored by @iTravleRox

Hi, Hive friends! I am challenging myself with another painting from a photo reference of my travel to the south of Spain with my family. We rented a speed boat to do a boat excursion in a day.

For doing this painting, I was quite nervous because this is a realistic reference and not just a photo reference I found on Pinterest. I often saw many inspirations about artists painting sea cliffs on their canvases.

OGSI7988.JPG

This is a photo I took while we were on the boat. There are two things I find this subject interesting and challenging.

  • The rough edges of the cliffs
  • The waves of the seawater

I was doubting that I could paint this whole picture almost realistically.

20240319_010430.jpg

Starting a sketch is not a problem for me but I also have difficulty creating some rough edges or textures using a pencil. It is something I need to learn more.

20240319_010425.jpg

I wanted to do some details on the cliffs but I stopped and proceeded to paint immediately.

20240319_011710.jpg

I started with sky blue for the sky and flesh color for the sea cliffs.

20240319_012117.jpg

Painted royal blue on the seawater, also tried to create some waves.

20240319_014210.jpg

I added details on the sea cliffs using black paint. I was doubtful and not happy doing this because I felt I didn't get it right. I wanted to give up.

20240319_014754.jpg

Anyway, I paused to add details for the sea cliffs. I moved on to paint the trees with yellow-green.

20240319_015332.jpg

Painted the buildings with white paint.

20240319_015658.jpg

Added details on the white buildings using black paint. Now, it is making a little sense to me.

20240319_020102.jpg

Added greens to the trees.

20240319_020758.jpg

And I was like, damn, I should trust the process. I know that painting these rough edges of the cliffs is not really close to reality but I think it's working. So yeah, almost finished. It's time to add details on the seawater waves.

20240319_020936.jpg

I still need to learn more techniques on how to use the paintbrush for the sea waves.

20240319_022202.jpg

I tried the dry-on-dry technique. But I wasn't sure if I was doing it right. Still doubtful.

20240319_022206.jpg

But, look at that.

20240319_023422.jpg

The waves from the photo are not the same waves I did for the painting.

20240319_023342.jpg

I returned to fix the rough edges of the sea cliffs. I felt so satisfied dealing with it.

Voila! Here is the final result. I am so happy with this. It made me think that I could paint landscapes on a bigger and wider canvas.

Sneak peek from our boat excursion

spa01.jpg

Me trying to drive the boat. Hahaha!

spa02.jpg

Me looking like a gangster with the hood. Baby girl was in my arms sleeping and my son enjoying the waves.


Roxanne Tamayo - www.itravelrox.com

Welcome to iTravelRox! Roxanne Tamayo is a Cebuana who is a traveler. Now a mom of 2 kids and a wife. She is a travel blogger and a digital nomad. As a Virtual Assistant, she does a lot of things like content writing, WordPress web design, WP updates and maintenance, graphic design, and photo editing. She is into wedding photography, as well.

If you like iTravelRox's content, please don't forget to upvote and leave a comment. She will share a lot of stories about solo travels, motherhood, family travel, and working as a VA.

Sort:  

Job well done ma'am @itravelrox.

Thank you. Nakataghap ra pod. hehe.

A skill is a skill ma'am @itravelrox .😊 I was amazed because the paint ends well.

hehe buyag salamat.

Way sapayan ma'am @itravelrox .

Not all can do what you did @itravelrox, the output is good. Congrats kababayan I am also from Cebu.

Salamat. Bitaw daghan na taga Cebu sa Hive. Makalingaw. :D

ciao ! mi sembra che tu abbia realizzato una bella scogliera. Penso che quando si dipinge il risultato debba esprimere ciò che si ha dentro e tu lo hai fatto

Grazie mille! :D