November 19 2020

in Actifit3 years ago (edited)

Hi folks,

So in yesterday's post I asked three questions.

And said I'd answer one of them.

...

Only one, because I don't know the answer to the other two.

So why was that hardhat there?

To keep the sun off a camera that was underneath it.

I didn't want the camera to overheat.

It's been hot.

Today's temperature max was 34.5℃

...

Why a hardhat?

I was improvising, and that's what I found.

A few cable ties held it in place.

...

I wanted to make a time lapse sequence of the
sedimentation tank filling.

...

The camera has some features that I tried out for the first time.

It can be controlled from a phone app and it has a built in time lapse mode.

The camera's software is also updated from the phone app.

...

So here I am yesterday afternoon, playing around with the settings on
this camera, trying to work out the easiest way to make this time lapse.

I had two options for getting the result I wanted:

  1. Set it to time lapse mode, with the longest interval between shots, leave it up there for a while, bring it back down and render the pictures into a sequence
    using video editing software.

  2. Control the camera from my phone. Every few hours throughout the day,
    turn it on from the ground and take a photo. Repeat until the
    sedimentation tank is full and then render the pictures as above.

...

First, I checked out what the longest interval in time lapse mode is:

1 minute.

Damn, no where near long enough.

Okay, well there goes that idea.

...

Then I decide I'll test how far away the camera can be from the phone
before the signal drops.

I'm outside, at work. End of the day. Everybody else has gone home.

I test it by taking a photo with the camera, from my phone, then walking a
few steps back and taking another.

I do this until I'm about 15 metres away.

...

That might be enough, but I wasn't confident I'd be able to
successfully reconnect to and turn the camera back on from the ground
after it being off for a couple of hours. The whole process seemed a bit
hit and miss...

So I go inside and sit down.

I'm messing about with the phone app when it tells me a
software update is available for the camera.

Well, okay.

I follow the prompts and after a bit of waiting, the update is done.

I then decide to check the time lapse interval again, just because. Not sure why really.

...

I couldn't believe it, the time lapse intervals had changed with
the update. Now the maximum time was 60 minutes.

Fortunate coincidence?

...

So that settled it. I took the camera, climbed to the top of the lime
silo. Got it positioned, and started the capture...

Then I decided it needed some shade from the heat of the sun. Especially
since the camera was inside a watertight plastic case.

So I climb back down, look around, find the hardhat, get some cable
ties.

Climb back up, position the hardhat, tie it in place.

Then I went home, satisfied that through the night and the next day it
would be ticking away, taking a shot every hour.

The night shots wouldn't be any good for the time lapse, but I could just delete those.

...

I was a little disappointed then, when I climbed back up there after 24
hours and found that it had only taken four photos before the battery went flat.

Four.

Here they are:

Sedimentation Tanks Shot 1

Sedimentation Tanks shot 2

Sedimentation Tanks shot 3

Sedimentation Tanks shot 4 - night

So they do look good, can't complain there.

Not that the fourth image shows much, with it being night and all.

But I was expecting a few more.

You see, I assumed that the camera would turn itself off between shots. Or enter some kind of power-saving mode to conserve battery.

This camera can record high definition video for about 70 minutes before a fully charged battery goes flat.

I'm not a hardware expert by any means. Not even close, but the camera only has to use power to run a timer and take a picture once per hour.

Surely it could last longer than four hours on a charge doing that?

...

Computers have been able to turn themselves off with a software command
for eons.

Literal eons mate.

Before that, you'd shut down a PC and see this at the end of the process:

It's now safe to turn off your computer

You had to physically press the off switch to finish the job.

...

Maybe turning on from an 'off' state is a completely different story?

...

My assumption could be more unrealistic then I think.

Well anyway, I tried.

It didn't work.

No big deal.

...

I'm off work for a few days from tomorrow.

When I get back I might try the other approach I talked about; using the
phone to control the camera.

...

Have a good one.

Sort:  

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have been rewarded 51.5 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 20832 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received a 1.59% upvote via @actifit account.


Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count, recent rewarded activity and owned AFITX.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT and AFITX tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is a Hive Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial