My Actifit Report Card: January 12 2022

in Actifit2 years ago

I think I underestimated the amount of writing I had to do to finish up this project I’m working on.

I know, shocker. The good news is that I’m into the final stretch, but the bad news is that I’m not exactly getting through when I had originally intended to, because today was my original “I think it’ll definitely be done by today” thing.

Two major things are keeping me from being done: I’m still finishing up the adventure, and I need to have the characters made. I made good progress on both today, but they’re just probably not going to get done this week.

So I’m pivoting. I’m going to try to playtest Kenoma this weekend, which will give me a chance to run through the sample adventure. I know the bones are good because it’s built from what I’ve already made and done quite extensive playtesting on, but I just need to know that the adventure works and that the presentation makes sense.

I’m really enjoying the writing, but it’s more harrowing than I’d previously expected. It turns out that when you’re trying to make something for someone else to present, it’s easy to be second-guessing yourself.

Another thing that is going to be the giant elephant in the room is that this quickstart is going to be a big deal to get into. It’s already basically 20k words, and while I think it’s pretty readable and a good chunk of that is semi-optional setting stuff, that will probably work out to at least fifty pages and probably more like 80 or 90 pages once I get it into formatting.

That’s not necessarily a deal-breaker, but it’s quite an oomph to drop on players. I don’t want the core rulebook to be as big when viewed in comparison to how that stacks up to some other things.

But I’m also dropping the Quickstart as a totally free product, so I’m not too concerned with that. I like kind of rambly descriptions of things, and it’s clear to me that I need to cut back on a lot as I go through the core rulebook (and probably Quickstart post-release update) to make things smoother.

Exercise today was light. I’m really not feeling great and I was possibly exposed to COVID last week. I’m not worried about that from a health perspective; I’m young and don’t have any serious vices or health problems that would indicate a rough time for me, but it means that I’m a little less prone to go out.

I’ve got really light sinus discomfort and congestion, which is what my allergies seem to have been doing lately, so I’m pretty sure it’s not COVID, but it’s probably courteous for me to not be around people.

I don’t have any concern about transmitting it while out on my walk. I work on my schedule so I can do a little mid-day walk and be lucky to see anyone outside. But I do think it might be better for me to stick a little closer to home and in the less frequented areas until I’m back to ship-shape or I can get a test.

Alternatively, maybe I’ll wake up tomorrow and feel just fine. As I mentioned, this is exactly the form my allergies have been taking recently, so if I hadn’t had an exposure risk I wouldn’t even think that this was COVID.

My goal for tomorrow is to get through the characters for Kenoma and also do some writing for my non-game related projects. I’ve sort of fallen off the face of the earth with those since I’ve just been doing stuff for @loreshapergames and not my other blogging and book projects.

At the risk of sounding like a broken drum, I think I’ll have Kenoma out Monday, but that includes all the formatting and layout in a way that probably over-estimates the time needed (giving myself all of Sunday and Monday just to get that done!).

This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


12/01/2022
7057
Walking

Sort:  

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have been rewarded 43.6275 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 7057 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received a 0.89% upvote via @actifit account.


Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count, recent rewarded activity and owned AFITX.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT and AFITX tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is a Hive Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial