Postcards from Thailand #38: I Have Nothing.

in Actifit10 months ago

I'm sitting on a bus, finally catching up with a whole clutch of fantastic posts this week and decided that I too, needed to make my first post in over a week.

The problem is, I had nothing. Hence, I'm writing a post about a drill. I have had no relaxing trips to some beautiful countryside. I've not discovered a stunning new beach or eaten at an amazing new restaurant. No, I bought a new drill in the Shopee 7/7 sale. The highlight of month!

It's a nice drill though. A Dewalt, once a fine top of the range brand but now owned by the same company as Stanley and Black and Decker. Big Toolmakers eh?

a lovely box to keep everything in with Dewalt in big letters so everyone will know you're a pro!

There's no longer any chance of a little tool 'oneupmanship' , just a sad reflection that your beautiful new power tool is just an overpriced version of the one on sale in Aldi for a quarter of the price.

But even so....

It's a nice drill, very torquey and does hammering and drilling and screwing. Just what I needed for putting the climbing frame together, which I've actually just finished building except I need those pictures for another post! There are two batteries in the kit that fit other Dewalt cordless power tools. I'm already making a list for Santa.

Screwing action!

It even came with a free case of drill and screwdriver bits, all organised nicely with their sizes printed underneath. Nothing at all like the rather rusty Quality Street tin from Christmas 1984 I usually keep my bits in.

And that's it! I'm now going to make something else because I noticed that in all the big-shot 'maker' videos, and DIY tutorials, they all use Dewalt drills!

Have a wonderful weekend and if you're salivating at the prospect of what incredibly interesting and engaging topic I'll be posting about next, I'll give you a clue.

I also bought a new wheelbarrow this week!


This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


13/07/2023
10252
Daily Activity, Gardening, Walking

Sort:  

I like the way you start your screws like a real ADD vet. If you go to the next screw and slip and it falls out and you have to stop the flow to pick it up and start over, did you screw yourself?

Friend asking for a friend.

Hahaha..comment of the week! From one ADD vet to another, I've spent my life screwing myself! But not this time. With it being cheap pine, or termite banquet as it's known here, I could almost push the screws home by hand and anyway, I have you to thank for the new drill. In a comment once, you told me to ' get your tools and gear together for the job and just do it', which was correct advice and almost starting again from nothing, have been building my toolkit up again. When the wife queried why I was buying a $200 drill, I simply told her that you said I should.
"Ahh", she said. "If the luckiest man in the world said so, then that's OK".
Now I keep showing her photos of Atlas, but that's a slightly harder sell!
'The World According to DanDays' would make a great title for a book if someone actually got a book finished ;-)

I'm plenty comfortable in my own skin to say that's one of the nicest things I've ever read to me.

Thanks man. Really.

And then you did it again. I promise you right here on this chain the same I've promised myself and Pura; when I get my hand back, I'll never take it for granted again.

Writing, drawing, typing, nothing, even this I have to talk to text. No hammering of drilling for me. Frustrating. Lotta F words actually. Haven't had it since February. The right one—dominant one. If I'm repeating myself just tell me shut up.


Good call with DeWalt. $200? Did you get the drill/hammer drill combo? There's quite a few to choose from but the DeWalts always seem to outlast the others and they can take a helluva beating compared to the others.

A 12 inch drop for Makita is like 12 feet for DeWalt. = }

"If the luckiest man in the world said so, then that's OK".

I virtually blushed all over the place.

DeWalt is a great tool range.
Definitely in the top list.

Have fun being creative with it 😁
Hope the wooden structure wasn’t a pain in the a…. Hehehe 🤭 but I can guess and am looking forward to that post 😉
Happy weekend 👋🏻😎

The truth is, the kit went together really well but that would make a terrible post so when I write it, I will be using artistic licence lol ;-)

Aha 😉😁 that’s cool…
As we all do here 😋
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@littlebee4, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @nathen007 and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/4 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Loading...

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @nathen007.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more