September 29 2021 _ Heysen Trail Day 14

in Actifit3 years ago (edited)

Hey there

I'm still walking...

Just spent the last three days at an organic vineyard near Tanunda called Smallfry Barossa

In exchange for a few hours work amongst the vines each day, I was provided a roof over my head, a bed, a well-stocked kitchen and a shower

What more could you want?

I met a few interesting people during this time, also staying and working the property

It was hard to leave. I could have easily stayed weeks. But, I've got to keep moving along the trail. Decided to head off early yesterday afternoon

Walked 13 kilometres from Smallfry to Rossiter Hut, through the Kaiserstuhl Conservation Park

It finally happened. I've been able to dodge it along the Heysen Trail so far, but this time I basically walked straight into a thunderstorm

About an hour and a half of walking in steady rain all told. It wasn't so bad. Put the raincover on my pack and a jacket over myself. Got a bit soaked, but not wet through. Once I got to the entrance to Kaiserstuhl Conservation Park, the rain stopped. Which made the walk through a beautiful experience. You know? Just after rain... the scene is silent. Then, the first chirp of a bird, emerging from hiding. The rhythm of every tree dripping dry, the scent of petrichor filling the air. The landscape through here is unique: everywhere there are huge boulders. Many of them standing upright, all of them glistening wet as I walked by in awe. Here, in this moment, I thought of a line by the author Douglas Adams:

"There is a moment in every dawn when light floats, there is the possibility of magic. Creation holds its breath."


So I'm having a lot of trouble writing about the earlier part of my trip

Specifically my time in Hallett. I've spent many a night now just writing whatever comes to mind, but I am as yet unable to bring it together into a cohesive whole. There is a compelling story here, even though it's not the one I first set out to tell

How the discovery of a single fact can change things so dramatically...

More on that another day

For now I want to focus on the present and the immediate future. Particularly this Sunday because I'm looking forward to what's to come

Very Young Grapevine
Very young grapevine, after I removed the weeds around it

Some months back in July of this year, while @goingbike from Spork Valley to the Lost City, I stopped at a town called Tarlee. It was here that I happened upon this poster in a shop window:

While I lay in bed the night before last, a random synapse connected and sent the memory of it front of mind

I'm getting close to Williamstown, as it turns out

So I searched online and found the page. Would I be so fortunate for it to be on this Sunday, while I'm going past?

Wow. Yes. Turns out it is. This Sunday is the first Sunday of October...

So, a jam with some friendly strangers?

That'd be good

All I have to do is get there...


Rossiter Hut


Also,

Hello to everyone at the Hive meetup in Adelaide tonight! Sorry I couldn't be there

@mattclarke
@shaidon
@minismallholding
@ctrpch
@galenkp

And anyone else I've missed or not yet had the pleasure of meeting

Have a good one, keep warm and I'll see you next time!

Sort:  

I didn't get there myself, this month, but glad you tagged me to catch up.

Oh gosh, you got caught out in that storm! There were some pretty loud thunder claps here and I was glad to be under a roof.

Yeah... Unfortunate, but not so bad in the end. No torrential rain thankfully. Just... steady. It was great motivation to keep moving though, hah!

I only saw one lighting strike. There were a few distant rumbles of thunder also. Not as electrically active over this way, by the sounds

It's so nice being able to witness a good storm from a warm, dry place 😁

There was plenty more rain throughout the night, but by that time I was tucked up nice and warm in my sleeping bag inside Rossiter Hut, listening to raindrops on the tin roof...

It's OK. Hopefully you'll be at the next one.

With a bit of luck I'll have finished my walk by then. We'll see...

I hope you have a great time.

Thankyou mate! So far it's been blast. Tough going at times, but all worth it for the experiences

'ROOO!

This is very exciting. Sounds like such an adventure. Have you came across any cool looking 'shrooms out there? Or really bizarre plants? :D

Hahaha yeah. That roo was classic. Heard me before seeing me. Hopped away a little, but really couldn't be bothered going very far.

Haven't seen too many mushrooms really, except for the odd toadstool lately around Mount Crawford. That might change in the coming few days now that there's been some rain

Exotic plants... it's spring here so a lot of things are flowering. That's been pretty cool. Especially through the Caroona Creek Conservation Park / Tourilie Gorge. It was a very unique experience walking through there. Loved it

I suppose most of what I'm seeing would be exotic to yourself... You're in Idaho, if I remember correctly?

You've given me an idea for a post

Wildflowers of the Heysen Trail, or something like that...

Looking forward to the flowers. I'm in Indiana but still would be very exotic to me lol. the Kangaroo was exotic to me lol. I want one as a pet but I've heard they're actually very aggressive animals. Is that true?

I believe the odd male Roo can be aggressive, if threatened. Or if you threaten their family in any way. However, I've spent my entire life seeing them in the wild, often getting pretty close. All they've ever done in my presence is hop away. They're generally quite gentle and peaceful creatures. Grazing herbivores, not predators. My Mum often has them visit her garden

I've known many people that have hand-raised baby joeys. Extended family and friends. They make the most beautiful pets. BUT, they do grow fairly large and need a lot of space to hop and exercise when fully grown. So, you need to take that into account. Most people that have had them as pets raise rescue joeys that are orphaned for one reason or another. When they're big enough, they're released back into the wild

I don't imagine you could do that in Indiana. They may survive, but it's not their natural habitat and it may be illegal. My main concern is the animal's well-being

There's a large difference between a hand-raised wild animal and a domesticated species

Anyway, check it out. There's probably a lot of people of in the US with pet roos... I don't know 🙂

Or, move to Australia! 😁

In the great state of Indiana you are legally able to have almost any animal as a pet. c: it does get cold here though. I'd have to have like a special space for it to keep warm. or... and this idea just came to me... roo clothes. I can picture some warm fuzzy outfits for my pet roo.

Sounds like a great place indeed!

Haha oh yes, Roo clothes. The image of a joey with a jumper on... Too cute... 🙂

Couple of other splinterlands players, but they don't blog so I won't tag them.
I think I copped the same thunderstorm. We were in Renmark, at the caravan park when it came through. Keep on plodding, hope you make the gig :)

Cheers mate, yeah I hope so too. Could be a lot of fun. How was it over that way? Total washout? I hope the weather wasn't a big damper on things and you had a good time 👍

Just enough to ruin home time :)

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have been rewarded 53.75 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 5889 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received a 0.94% upvote via @actifit account.


Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count, recent rewarded activity and owned AFITX.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT and AFITX tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is a Hive Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Congratulations @focus.folks! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 800 replies.
Your next target is to reach 900 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List

Thank you, Hivebuzz

You're welcome @focus.folks, that's with a lot of pleasure 😊👍
BTW, support us back and vote for our witness.
You will get one more badge and bigger upvotes from us when we notify you.