Late settlement brings nerves and time relief.: November 20 2023

in Actifit6 months ago (edited)

Had planned an earlier night after packing the last study box. Got the Actifit post done and sat down behind PC to download stock prices for the week. Internet service went down while I was doing that. Switched over to mobile and finished closer to 1am. Movers are due to arrive at 8:30 and settlement is due to 2pm. I have a lot to do mostly on plants that are moving.

No movers - did get a message at 10:30 - we are coming. 11:30 - still no movers. My wife is beginning to panic. I know it is going to put my collectors drop off at risk.

My wife had loaded her precious stuff into the car. All the grocery stuff was in shopping bags on the porch. She packed the cold stuff into eskies.

I mowed the lawn for the last time

Movers arrived after 11:30. They had had a medical incident that had to be dealt with. We have used them before and the do have a "can do" approach. They set out to load but not looking good to have the house clear by 2:30. As the new owners are not moving in same day, my view is pressure is off. Not the way lawyers flow..

5 to 2 - wife gets a call from the solicitor. The other party wants warranty for the roof repair

Repair only cost $2800. Work has been done by an experienced roofer. There was lots of backwards and forwards with their solicitor calling my wife and her solicitor liars.

I got the keys for the apartment mid afternoon - apartment was clear and cleaned - still a lot of her stuff in the basement parking waiting for 2nd round pick-up

Pressure building - nerves rattled - good news is we got more time to clear the house - was mostly clear by the time settlement came along at 5 to 5.

This broad-tailed gecko was watching. Have seen it around a bit. The gecko is endemic to Sydney Basin

Movers took the first load before settlement happened. I stated at the house and moved stuff under the car port as it started to rain. New owners came by - they seemed relaxed though also unhappy with the process. Was doing my relationship building best

Went back to the house to supervise the 2nd pick up. Loaded all the grocery packs plus a few other bits into my car. Made sure the movers took everything. To new owner's wife walked up - they have friends down the road who have persuaded them to live in the same street.

That gave me a chance to photograph the empty lounge room - a few pieces staying behind. The painting is one my wife painted with a friend after major wrist surgery many years ago - time to leave those memories behind

Back at the apartment - got the car cleared before the movers got there. They left eventually at 12:30. Stunning effort for them

The step count tells all about my day. At 2am, I find one esky has not been loaded into the freezer - did that totally wired. Wired it was

Postscript: Internet down was exactly 12 midnight and not related to our November 21 cutoff. Next day news delivers the answer. The CEO of Optus resigned. After the debacle of the previous failure, they have not learned a thing

This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


20/11/2023
40289
Daily Activity, Gardening, House Chores

Sort:  

Glad to see you survived the move.
!PIZZA

Thanks. I get a feeling the surviving starts now. At least this cycle does not have a time limit on it. The new owners are very nice and are helping out with a few things that could not be done on time

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@ijat(1/5) tipped @carrinm

Loading...