Day 2 Daughter Catch Up and then the Trails to Dandenong : October 16 2022

in Actifit2 years ago (edited)

The main reason for coming to Melbourne was to see my daughter who I have not seen for more than 3 and a half years. We planned to meet for breakfast ahead of her busy afternoon and evening running 3 shows.

She picked this quirky cafe next to Northcote station. I rode down from one suburb north. We sat outside - the rain held off until we were ready to go. Breakfast was good - best gluten free bun I have ever had. The rainjackets are on for the photo

Was a lovely catch up. I called a friend who lives on the route I was cycling. Started heading that way down the same cycle path I followed yesterday

Then started tracking along the Yarra River - first sign of possible problems - water over the path

This was rideable but the flow of water looking back is big

Met some riders coming the other way. Not passable he says. The river is flowing right over the path - lots of logs and debris. He showed me photos. From there it was onto the high side and making up my way. GPS keeps trying to get me back to where I went off course. Dug the phone out and got to my friend's suburb. Called him to get the address.

His wife just tested positive for Covid19 - probably did the test as I was coming to visit. She seems to be managing BUT no point in visiting. He gave me directions to head toward Dandenong.

My journey will follow the Princes Highway. This is the first sign I have seen this trip not far from my friends house.

GPS software eventually did get me to a track that follows the railway line to Dandenong - Djering Track - nice wide track and a few trains to watch

Met a lovely young man on the track who asked a million questions. Go to India to ride he says. Come to my house for a burger he asks. Nice. I was keen to get the day done and to go walking and declined

Checked into my motel - showered and headed out to shops. Young lady busking with her fiddle said she would watch my bike. We had a long chat when I got out. We have a lot of shared interests - orchids, cycling, writing, mental health. She is also doing the GCC for Kids Cancer. She suggested I ride along Dandenong Creek Trail - GPS took me there

I was riding out to Churchill NP to look for orchids. Found a track before I got there and was not paying attention to the name. No orchids

Lots of these white bells. The bush has a lot of grass which is never good for orchids

A lot if it was mossy - mushrooms liked that

A purple pea flower different to the ones we get in Sydney

I photographed the sign. Therein lies the clue for no orchids. This reserve was used for the police horses. They ate the orchids. I enjoyed the walk after the slow start to this trip.

Saw the big DC sign as I was heading back down the creek trail - Dandenong Club - a good spot for a few beers and a cheap dinner. Staff were fabulous - food was club food. Nice out. Ride back to motel in the dark was a bit cool.

Got the gear into some shape for a longer day tomorrow - target Warragul and 83 kms.


This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


16/10/2022
17170
Cycling, Daily Activity, Photowalking, Shopping

Sort:  

The main reason for coming to Melbourne was to see my daughter who I have not seen for more than 3 and a half years.

She will be really excited to see you as well after three years that's quite long.

great, beautiful photos, thank you so much for sharing the report, have a good day

Three years... thats very long.
It must feel a bit weird to see eachother after so long doesn't it?

Nice flower and fungi shots as well!


Upvoted by the Cycling Community
image.png

Loading...