You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Actifit report for Saturday - Willows and cranes

in Actifit2 years ago (edited)

Yes, I looked up what it's called in English and I saw even forest trees were sometimes pollarded in England.

Btw, I just remembered my grandpa, a farmworker born in 1899, used to weave baskets from these twigs. That was one of the few jobs he could do during the winter. My father told me he'd get whipped 'by accident' when he came too close while his father was weaving a basket.

Sort:  

I bet a lot of weaving went on as people would make stuff to sell. When I was at school we made some baskets, but we used plastic rather than twigs. I expect it was tough on the hands.

Yeah sure, he had thick callouses on his hand. His summer job was mowing grass using a scythe. Our neighbor kept doing that around his place and ours until the 1990s. It was impressive, he'd be done with a small field on a slope before you could get a mower ready.