"Waterfall" - A Gouache Sketch

in Discovery-it2 years ago (edited)

 

20211026_104659.jpg
 
"Waterfall"
gouache on paper
300 x 210 mm (DIN A4)

 
Yesterday I tried something new. I sketched an autumn scene from a photo by Johann Piber in a small format with gouache, which is a fast, improvisational media. Just to see if I could do it, I set myself a time limit of one hour. While I managed to stay within the allotted time I'm not exactly in love with the result.

Dry sketching on A4 is fun, but wet painting with gouache is not, at least not for me. I know I could have done a helluva lot better with more paper real estate and more time. So next time, I will go back to my usual, relaxing way of painting 40x30's. Live and learn, right?

Thanks for looking, and please don't forget to upvote and reblog if you liked my art. Until next time!
 

20211026_104702.jpg
 

Gestern habe ich etwas Neues ausprobiert. Ich habe eine Herbstszene (Foto von Johann Piber) in kleinem Format mit Gouache skizziert, einem schnellen Stegreif-Medium. Nur um zu sehen, ob ich es schaffen würde, setzte ich mir ein Zeitlimit von einer Stunde. Ich habe es zwar geschafft, die vorgegebene Zeit einzuhalten, aber ich bin nicht gerade begeistert von dem Ergebnis.

Trockenes Skizzieren auf A4 macht Spaß, aber Nassmalerei mit Gouache nicht, zumindest mir nicht. Ich weiß, dass ich mit mehr Platz auf dem Papier und mehr Zeit ein viel besseres Ergebnis hätte erzielen können. Nächstes Mal werde ich also zu meiner üblichen entspannenden Art des Malens auf 40x30 zurückkehren. Man lernt nie aus, oder?

Danke fürs Anschauen, und vergesst bitte nicht das Upvoten und Rebloggen, wenn euch mein Beitrag gefallen hat. Bis zum nächsten Mal!
 

20211026_104703.jpg
 

Creative Process:

20211025_123417.jpg

20211025_125558.jpg

20211025_135733.jpg

20211025_163523.jpg

20211026_104659.jpg
Inspired by this photo post by @johannpiber .
Inspiriert durch diesen Foto-Post von @johannpiber .

 

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Excellent result even if you not totally satisfied being the artist, using an interesting scene from brilliant photography by Johann a fine result, keep it framed on the wall.

Visiting after seeing this mentioned by @johannpiber, I always enjoy seeing great art @wulff-media in landscapes and animals, look forward to seeing more of your work.

Thank you Joan, for your kind words and the reblog. Unfortunately, the frame is fake and so is the wall. Those pictures came from an art visualization app.

The white passepartout is real, though. I added it to bring the size up to 40x30 cm which I have cellophane storage sleeves for. 😀

There will be a proper painting of this waterfall, especially since Johann went through the trouble of taking updated photos.

These were no troubles, it was kind of fun ... a little bit annoying, but all in all it was a fun day 😂


Cheers and !BEER

Having a little piece of nature hanging somewhere in a home gives one time to reflect on the beauty when unable to get their in person.

Well worthwhile saving and storing scenes you have been to before.


Hey @wulff-media, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Thank you Joan, I'm a fan of Folker since he painted Squirrelzilla :)


Cheers and !BEER

Wow that painting captures the soul of a mischievous squirrel, great photo to paint!

That was a fun squirrel - I watched it for quite a while, but have never seen it again after that morning :)
2019_08_25_squirrel_05a_2400px.jpg

Looks like a shopping basket was needed, Oh well two for one not bad! Very dark coloured squirrel sitting there!

!LUV
!BEER

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@johannpiber, you've been given LUV from @joanstewart.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/5)

This is the usual colour of the squirrels I know - the red ones are quite seldom where I live.


!LUV
!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

Only place we see squirrels in iSimangoliso Wetlands Park or in St Lucia, a small red squirrel going by the name Tonga Red Squirrel.

!WINE

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@joanstewart, you've been given LUV from @johannpiber.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/4)

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @joanstewart, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

A pretty Autumn scene from @johannpiber’s photo. I would hang your painting on the wall.

I like it somehow more than my photo, to be honest, and I agree with you, Jo, I do also think it would look good on a wall 😀


!LUV
!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

Thanks Johann. Too much praise 😀

Ehre wem Ehre gebührt - honor where honor is due 😀


!invest_vote

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@redheadpei, you've been given LUV from @johannpiber.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (2/4)

That is very nice of you to say, but it's just a quick exercise. Thank you 😀

Ich mag das Bild ... I like the image 😍

Thank you so much Folker, to see the image on Twitter was quite a surprise 😃

~~~ embed:1452958075279843330?t=Dmb1DDuhSPgWwdVj0ex_fA&s=19 twitter metadata:TWVkaWFXdWxmZnx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS9NZWRpYVd1bGZmL3N0YXR1cy8xNDUyOTU4MDc1Mjc5ODQzMzMwfA== ~~~


!BEER and !WINE and !PIZZA - perfect 😃
!invest_vote

Vielen Dank für Speis' und Trank 😀

Gerne 😀 Italienische !PIZZA und österreichisches !BEER für unsere Nachbarn 😉


!invest_vote

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Congratulations, @johannpiber You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINEX With @wulff-media.
You Earned 0.100 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/3 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.273

!discovery 30

Thank you Armando! 😀

It's quite good for only taking one hour. I just watched the Bob Ross documentary and it was pretty interesting learning his technique of fast painting using gouache. I'm not a painter so I don't fully get it but it's cool how fast he could create artwork. Anyway, that only mildly relates to your post lol. I really like this one of yours. I like the colors of the leaves and the depth of it. Very good 👍

That's interesting. I think it's way too flat. Eye of the beholder, I guess.

I didn't try to pull a Bob Ross, but this indoor season I would have liked to get one post in every day. I figured, smaller is faster, but what good is it to run a production if quality AND enjoyment go to hell?

Bob Ross' stuff used to look GOOD within 30 minutes, and I'm not anywhere near his league with all the time in the world. I don't have happy accidents, I just have f.ck-ups :-)

When you say flat, I think of comic book like, which is neat and different.

Yeah I never tried painting in that style but he makes it look too easy which means it's probably actually really hard and he's just really good. When I gave painting a go I never had happy accidents either. I probably painting over each canvas I had at least 6 times before I kept anything. I was never satisfied with anything I created.

I don't think it's really difficult, it just takes A LOT of practice. There is a lot of failure between knowing a technique, e.g. Bob Ross' sky and cloud blending technique ("two hairs and some air"), and being able to execute it flawlessly every time, with results matching expectations.

In addition, when people start trying, they buy cheap brushes and supplies. I found out the hard way that it makes a big difference. With good supplies things go easier, even for beginners, and one can concentrate on the practice. It doesn't necessarily mean stuff looks good automatically, but it takes away an element of uncertainty. If it ain't the brush or the paint it has to be me, and that's where I can start troubleshooting.

I was never satisfied

Neither am I, not ever. I'm my own worst critic. As an engineer I'm so used to perfection within a given budget; either sh.t works as intended, or it doesn't. Very clear cut - but art doesn't work that way. For me it's difficult to accept that other people might like my productions just as they are and sometimes they even grow on me over time. It's really weird.


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
joanstewart tipped johannpiber (x2)
@johannpiber(17/20) tipped @joanstewart (x6)
johannpiber tipped wulff-media (x2)
johannpiber tipped redheadpei (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !