Sketching a Travel Memory: Le Mont-Saint-Michel in Normandy

in Discovery-it16 days ago (edited)
Authored by @iTravelRox

Hi, Hive friends! I did a quick study sketch of Mont-Saint-Michel in Normandy. We went here last year in the summer after visiting my husband's relatives. Many times, I've seen a lot of sketches and paintings of Mont-Saint-Michel on my newsfeed so I got interested to draw it.

montsan.jpg

Here is a reference photo personally taken at Mont-Saint-Michel. I just zoomed it in to get some details.

montsan02.jpg

20240205_232121.jpg

I started with a sketch using an HB pencil. I outlined the abbey using gray color pens.

20240205_232428.jpg

I colored the grasses, yellow-green and green.

20240205_232641.jpg

Color brown for the dirt, soil, or ground.

20240205_232810.jpg

20240205_233052.jpg

I started to color the sky blue using Morandi acrylic pens.

20240205_233345.jpg

I thought I was going to leave some blank space on the clouds but decided to fill in some little sky blues.

20240206_010623.jpg

I used white ink for the clouds. I used dark blue Morandi acrylic pens to outline the clouds. But ended up coloring around the clouds.

20240206_010914.jpg

I felt unsatisfied because the color looked so dull so I added violet and pink colors in the sky using colored pens.

20240206_011032.jpg

I added two groups of birds flying above the abbey.

20240206_011207.jpg

Still, I am not happy even though violet and pink were present in the skies.

20240206_012357.jpg

I added royal blue above the skies. Now, I am happy and satisfied with the result.

Well, it was indeed a quick sketch study of Mont Saint Michel just to test myself if I could draw it. But I would also love to paint it. :D

My Shorts video on YouTube

We took a bus going to Mont Saint Michel from the parking lot where we parked our car. You can choose to walk or take a bike. But we also got the chance to visit the church upstairs, it was tiring taking the steps. Haha!


Roxanne Tamayo - www.itravelrox.com

Welcome to iTravelRox! Roxanne Tamayo is a Cebuana who is a traveler. Now a mom of 2 kids and a wife. She is a travel blogger and a digital nomad. As a Virtual Assistant, she does a lot of things like content writing, WordPress web design, WP updates and maintenance, graphic design, and photo editing. She is into wedding photography, as well.

If you like iTravelRox's content, please don't forget to upvote and leave a comment. She will share a lot of stories about solo travels, motherhood, family travel, and working as a VA.

Sort:  

The place is so pretty oi, it looks more awesome in that angle. And the art, it's cuteeeeww.

Yes, it was a nice place gyud. just 1 hour and 30 minutes from our home.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Mukhang nahihilig kna mag sketch lately.. hehe..

Yes, because this mama is having her little freedom na. hahaha!

Cute! Very artistic..

Thank you so much :D

The final result is very beautiful ! :) thanks for sharing with us

!discovery 25

Thank you so much for the appreciation and curation. :D


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program