You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trees: March 25 2024

in Actifitlast month

That’s a crying shame and if my grandad was still alive he’d be mortified. He was a forester and looked after both ancient woodland and forests grown for timber. I have to bite my tongue when it comes to new housing because we live in a new build but it’s on a section of a dozen properties. Feels less like a housing development but I think a line needs to be drawn and there are plenty of empty buildings that could be repurposed!!!

Sort:  

I can honestly not see a reason for it!
You can see from that it's far away from the fence and no branches hanging into someone's garden or whatever.
I will contact to council to hear their, no doubt, weak excuse why it "had" to be done.

Which woodland or in which area did he work? That must have been a lovely job to be involved in.

The council will talk down to you, like they do everybody else, they’re those sorts of people.

Grandad, Cyril Lewis worked in many of our forests but I best remember his work in the Forest of Dean where he was Head Forester. I learnt a lot from him, he knew his trees, as you can imagine but he also showed me things such as; grab a bluebell and hold it in a wood ant nest for merely seconds, it turns pink. The reason for this is the ants spray acid in defence which causes a litmus paper style effect of alkaline to acid. It may vary depending on the Ph levels of soil and what not.

Wow, that's so cool!
Many old skills are lost to the general public, they're either not taught or don't care.
You're lucky to have learnt from your grandad 👍