My Visit to Marina Jetty

in Discovery-it12 days ago

Hi friends!

Here's my first post in the Discovery-it community; I'm glad to share with us my weekend experience outside my hometown. I travelled somewhere afar off to have a taste of life outside my home; I went on a tour to Marina Detty which is situated in the southern part of Cross River State, Nigeria.

The place was popularly known for shipping in cars from other countries to Nigeria during the reign of the colonial masters; when it gets to the jetty, it is then delivered to the buyer in Nigeria. After the reign of the colonial masters (the Britains), the place was active for sometime till it collapsed. Though when I visited, I noticed a car was shipped in a speed boat; when I asked if it is still operating, they told me partially but not regulated by the government.

The naval police told me taking shots around this vicinity was prohibited, that was why I had limited numbers of photo shots.

The major occupation within the area was fishing, quarrying, timbering and selling of sea foods. All these occupations relate to the activities that can be carried out in the waterbody.

It was a beautiful experience and I learned a new way of life of people who live in riverine areas. Possibly when I visit the place again I'll buy lots of sea foods because there are cheaper than the ones we buy in the city.

Thank You For Reading

NOTE: All pictures were originally captured by me