You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ice castles and playgrounds in the snow - Sublime and Beautiful Sunday - Actifit: January 2 2022

in Actifit2 years ago

Beautiful photography and excellent post.

We just got done dealing with some snow here in Portland and it really wasn't that bad with the exception of everybody playing bumper cars.

Yep every time winner hits everybody freaks out and it's like snow apocalypse.

People really don't know how to drive in the snow so that makes it even worse and then a lot of people just are clueless anyway out here. However the towing industry as well as automotive repair have an absolute windfall every time the snow comes.

And the worst part is it's a really wet very close to 32°. The humidity is super high so the cold cuts right to the bone.

I hope you keep warm during all this I would really like that fur lining on the coat!

Sort:  

Ah, Portland, my home town. When I was growing up there we had several "ice storms." I don't think there has been one in quite some time. The freeways would become like giant skating rinks, and the trees and shrubs would become so heavy with ice that they would snap. One winter when I was in college, I remember walking across my campus on the hill (Lewis & Clark College), and about every ten minutes I would hear a tree fall.

Last year we had a horrific ice storm that really shut the entire city down. Like actually shut it all down and froze everything solid.

This time around we got a little snow and some cold temperatures. The snow turned into slush everything was fine.

However last year snow apocalypse had everybody scared that the world was going to end and mad Max was going to be running around.

Yep I'm just dying of laughter actually!