Sort:  

Thanks. I just started with pastels, feeling my way around. So far, I like it a lot, but my techniques leave a lot to be desired. I got sticks and pencils and I'm using them on watercolor paper which I have. What I need is Clairfontaine Pastelmat paper (very expensive) and PanPastels (actually cheaper than the sticks). In due time...

The sticks, are those the chalky kind of pastels or the oily crayon type? I've used the chalky type but not the other since my school days.

The chalky kind. Actually, they're not chalky at all. Good soft pastels are pure pigment with just a little binder, e.g. gum tragacanth. Very powerful colors.

Ok. Interesting. Those are the ones I used but I didn't realize that they were pure pigment. Mine were also the inexpensive ones of course. Lol. I found them a bit challenging.