Chinese Elm: Summer 2020 Growth Results [Bonsai]

in Team Bonsai4 years ago

IMG_20200802_122925.jpg

Chinese Elm is a common tree used in the Bonsai hobby.

This one that I grow, I am not satisfied yet with the shape and style of the tree. The wild nature of the random shoots and ladders that form in diagonal criss-cross angles all throughout the tree can be a challenge to sort through each year.

Too much exterior trimming and pinching neatens up the outline of the tree, but causes the congested thin branches to thicken up quickly. The result is many large inner branches fighting for space.

Historical Info About This Tree:

ID: 0005
Nickname: Peach
Type: Chinese Elm
Age: 7 years
Grown: cutting
Last repotting: early summer 2017
Wired: never

IMG_20200802_122932.jpg

Yet somehow the tree knows what it is doing, and manages to fill in the gaps from above to absorb as much sunlight and rainfall as possible.

I've allowed the most promising branches to maintain their growth tips into positive directions away from the center of the tree. I think they will add size to the tree into areas less complicated. However the growth power of the tree has slowed down during late Summer.

IMG_20200802_122905.jpg

In Autumn or Spring, I have plans to chop off the coarse wood on top, and to open up some spaces. The tree is lacking any separation of branches between top and middle. By removing some of the excess thick filler branches, I think I can better define the shape of the tree.

Eventually I would like to see the tree gain some more height and width. With my Elm's personality though, I cannot guarantee where next year's growth will appear.

Past articles featuring this tree:


Photos in this post are all #originalworks by @creativetruth, unless stated otherwise.

Find me on discord and chat with other tree growers, bonsai enthusiasts, and gardeners.

TeamBonsaiSign.png

#teambonsai @hive-193614 #hive-193614 #bonsai

No memberships. Love trees. Make friends. Grow together.


Post Beneficiaries:

This is my way of thanking each of you for your friendship and support. By sharing my talents on Hive, I can also share to help with your needs.

Let my success also grant you some happiness too.

#chinese-elm #elm-tree #tree-art #hobby #leaves #green #branches #design #creative

CreativeTruth.png

Sort:  

Looks like another good tree to fashion as a bonsai @creativetruth, so much possibilities to make it beautiful. :)