Alternative Abstract Restyled Cherry Tree [Bonsai]

in Team Bonsai17 days ago

Last time I shared a tree similar to this one. They are both young trees, Cherry I believe, which I found growing from shoots in the backyard.

Initially planted and styled with heavy wire in 2022. The above photo is from October of the first year.

Initial Design

The next year, in late April 2023, the tree had started to thicken. Due to the many repeating bends, and the newly flowing sap, the trunk felt still flexible without wire.

Slight Alterations

Later in June the tree is in full leaf, showing the effects of changes that were made.

Although I do love the fanciful nature of the Chinese dragon shape, I thought I should attempt something more realistic and yet abstract. And I already have one dragon shaped Cherry tree. I want to learn what else I can get this species to do.

An angle at the center helped to offset the top. The top was angled outward and downward into a bit of a meandering circle. Lastly the bottom branch was shaped into a shape with multiple fanning curves to showcase future pads of leaves.

Each time a tree is restyled on the trunk, I always consider the branch locations. The trunk should always bend away from each major branch to open up space for wood and leaves to have access to sunlight, and a direct sightline to keep the trunk clearly visible.

A year later, in March 2024, the first buds are starting to pop. All the buds on the branch tips are the thickest.

Snip, snip!

A light hand in pruning was applied. Most branches were shortened. The size of the pot was taken into consideration to keep the tree and branches in proper proportion. Generally, I do not like lots of high branches all extending far outward over the edges of the pot.

This tree had various new latent buds forming along the trunk and all branches. By shortening the branch tips off, I have forced the tree to bush out with more leaves and stems on the interior areas.

April 8th, this year.

All the interior branch buds have opened with new leaves. Those leaves will form into new stems this year, though smaller and more balanced between all limbs, because of my earlier pruning choices.

Current Progress

Here is the tree a week later with larger leaves.

Alternative view to see outward depth.

And again displayed in front of the Azalea blossoms.

Thank you for viewing!


Photos in this post are all #originalworks by @creativetruth, unless stated otherwise.

TeamBonsaiSign.png

#teambonsai @hive-193614 #hive-193614 #bonsai

No memberships. Love trees. Make friends. Grow together.


CreativeTruth.png

Sort:  

That's wonderful @creativetruth it's good for our environment ☺️

I like the pictures of the bare tree. Its easier for me to visualize form without the leaves. I like the winter here to understand the trees in the woods around my house. You can better see the individual trees without the continuous canopy of the forest.

And again displayed in front of the Azalea blossoms.

I was hoping for blossoms and bang the color was overwhelming... then I realized that was way too much color from your bonsai cherry 😊 will your bonsai cherry trees flower?