Japanese Mountain Photo Tour

in Actifit2 years ago (edited)

To Beat the Heat


Get on the trail early. Waking up at 4:00 in the morning is good, but being on the trail by then is even better.


For the Best Light


Again, get an early start. If you already know the trail, you can plan where you want to be and when you want to be there. If you don’t know the trail, getting started just before sunrise is usually a good idea.

To Enjoy the View


Just keep your head up and take it all in.


To Avoid Heat Stroke


Drink lots of water, eat some sodium and iron tablets, and take shelter when it’s given.


To Show Everyone Where You’ve Been


Take a picture and post it online.

All photos taken with an iPhone.


This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


18/07/2022
10745
Daily Activity

Sort:  

Nice hike. I'm always amazed when I see Japanese hiking in pants and long sleeve shirts.

I remember having to take the salt tablets and drink large amounts of Pocari working during the summer on rooftops in Tokyo. Brutal, but you dealt with it.

Headed back in a few weeks to enjoy the brutal heat. Not looking forward to that.

Considering you spend days out in the desert, it’s funny to hear you complain about the heat in Japan. With all the humidity here, though, it’s a totally different beast, isn’t it.

Yeah, I don’t know how they can hike in long sleeves and pants, but after getting borderline heat strike on this last one, despite drinking tons of water, electrolyte drinks, and eating a few sodium tablets, I started to wonder if there is some benefit to keeping the sun off your skin.

Desert heat is way different, until it gets up to about 110, then it's hell regardless if there is humidity. 100 is easy to deal with though.

Don’t know if I’ve ever experienced 110 degree heat before.

Awesome view!
May I know where in Japan is this?
I might try to go if I find time 😅

Ohh I see. I haven't been to Niigata but I imagine the place to be the mountainous part of Japan.

Yeah, a lot of it is mountainous. If you like skiing or snowboarding, it’s a great place for winter sports.

Yeah I heard Nagano-Niigata areas are famous for winter sports but I've only been to Nagano, and that wasn't winter too. 😅
Maybe I can go to Niigata next time.

Summer is nice too, if you go to Sado Island or the coast just north of Murakami (Sasagawa Nagare).

I just googled and it seems like nice places!
I never actually thought Niigata has a lot of cool places.
Thanks for the suggestions!

What a view! That is a great idea of taking a picture of the place. I forget to do that sometimes.

Was it raining when you started the hike? I have hiked in the rain, but, only if it starts when I am already out and hiking. I don't mind it, but, the thought of volunteering to get wet... maybe not! :)

Thanks for sharing the beauty!

No, it wasn’t raining, but the base of the mountain was very lush, like a rain forest almost, and so there was a lot of dew on the leaves, the rocks, and the ground.

I often forget to take pictures too, especially when I have my kids with me, and it feels like too much effort to put all the things down that I’m carrying in order to take a picture. ;-)

Incredibly lush! I find that I have dew every morning, but, usually will disappear by 11am... so it is still wet here too.

You hit the nail on the head! I don't want to put all that stuff down just for a picture!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @rmach.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Loading...