Tom Barry for Three Tune Tuesday Week 76

in Musiclast year (edited)

20210504_140532.jpg

Tick tock, tick tock, well would ya look at that! Yep, it's Tuesday folks and for our merry band of lads and ladies, that means sharing tunes, good vibes and engagement here on Hive. As another week disappears in the rearview mirror, we have loads of engagement and tunes flying around on Three Tune Tuesday and sure isn't it fantastic! I hope you're ready to share three tunes from wherever you find yourself on this magical spinning lump of rock that we all call home and sure you might even sing us a tune if we're lucky?

Tuesday is here again, which can only mean one thing, another three tunes from me and hopefully from lots of you good folks too. How are all of you music loving rockers from Strabane to San Fran doing on this fine evening? Sure, isn't great to be alive all the same. For the week just gone, we had 18 unique Three Tune Tuesday posts and man oh man, that brings a serious smile to my face!

It's the time of the week when lovers of music, tunes and craic bring their blockchain community three of their finest and brightest tunes to share and celebrate, so let's roll on and let the tunes flow free.

This is my 76th week waxing lyrical for Three Tune Tuesday and we are still going strong. It started off with me just sharing tunes into what seemed like a void, but little by little others joined and now I'm thrilled that we have a little corner of Hive where we come and share our tunes every Tuesday, and long may it continue. I almost stopped posting the songs and thoughts a few times, but I stuck with it and now interestingly it is my favorite thing about Hive. I love music and now I have a network of folks around the world who love music too and we share our tunes and catch up with each others tunes and discuss them each week. We get Pop, Metal, Rock, Gospel, Folk, Jazz, Rap, Hip-Hop, Trip-Hop, Reggae, Bippy bappidy Flange Hop. Ok I made that one up, but you get the idea, we are all learning about new artists, bands, back stories and sure isn't it just mighty!

Something that excites me the most is that we even get musicians sharing their covers of famous songs and even their own songs from time to time here on #ThreeTuneTuesday, which is a real favorite of mine, as that takes talent, time and dedication.

We are adding New posters and retaining our core of regulars here on #TTT which is fantastic. Let's keep it growing. Weekly, I try to find three or five hours to listen to all of the fantastic music shared from like-minded folk from around the globe and interact with their posts. This has led me to genres I don't know well and to some amazing new bands and artists and has even introduced me to some musical instruments I did not know existed like the handpan. It also allows me to upvote smaller accounts and find some really interesting people from all over the world, which is heartening.

I hope you enjoy the tunes - be sure to tell me all about it in the comments below and above all else, please enjoy the rest of your Tuesday - smile at a stranger, rub a dog, be a nice human to someone who was not expecting it - peace out.

For those unfamiliar with TTT or Three Tune Tuesday....

The jist is as follows

Every Tuesday I'm going to share 3 songs which I like to listen to and I invite your feedback in the comments below. Better still, why not have a blast of your own Three Tune Tuesday and mention me in the post and I'll come and find the post and upvote it. If you could also use #threetunetuesday tag that would be great, as that is what I use when sifting through all the entries every Wednesday. It'll be a sweet way for us all to discover new music. You'll also be in with a chance of winning the prize - more on that later.

Here are my week seventy six recommendations for Three Tune Tuesday

** Drum roll please.....**

Tom Barry - Lighthouse

This one is close to home folks. I have shared tunes from acclaimed international artists like The Natonal, Arcade Fire, Sigur Rós and Devendra Banhart to name a few, as well as some Irish favourites like Mick Flannery, Declan O'Rourke, The Stunning, David Keenan and Sabrina Dinan over the past 18 months or so. Well today I am going to bring you another talented Irish artist, except this time you have the chance to support someone at the start of their musical journey. Tom released Lighthouse on 27th April 2022 and I was lucky enough to get one of the first copies of the album and I was blown away by it, and I will share a couple of songs from it below for you to enjoy.

Not only is Tom a seriously talented musician, but he is also a really cool and down to earth human who I know very well. He's a good friend of mine and is also my brother-in-law, so even if some weeks, you skip over my recommendations, this week, I'd ask you to play Tom's three songs on Youtube, like them and if you would be so kind, comment on them. He has just released the album on Spotify as well, so you might have a listen to his album and add some of his songs to your playlists. It is tough starting out in the music industry, so any and all clicks, follows and likes would be really appreciated by Tom I'm sure. Here is the link to his Spotify account and his title track Lighthouse.

Tom Barry - Derreighter (feat. Jon O'Connell, Adam Shapiro, Tara Howley, Luka Bloom & Conor Byrne)

My favourite song from the album is Derreighter - it takes the form of spoken word from Tom who also plays the piano, with Conor Byrne adding the beautiful Flute overtones, Luka Bloom adding gorgeous acoustic guitar, Adam Shapiro on the fiddle and Tara Howley on the low whistle. They combine with some beautiful soundbites from my nephews as they discover the peat bogs of Connemara to begin and end the song. In between we listen as Tom takes the form of a Seanachai and tells of the power and beauty of nature and describes how to:

"Sit in the warmth of that turf fire, where the stories are burned slowly, the smell of contentment, fulfilment, a hard day's graft. A conversation flows and bends its way into the night through the sooted chimney to the heavens, where angels listen to reminders of how we miss them and cherish the memories of times spent together in this free land"

Tom then takes a considered swipe at the black screens that we have become subservient to and have influenced our children to do likewise. He reminds us that the land and nature is where we can refind our connection and wellbeing.

"I pray for my children to return to this, away from the screened blinding confusion of competing information, a desire for more when less is needed. A return to the feeling of the trickle of bog water between their toes, a deep dive into the refreshing cold flowing Owenriff (river) to wash away the unnecessary, the cold sharpening focus on the now"

I couldn't agree more with the sentiment, but to hear it in a song, with the glorious accompaniment of music brings more to it and really makes me think and want to act on it.

Have a listen and let me know what you think. I would recommend closing any other applications and fully focus on the words, maybe even close your eyes so that you really hear what is being said.

Tom Barry - Our Moment

I will leave you with this one, which Tom released just before Christmas 2020, when so many of us could not be with our loved ones at Christmas. The Covid pandemic was in full swing, and even a hug with our loved ones was believed to be extremely dangerous and could have potentially made them very sick.

Tom penned this one around the theme of that separation from sons and daughters, mums and dads, brothers and sisters and how difficult that was, but ultimately it was worth it so that they could be safe and healthy.

Again, I would really appreciate you visiting Tom's Spotify page and playing a few of his tunes, this song is there, as well as his fantastic debut album The Lighthouse

ThreeTune Spotify Playlist

Our good friend and regular Three Tune Tuesday poster @blackdaisyft added some tunes to a playlist in the early days and there are around 600 tunes there which is class. You can check those out here:

Three Tune Tuesday Spotify Playlist

HBI contest - win 5HBI

Share your Three Tune Tuesday songs below or create a post with #ttt or #threetunetuesday and mention me so I can find the post.

I'll pick the three songs I enjoyed the most each week as the winner and transfer 1 share of HBI to the winner when this post pays out 7 days from now, but wait there's more...

Three Tune Tuesday Sponsors

My old pal and brother from another mother @blanchy has also committed a share of HBI each week and so have three other Three Tune legends @blackdaisyft and @tengolotodo and @hannes-stoffel so now the winner will receive five shares of HBI, not too shabby at all folks.

Thanks a million to our sponsors above.

Best of luck!

Sin é, That's all folks, thanks for stopping by.

That's it for another week. Those are your three songs for week seventy six. Let me know what you think - good, bad or indifferent?

Also, as I said before, I love getting good steers for new tunes, so please tell me about the latest and greatest from your playlist below and I'll be sure to check em out.

The YouTube videos shared are not owned by me and I am simply sharing great music with the community here on Hive

Thanks as always for stopping by everyone.

Peace Out

Ablaze.jpg

Sort:  

Not my kind of music. But if ye upload it to Risingstargame.com on Hive blockchain. I will buy your tunes.

 last year  

Hi @thehive thanks for the honest feedback. I'll pass your message onto Tom, he's not on Hive as of yet. Rock on 🤘 🎶

Gotta support home folk.
It does cost a token called starbits to upload a tune, I can cover that for him . I think it is 120K starbits for 5 songs. I can cover that and then buy.
Ballyfermot here/Dublin

Listening now and WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!

Great songs and Thank YOU for sharing them !!!!

!LUV

 last year  

Thanks @snook, you're as good ☺️

My kids are TEARING it UP tonight, mercury must be in the microwave or whatever astrology peeps talk about! From what I could hear in my madhouse, your brother-in-law has a beautiful voice and a lot of talent! I opened his page up on my cell to give a better listen this evening when my goblins- I mean beautiful young ones, go to bed !LOLZ !LUV !PIZZA

Where does the general keep his armies?
In his sleevies.

Credit: reddit
@ablaze, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @grindan

Thanks for supporting The LOLZ Project. We !LUV our users!
(1/2)

 last year  

mercury must be in the microwave

😄 😁 🤣 😂

brother-in-law has a beautiful voice and a lot of talent!

He's delighted with the feedback. Thanks a million for taking the time to listen, especially with hectic busy house, I know the feeling!

Must give Tom a listen when I get home.

 last year  

Nice one @blanchy, fair dues to you.

Your brother-in-law is amazing, I have checked his Youtube videos and supported him In the little way I can.

He is very lucky to have someone like you rooting for him. I wish him all the very best in his music career.

 last year  

Ya he's a mighty man. Thanks supporting him @funshee, he'll really appreciate it.

These are very cool tunes, I'll feature one in my #newtunes post. Checked all on YT.

 last year  

Nice one @seckorama, really appreciate that 👌

Thank you. It's the least I can do. 😎

A wonderful voice and beautiful songs, thanks for sharing !LUV

 last year  

Excellent stuff, thanks, my bro in law is delighted with all the positive feedback and YouTube engagement

la primera me gusto. el rock no es mi genero favorito pero me gusta escuchar las melodias son las que escuchado alegres =)

 last year  

Gracias amigo, Tom es un cantautor y estaré agradecido por tus comentarios. Le haré saber.

me gusta tu canal pasare por aqui siempre que pueda saludos =)

 last year  

Gracias amigo, agradezco ese cumplido. Paz.

Wow! Tom is really a great singer. I am now following his songs on Spotify and YouTube. So interesting songs 🙌✌️

 last year  

Excellent @princessbusayo - I'll pass on your kind words to Tom, cheers.

Hi, there! I had stopped by and hadn't had a chance to listen to all the songs until now. Your brother-in-law is very talented. I've listened to almost everything he has on YouTube and I loved Lord Valentine.

 last year  

You're so good @coquicoin. It is never easy to find the time, so thanks for finding time to listen to Tom's tunes.

I loved Lord Valentine.

That song is about the last owner of the castle in the video,Lord Valentine. There was a tragic fire in the castle that killed his daughter Eleanor and a maid, he never stayed another night in the castle, from a broken heart and the castle fell into ruin as you can see from the drone footage. Very sad story, but nice to remember those people through song as Tom has done.

You are very welcome. It has been a pleasure to listen to Tom's tunes.

The lyrics seemed to tell a sad story. But the tune is so beautiful. Thank you for telling me the story behind it. 🤗

Me again :-) I love this song! Is this the place where you live? It looks fantastic :-)

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Y7rlV7eAvnc

 last year  

Hi @beeber, ya I grew up just across the river from that castle. This song is about the last owner of the castle Lord Valentine. There was a tragic fire in the castle that killed his daughter Eleanor and a maid, he never stayed another night in the castle, from a broken heart and the castle fell into ruin as you can see from the drone footage.

Good recomendations those are great songs!

 last year  

Thanks for stopping by to listen @malos10

He's got a beautiful dark voice, a nice addition to my "thinking" playlist while writing.
Thanks for sharing.
!Luv

 last year  

Good man @hannes-stoffel, glad you enjoyed them, the album is really worth a listen, Pale Moon and Shores of the morning two other stand outs for me...

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @whywhy.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

 last year  

Nice one @whywhy, thanks for the boost 👍

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@grindan(1/10) tipped @ablaze (x1)

Send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Those are great! It's always great finding new music. It's songs like these that make me wish I could play the piano (my children all can, at least, and more). Being a musician must be difficult, but he's certainly got the sound for it!

Thank you so much for this - Tom Barry sounds like a true artist! His songs sound like poetry - the middle one especially of course! Great voice that puts your mind in a place and lets it see things - what I imagine Ireland to be. I hope he does really well! I hope music like his finds the right people who would want to hear it - it's not easy these days!