How to rescue a baby bird 🐥 - Part 2

in Discovery-it4 years ago (edited)

IMG_20200410_173748.jpg

As I've already written in a previous post, I've found a little bird in my garden, fallen off its nest.
The first day it was very scared (maybe because it was shocked seeing all its brothers die) and it was so small that it stayed in the palm of a hand.

IMG_20200412_015744.jpg

THE FIRST DAY

I brought it home and I prepared an old birdcage with some twigs and a little nest made with a bit of cloth.

IMG_20200410_173457.jpg

I prepared a porridge made of cats' kibbles and egg yolk; honestly, it stank a lot, but the bird seemed to like it.

IMG_20200405_180541_1.jpg

It needs to eat very often, about ten times a day, and, if I forget to feed it, it starts twitting so loud I can't ignore it.
It is small but very determined!

A WEEK LATER

After a week it has doubled its size, and even its plumage is changed; before it was dark brown with some beige dots, now is clearly lighter with yellow shades and it has lost the typical lint of baby birds.

IMG_20200416_201157.jpg

It totally trusts me; I can hold it in my hands and it lets itself cuddle like a cat, twitting everytime I cuddle it.

A tiny tail has begun to grow and it started its firsts flying attempts; during the day I let it fly aroud the house for some hours, I hope in this way it can learn how to fly.

If I move across the rooms it follows me, trying to fly or bouncing on the floor, but it always seeks my presence, I think it considers me its mother.

It can't fly well yet and it can't provide for its nutrition by itself, so I think it needs to be taken care of for some days more.

It became part of the family, even my dog loves it, it will be sad when I have to release it, but it's the nature.

IMG_20200405_180642.jpg

I will give you updates on its progress, as soon as it will be a strong and adult bird, ready to leave permanently the nest.

Banner firma.png

Sort:  

Che grande, brava....certo che sei la sua mamma!! Comunque penso che quando lo lascerai andare probabilmente ti tornerà a trovare,almeno fino a quando non trova una amichetta ;)
!discovery 40

Grazie 😃 Al mattino lo metto sopra ad un albero del giardino nella sua gabbietta con la speranza che si abitui a stare qui. Mi dispiacerebbe troppo non vederlo più, quando lo lascerò andare sarà un giorno triste... 😥

Ma no dai..sarebbe più triste se passasse tutta la vita nella gabbietta...
ciao ciao a presto


Questo post è stato condiviso e votato all'interno del discord del team curatori di discovery-it Entra nella nostra community! hive-193212
This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it. Join our community! hive-193212


It's so cute!
I might be wrong, but it reminds of a blackbird.
Hope she grows well and healthy! They are lovely birds :)

I think it (she) is a blackbird too, but I'm not sure.
I guess I have to wait some days more to find out it.