aikiado cross-posted this post in Actifit 2 months ago


My experience using the Amazfit GTS 4 mini

in GEMS2 months ago (edited)

Last year in December like many people around the world, I set my goals for 2024 and one of them was to start training again and have a fitness life, since this year began I have taken it very seriously, I started training strength and cardio, I regularly jog about 5 km and after that I do strength exercises and other days when my battery is low I jog 2 km so as not to lose the habit, little by little my main plan is to increase the level little by little and reach greater total distances in the near future, in Throughout all this training process I have found an excellent training companion, the Amazfit GTS 4 mini smartwatch.

IMG_20240313_064443.jpg

IMG_20240313_093122.jpg


It is important to highlight that Amazfit is not sponsoring me (although I would have loved them to do it), but when I decided to start training and jogging regularly I wanted to see the different options regarding smartwatches with a good price-quality ratio and also that they are easily available here in Venezuela and the first days of January I went to the Daka stores and I found this model that I mentioned before for an amount of $100, which for this type of device is a fairly affordable price for what it offers, since there are other models that even reach the 700 dollars like those from Garmin for example, and there are also other Chinese models that you can get for up to $20, so this seemed like an excellent option to me since it has integrated GPS and different basic health measurements for a good price.

Screenshot_2024-03-13-09-48-59-645_com.huami.watch.hmwatchmanager.jpg

Screenshot_2024-03-13-09-49-12-983_com.huami.watch.hmwatchmanager.jpg


This post is to give you a review of this smartwatch which I have been using since the first days of January of this year, first of all I will tell you about the price. It cost me $100 in Venezuela, on Amazon it is also around that same price, with That being said, let's move on to the technical part, the data that I am going to write here was obtained directly from the Amazfit page in the section of this model, here is the link check it yourselft: https://us.amazfit.com/products/amazfit-gts-4-mini?_pos=1&_sid=fb86ffcf9&_ss=r


Technical specifications

Design
Colors: Midnight Black, Flamingo Pink,
Mint Blue, Moonlight White

Dimensions: 41.8x36.66x9.1mm

Weight (with strap): 31.2g

Body Material: Aluminum alloy + plastic

Buttons: 1

Water-resistance Grade: 5 ATM

Display
Material: AMOLED
Size: 1.65"
Resolution: 336x384
PPI: 309
Touchscreen: Tempered glass +, anti-fingerprint coating

Battery
Battery Capacity: 270 mAh (rated value)
Charging Method: Magnetic charger
Theoretical Charging Duration: Approx. 2 hours
Typical Usage Scenario Battery Life: Up to 15 days
Battery Saver Mode Battery Life: Up to 45 days
Heavy Usage Scenario Battery Life: Up to 8 days
Continuous GPS Usage: Up to 21 hours

Sensors
Health: BioTracker™ 3.0 PPG biometric sensor, (supports blood-oxygen, 2PD + 1LED)

Movement
-Acceleration sensor
-Geomagnetic sensor
-Ambient light sensor

Positioning: 5 satellite positioning systems

Connection: Bluetooth 5.2 BLE

Other
Microphone: Support
Motor: Rotor motor

Strap
Materials: Silicone, Quick release
Width: 20mm
Min. & Max. Wrist Dimensions: 135mm-190mm
Buckle: Interpolation

Packing List
Smartwatch (including standard strap), magnetic charging cable, instruction manual

Supported Devices
Android 7.0 and above, iOS 12.0 and above

Application
Zepp App

IMG_20240313_093506.jpg

IMG_20240313_094653.jpg


Now I will proceed to explain to you with this my direct experience with this amazing gadget, the main feature why I bought this device is its battery life since there are devices of this type that cost a lot of money and you have to charge them every day or every other day at most. , which I find extremely annoying, in my experience with a use in which I train at least once or twice a day with the health measurements always active and the screen only turns on when I turn my wrist to see the watch it lasts. generally 8 days of continuous use and there have been some weeks in which for various reasons I have not been able to train and I have realized that the battery lasts more than 10 days.

Regarding health monitors, it is important to highlight what the manufacturers themselves already express, that these measurements are only references since they are not 100% accepted as a medical device would be, but in general terms they are quite reliable, one of the things that I like the most in this aspect are the measurement or analysis of sleep, which is quite useful to help us improve our sleep routine since it gives us a large amount of data about it, and we can interact with the results that we receive, in this aspect, on a personal level, this gadget has helped me a lot to have better sleep and this has helped me rest better.

Screenshot_2024-03-13-09-49-43-974_com.huami.watch.hmwatchmanager.jpg

Screenshot_2024-03-13-09-49-50-355_com.huami.watch.hmwatchmanager.jpg


In the training section we have more than 100 modalities for monitoring sports and physical activities, ranging from the simplest things, such as walking, to things as specific as yoga or parallel bars. When it comes to running or cycling the GPS gets its signal very quickly, something that is very useful, and apart from that we can save the routes in our Zepp application account, which is the application that synchronizes our GTS 4 mini with our mobile phone and You can easily download it from the Android or iPhone stores, and in addition to this can also be integrated into other applications widely used by runners such as Strava, Relive, Komoot, Google fit and Adidas Running, if you already use one of those when we are training we can see the health monitoring of distances and many other data in real time and with the recorded data we can see our progress day by day in each specific workout and also from a general point of view, in addition to the aforementioned, we can also control other things important for training such as our body weight and the different measurements of the parts of our body, which obviously we have to register manually because there is no way the clock is going to weigh us down.

Screenshot_2024-03-13-09-54-15-327_com.huami.watch.hmwatchmanager.jpg

Screenshot_2024-03-13-09-52-24-638_com.huami.watch.hmwatchmanager.jpg


I have already told you about many of the features of this amazing gadget, but there are still many others such as it has an integrated compass, stopwatch, countdown, integration with our calendar, an application to work on our breathing and help us relax, a stress meter, step counter and distance, calorie counter, UV ray sensor, integration with Amazon Alexa, detects what time the sun rises and what time it sets every day, (I imagine there are people who might be interested in this information), it has alarms , weather sensor, additional applications can be installed, you can also control the music that plays on your mobile through the watch and it has a large number of clock faces or covers that show different types of information and have many different designs so that Customize it to your liking, you can also see the notifications that arrive on your phone and read your WhatsApp

IMG_20240313_093338.jpg

IMG_20240313_093629.jpg


To conclude, I can tell you that my experience with this device is very good since the price-quality ratio is excellent, there are other models with many more features, more functions, more sensors and many other additional things, of course with all these additions also comes a greater price, but for a user with a not so large budget this is I would say one of the best options, since it has its own integrated GPS and other cheaper models obviously cost less money even around $50 but they do not have integrated GPS which which implies that when we go to train we have to carry our mobile phone, and if you are one of those people who has no problem carrying the mobile phone with you when training, I highly recommend the Amazfit Band 7, which has a price here in Venezuela of $50 in Daka stores, the price in this case is an indication of how important the GPS is since the Amazfit Band 7 Pro version whose only main difference is that it has built-in GPS costs almost $100.

I hope that this post has been of some use to you as a reference in this section of smart watches for training. If you have any questions or comments, do not hesitate to write to me and I will gladly answer anything you need to know.

The images were taken with my personal Redmi Note 12 Pro phone and the Zepp app images are screenshots from my phone as well.