Sort:  

It was a bit of colder weather but not like it was.

I remember that when I was a child growing up around here the snow lasted even longer and the lake by my house froze so hard you could drive a vehicle on it.

Did you ice skate?

When we first moved to Colorado my dad purchased a nice brand new pair of ice skates and we had fun skating on the lake that was cleared of snow. I think I borrowed a used pair of skates or something, I don't recall exactly. Unfortunately my dad fell down and broke his arm on the first skate, thus ending his skating. My mom and I went a few more times but after a few years the lake never froze as hard. I sort of recall and accident where a snowplow fell through the ice and the city stopped encouraging the skating but details are fuzzy.

Oh goodness ... I grew up on the Prairies and so ice skating was an almost everyday thing in the winter; not much else to do but the neighbourhood park always a had a free rink.