Making small Hügelkultur bed - MARC #533

in Actifit2 years ago


Last week @vesytz asked me for a new raised bed where she'll plant lavender and other herbs I decide to make Hügelkultur bed, because I had lots of wood material that just sit there for further use. Also like the idea that such of beds hold much more water

So I mark circle ad dig about 40 -50 centimeter hole then fill with big branches and some logs, put some dry grass and various kitchen scraps, then fill with soil. After that, I put smaller branches and on top of it 10 cm compost then all cover with 20 cm soil again. In the whole process, I water it a lot for each layer.

I thought of surrounding it with stones, but I didn't have enough, then I came up with the idea of driving pegs from an old fence, but in the end I decided to surround the beds with split wood.

For mulch, I put dried wood bark that I had left over from the winter. And in the end, we seed some gherkins so the bed doesn't stay empty till the end of the heats.


This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


30/07/2022
9531
Gardening

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @outlinez ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.


Hey @outlinez, here is a little bit of BEER from @stefannikolov for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Loading...