Whipping Boy - Three Tune Tuesday - Song Recommendations Week 39 and SBI contest πŸ—£πŸŽΆ

in Music β€’ 2 years ago (edited)

20210504_140532.jpg

I'm keeping it local this week and I'm also taking a little trip down memory lane, all the way back to early November 1995. A very under rated Irish band called Whipping Boy released their 2nd studio album Heartworm and for me it's a masterpiece. In the spirit of ThreeTuneTuesday I've shared just three songs below, but if you can spare 40 mins 2 seconds at some stage, listen to the whole lot.

For those unfamiliar with TTT or Three Tune Tuesday....

The jist is as follows

Every Tuesday I'm going to share 3 songs which I like to listen to and I invite your feedback in the comments below. Better still, why not have a blast of your own Three Tune Tuesday and mention me in the post and I'll come and find the post and upvote it. If you could also use #ttt or #threetunetuesday tags that would be great. It'll be a sweet way for us all to discover new music. You'll also be in with a chance of winning the prize - more on that later.

Here are my week thirty nine recommendations for Three Tune Tuesday

** Drum roll please.....**

Whipping Boy - When We Were Young

I've opted for three songs from the album Heartworm which I mentioned above and I'll kick things off with one of my favourites When We Were Young. The guitars, lyrics and drumming combine to make this one memorable the first time you hear it. If you are young you can associate with the lyrics right off the bat or if you had a fun filled youth, the song will remind you of your own youth. There are a few very Irish terms below, so for the non Irish Shifting = French Kissing and Rubber Johnnies = condoms. Ok, now here's the lyrics and the tune.

When we were young nobody died
And nobody got older
The toughest kid in the street
Could always be bought over
And the first time that you loved
You had all your life to give
At least that's what you said
The first time you got drunk
You drank pernod and dry cider
Smashed a window in as the police came round the corner
You didn't have no time to run
And your dad stood up for you
As the judge said you're a fool

Babies, sex and flagons, shifting women, getting stoned
Robbing cars, bars and pubs, rubber johnnies, poems
Starsky and Hutch gave good TV
And Starsky looked like me

The first time that you stole
You stole rubber lips and tenners
Bought a radio then ran away for ever
Never felt so good, never felt so good with you
When we were young we had no fear
Of love nor sex nor warnings
Everyone was hanging out, everyone was sorted
When we were young nobody knew
Who you were or what you'd do
Nobody had a past that catches up on you

Babies, sex and flagons, shifting women, getting stoned
Robbing cars, bars and pubs, rubber johnnies, poems
Starsky and Hutch gave good TV
And Starsky looked like me

What might have been
What might have been
What might have been

With a start he was awoken
From the middle of a dream
He's making movies in his head
That never will be seen
He's holding Oscars in his hands
And kissing beauty queens
What might have been
What might have been
When we were young

Whipping Boy - Personality

The tempo, the message, the lyrics here are gorgeous, they flow over me and transport me back to younger days. This is the power of music, it can literally transport your mind to another time and place. I'd be really interested to know if many of you have ever heard of Whipping Boy and what you think of them based on these three songs.

I want to marry a personality
Someone who looks just like Koo Stark
And people grow old, they get bored
They forget to take a risk
Sunken dreams for Mr Field
Sold out to the Longman Oz
Solid days and liquid nights
Red boy loved our pavement fights

Now in the dark they'll be left waiting
Waiting to be told
And in the dark they'll be left waiting
With nothing left to hold

I wish I were in a bright green field
Staring at the bright blue sky
Like genius revealed, I am ignorant of what she feels
Red guitars and broken hearts
Scarecrow bleeds what no-one needs
Ticket man must play the clown
All our lives spent Underground

Cause in the dark they'll be left waiting
Waiting to be told
And in the dark we'll all be waiting
With nothing left to hold

The fantastic thing about the female is that she was
Put on this earth to be admired and adorned not
Abused, or so the Senator said, one night in
J.J. Smyths where all the punks had played and the
Jazz men have their day. While the cat was sitting
In the corner, sniffing out his 20%
A sniffing and a licking
A drinking and a thinking
About how his life was spent
And then he'd fly, fly into a rage
Because his mind became delayed
And he'd start accusing every one of us
That he'd been betrayed

'Cause in the dark he's been left waiting
Waiting to be told
In the dark he's been left waiting
With nothing left to hold

And in the dark we'll all be waiting
Never to be told

Whipping Boy - We Don't Need Nobody Else

This last one is very self reflective of lead singer Feargal in my opinion. He had spoken openly of his schizophrenia tendencies in interviews in the past. The you and me in this song are just him essentially. He doesn’t need anyone but himself - or so he believes anyway.

I'd say this was penned following the breakdown of yet another relationship and he finds himself alone again and contemplating why and whether it is the best thing for him.

I particularly like this line "They built portholes for Bono, so he could gaze
Out across the bay and sing about mountains"

Be warned though that domestic abuse is referenced in case this is a trigger for you. Hopefully Feargal never did this himself but rather is investigating something that sadly happens every day across all of our countries.

The lyrics and link to the song follows.

In the morning I am a recluse, lost in memories
Ideal situations and convulsions
I'm never in and I can't remember
They built portholes for Bono, so he could gaze
Out across the bay and sing about mountains
Maybe. You are what you own in this land
You can be King and it all depends on the view and what you can see
And around here nobody tells me what to do anymore

We don't need nobody else
We don't need nobody else
We don't need nobody else

We don't need nobody else

Why say words that I do not mean
They only serve to amuse, ridicule and destroy,
Hardly ever to teach
I hit you for the first time today
I didn't mean it
It just happened
You wouldn't let me go to the phone,
You wanted to make love and I did not
Now I know the distance between us
Christ we weren't even fighting, I was just annoyed
Silence and you started to cry, that really hurt
You said, yeah and you thought you knew me

We don't need nobody else
We don't need nobody else
Just you and me
Just you and me

Consider this as the wine takes hold
And sinks into your veins
I try to force it but it's not there
Love gives you comfort
And comfort makes you dim
She's in the kitchen
Putting beads in her hair

It all came out tonight
The queen of drugs broke down and cried
'Cause she'd been shagging her best friends guy
She knew the form, she knew the lie
She wasn't shy and she refused to try
That's why I'm gazing out of portholes
And I'm wondering why

We don't need nobody else
We don't need nobody else
Just you and me

Spotify Playlist

Our friend and regular Three Tune Tuesday poster and fellow genre surfer @blackdaisyft has pulled last week's tunes together into a Spotify playlist for easy listening, which is fantastic. Thanks for taking the time to do this πŸ‘

Three Tune Tuesday Spotify Playlist

She also donated some funds to ThreeTuneTuesday, so week 38 will have two winners, one chosen by me and one chosen by @blackdaisyft , so keep an eye out for the winners post tomorrow.

SBI contest

Share your Three Tune Tuesday songs below or create a post with #ttt or #threetunetuesday and mention me so I can find the post.

I'll pick the three songs I enjoyed the most each week as the winner and transfer one share in SBI to the winner when this post pays out 7 days from now. Best of luck!

Sin Γ©, That's all folks, thanks for stopping by.

Thats all.jpg

That's it for another week. Those are your three songs for week thirty nine. Let me know what you think - good, bad or indifferent? Did you like them all or just one or two?

Also, as I said before, I love getting good steers for new tunes, so please tell me about the latest and greatest from your playlist below and I'll be sure to check em out.

Thanks as always for stopping by everyone.

Peace Out

Ablaze.jpg

Sort: Β 

Hi again @ablaze! So, now for the tunes.... !LUV it and all new to me! It sure taked me back to my university moments and specially those nights outs full of healthish craziness and fun (note to self - well, there was a few excesses I won't lie) 😁. Personality was my favourite out of the 3 you shared 😍

I laughed really hard when I found out what "Rubber Johnnies" means 🀣🀣🀣 It makes sense and I actually like a lot the Irish accent 😊

Lastly, about the spotify playlist I think it makes sense to just have one and I will update it every week or whenever I get the chance 😊 I believe it will also be easier for me to just add the new songs and for you, since the link will always be the same.

So this is the final link, already updated with the songs from this and the previous week 😁 This week I couldn't find @jin-out songs (sorry!) but overall we already have 66 songs in a total of 4h21min πŸ€—

Cheers and see you next week 😊

(note to self - this reminded me of a song - a strong one!)

Β 2 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

Excellent stuff on the playlist @blackdaisyft - as you say it will be easier for you to manage now as well, and we'll get a cool mix of tunes for all over the planet. I never really listened to Iron Maiden, so that tune is completely new to me 🀘🀘🀘🀘🀘🀘

Thanks for the comments on Whipping Boy, these songs really brought me back! Great memories.

Yes! Thank you for sharing another awesome band 😁 It made me go back down memory lane too!

@blackdaisyft(1/1) gave you LUV. H-E tools | connect | <><

Given the current emission rate of LUV pushing 500/day, increases to required LUV levels will likely be forthcoming.

Awh man, I loved this album so much, part of the soundtrack to my youth! πŸ˜πŸ‘

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

Ya man, it's flawless. 40 minutes of Nostalgia, seriously under rated band.

Β 2 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

@blackdaisyft that's a brilliant idea, creating a Spotify playlist. Thank you.
My own entry (finally) follows in a few minutes :-)

Cheers @ablaze!

https://ecency.com/hive-193816/@nathen007/threetunetuesday-by-ablaze-tom-waits

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

Ah yes, great to have younon board and what an absolute legend you've started with. I'm a big Tom Waits fan. I'm looking forward to seeing which three songs you went with 🀟🎼

Hey there! I'm still writing my #ttt post from this week and I have a feeling it's gonna take me a while πŸ˜† So I just wanted to drop a comment here because I think I gave you @ablaze the wrong link for the spotify list! I'm sorry, rookie mistake πŸ™

Here is the right one for the spotify playlist week #38 πŸ€—

Also, I would like to ask everyone's opinions about if you prefer a spotify playlist divided by weeks or just one that I keep updating each week? Thank you in advance for any feedback 😊

I'll come back aftwards when I have everything ready, to check your tunes and repply to everyone πŸ™Œ

Β 2 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

Ah good spot and most likely my oversight... 😁 That's fixed there now anyway. For me, I think one ever increasing playlist could be cool, but see what everyone else thinks.

Take your time with your post, you don't have to publish Tuesday, all good πŸ‘