You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Jazz-Matinee - Goran Bregović & The Wedding and Funeral Orchestra

in Musiclast year

I love this post. What a great selection of music, and introduction to Goran Bregovic. I love jazz, but this music is unlike other jazz I've heard. I'm also familiar with Roma culture (can't bring myself to say 'Gypsy', because I've only met one in my life). As a history buff, I've done a bit of reading, but that's as close as I get to an understanding.

Happy Anniversary. How nice that it comes so close to mine. May you have many wonderful years together.

Sort:  

Living in the Balkans, the world of the Roma is not unknown to me. The fact is that a wedding, which is supposed to be a wedding, is unthinkable without the musicians of the gypsy families. They call themselves gypsies and are proud of their origins, their music and their obligatory golden tooth.
By the way, the #jazz-matinee opens its stage every Sunday. I try to avoid traditional jazz (Bird to Miles) as much as possible and try to introduce young, rather unknown formations to the interested audience.