What a #ttt Post Can Achieve

in Music21 days ago

(EN/DE)
While looking through the current Three Tunes Tuesday posts (an initiative started by @albaze and meanwhile has become a strong and permanent part of our HIVE community), I stumbled across the post by @stickupboys. They present 3 wonderful songs by the legend Johnny Cash. But the last song, "Hurt", immediately awakened a memory in me... of a musician who became famous in the 80s / 90s ... I just couldn't and wouldn't think of the name. Dark hair. Dark voice. Wicked appearance. Nicholas Cage and Keith Jarret came to mind, but I knew, no, no, those are the wrong names ...
What to do? The only thing I knew for sure was that somewhere in the depths of the things labeld "I don't want to give away", I had a music cassette.
It wouldn't leave me alone, so I pulled out the old box and found what I was looking for. Do you have any idea who it might be?

Beim durchsehen der aktuellen Three Tunes Tuesday Posts (eine Initiative, die @albaze gestartet hat und die mittlerweile wirklich starker und fixer Bestandteil unserer HIVE Community geworden ist) bin ich über den Beitrag der @stickupboys gestolpert. Präsentiert werden dort 3 wundervolle Songs von der Legende Johnny Cash. Der letzte Song aber, "Hurt" hat sofort eine Erinnerung in mir geweckt... an einen Musiker der in den 80ern / 90ern bekannt wurde ... nur der Name wollte und wollte mir nicht einfallen. Dunkle Haare. Dunkle Stimme. Verruchtes Auftreten. Nicholas Cage und Keith Jarret kamen mir in den Sinn, aber ich wusste, nein, nein, das sind die falschen Namen ...
Was tun? Das einzige was ich sicher wusste war, dass ich irgendwo in den Untiefender Dinge, die ich nicht hergeben möchte eine Musikkassette von ihm hatte.
Es hat mich nicht in Ruhe gelassen, also habe ich die alte Schachtel herausgeholt und gefunden was ich gesucht hatte. Habt ihr eine Ahnung um wen es sich handeln könnte?

TTT1 - Nick Cave

He is an artist born in Australia in 1957, who later lived in many countries and who certainly evokes controversial feelings in people. For me, despite the rather sombre mood of his songs, there was always something like ... Hope? Confidence? And definitely beauty in the compositions. But, listen and see for yourself. Yes, and who would have thought that he would be singing a duet with Kylie Minogue if it wasn't written there?
Er ist ein 1957 in Australien geborener, später durch viele Länder gewanderter Künstler, der mit Sicherheit kontroverse Gefühle in den Menschen hervorruft. Für mich war bei seinen Songs trotz der eher düsteren Stimmung immer auch so etwas wie ... Hoffnung? Zuversicht? Und auf jeden Fall Schönheit in der Komposition spürbar. Aber, hört und seht selbst. Ja und wer hätte gedacht, dass er hier ein Duett mit Kylie Minogue singt, wenn es da nicht stehen würde?

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds ft. Kylie Minogue - Where The Wild Roses Grow (Official HD Video)


But the story about "what a #ttt post can achieve" was only just beginning. So I was sitting there with my very dusty box full of old tapes and after a long time I realised once again how much long-forgotten music from my youth was hidden inside.
The France Galle tape caught my eye and I was annoyed that I hadn't been able to play any music cassettes on my hi-fi system for so long. That's because every time I moved house, and especially the last time I rearranged, the shelf got smaller and smaller. I had cleared out and only kept the recordings that I really love. But then there was no more room for the cassette player on the shelf. So it disappeared into a cupboard along with the box.
Well, thanks to StickUpBoys, I reinstalled it today. Admittedly, it doesn't look ideal now, but it doesn't get in the way up there on the shelf and they say that stretching is healthy ;-)

Aber die Geschichte vonwegen "Was ein #ttt Post bewirken kann" fing damit erst an. Da saß ich nun mit meiner sehr verstaubten Kiste voller CDs und es wurde mir nach langem mal wieder bewusst, wieviel längst vergessene Musik meiner Jugend darin versteckt ist.
Die France Galle Kassette fiel mir soroft ins Auge und es ärgerte mich, dass ich schon so lange keine Musikkasetten mehr auf meiner HiFi Anlage abspielen konnte. Das liegt daran, dass bei jedem Umzug und vor allem beim letzten mal Umräumen, das Regal immer kleiner wurde. Ich hatte ausgemistet und nur noch die Tonträger behalten, die ich wirklich liebe. Aber dann war auch kein Platz mehr für den Kassetten Player im Regal. Also verschwand der mitsamt der Kiste in einem Schrank.
Nun StickUpBoys sei dank habe ich ihn heute neu installiert. Zugegeben, es sieht nicht optimal aus jetzt, aber da ganz oben am Regal stört er nicht und man sagt ja, sich zu Strecken soll gesund sein ;-)

Including finding the right cables and connecting them to the system, it took about half an hour. Et voila! I can now play the tapes again and the first one I grabbed was:
Inklusive passende Kabel suchen und diese an der Anlage anzuschließen dauerte es in etwa eine halbe Stunde. Et Voila! Ich kann die Tapes nun wieder abspielen und die erste, die ich mir schnappte war:

TTT2 - France Gall

The artist, who sadly passed away in 2018, was born in Paris in 1947. She won the Eurovision Song Contest in 1965. I've always really liked French music. I think you have to have found a personal connection to the country and language at some point in your life to be able to understand that.
After France Gall had been famous in France, she made her international breakthrough with what was probably her biggest hit:

Die leider 2018 schon verstorbene Künstlerin wurde 1947 in Paris geboren. 1965 gewann sie den Eurovisions Songcontest. Ich mochte französische Musik immer schon sehr gerne. Denke, man muss schon irgendwann im Leben einen persönlichen Zugang zu Land und Sprache gefunden haben um das nachvollziehen zu können.
Nachdem France Gall in Frankreich schon berühmt war, gelang ihr der internationale Durchbruch mit ihrem wohl größten Hit:

France Gall - Ella, elle l'a (Clip officiel)


Then, without paying much attention, I simply played a cassette at random and what can I say, it was the big surprise of the day. Admittedly, this may only be of interest to German-speaking readers. But I can assure you that even I don't understand every word that is spoken in this wonderful but strange dialect...
Danach habe ich ohne groß acht zu geben einfach wahllos eine Kassette abgespielt und was soll ich sagen, das war die große Überraschung des Tages. Zugegeben wird das jetzt vielleicht nur die deutsch sprachigen Leser sehr interessieren. Wobei ich darf euch versichern, auch ich verstehe bei weitem nicht jedes Wort das da in diesem wundervollen aber eigenartigem Dialekt gesunden wird...

TTT3 - BAP

I had completely forgotten that I owned this little gem. "Bess demnähx" is a live album that was recorded during their "Vun drinne noh drusse" tour in 1982/83.
BAP is such an exceptional phenomenon. To become so popular throughout the German-speaking world with Cologne dialect, THAT has to be achieved first. But they are simply marvellous. Simply BAP :-)
I will always remember one of their live concerts at the Kasematten in Graz. We were young, it was an end-of-school concert on a warm summer evening, open air and the incomparable "Verdammp Lang Her" echoed from the old walls. My absolute favourite song, however, is "Kristallnaaach" - Kristallnacht. Unfortunately more topical than ever, the song simply gets under your skin.
But for now I have chosen the song from the music cassette with the live album that spontaneously appealed to me today:

Ich hatte total vergessen, dass ich dieses Sahnestückchen besitze. "Bess demnähx" ist ein Live Album, das während ihrer "Vun drinne noh drusse" Tour 1982/83 aufgenommen wurde.
BAP ist ja schon so eine Ausnahme Erscheinung. Mit Kölner Dialekt im gesamten deutschsprachigen Raum so beliebt zu werden, DAS muss man erst einmal schaffen. Aber sie sind eben einfach wunderbar. Einfach BAP eben :-)
Für immer in Erinnerung wird mir ein Live Konzert von ihnen auf der Grazer Kasematten bleiben. Wir waren jung, es war ein Schulschluss Konzert an einem warmen Sommerabend, Open Air und das unvergleichliche "Verdammp Lang Her" hallte von den alten Gemäuern wider. Mein absoluter Lieblings Song ist allerdings die "Kristallnaaach" - Kristallnacht. Leider schon wieder akuteller denn je, geht der Song einfach unter die Haut.
Aber für euch habe ich von der Musik Kassette mit dem Live Album den Song gewählt, der mich heute spontan angesprochen hat:

Stell Dir Vür (Live / 1982)


This was my contribution to Three Tunes Tuesday. Thanks to the boys for the wonderful inspiration to install the tape deck and of course I hope you enjoyed the music!
As you can see, I may well get more inspiration from this old box to report on in the coming months:

Das war mein Beitrag zum Three Tunes Tuesday. Ich danke den Boys für die wunderbare Inspiration, das Tape Deck zu installieren und natürlich hoffe ich, dass euch die Musik gefallen hat!
Wie ihr seht, kann gut sein, dass ich in den nächsten Monaten noch mehr Inspirationen aus dieser alten Kiste erhalten werde um darüber zu berichten:

As always I hope you enjoyed the post :-) Yours, B.

All photoy by @beeber
The linked videos are not owned by me, I am sharing just the link to the copyright owner's video. No copyright infringement is intended.
Mostly Translated with Deepl free version

Sort:  

lol awesome, this is what TTT is all about!

The TTT inspiring function 😘

Nick Cave...

That's way before my time 😂😂😂

His voice is so impressively deep..

Glad I could show you something new. There is so much forgotten music around

Ach ja, Nick Cave. Ich fand sein "The Mercy Seat" am gelungensten.

Oh, na das ist mir zu düster.
Wär mal interessant was über die Musik zu lesen, die dich in der Jugend beeinflusst hat 🙂

z.B. Joy Division und The Smiths

I only know the second one, but my mind have the Kate Ryan version:

I adore French accent, it’s sensual and soft.

But hey, I loved your tape deck!! I spent lots of hours listening to the radio with my tape prepared to record my favourite songs and I collected tons of cassette recordings like yours. 😁

Didnt know the Kate Ryan cover. Used to hear the old version this one sounds a little too much girly to me 😘
Yes 😅 we had our things offline to spend hours with. So many things have changed in those 40 years

You've finally woken up! Nice of you. ThreeTunesTuesday is just suitable for such posts. (I skipped this week...) I had a lot of cassettes, too; I still have a double cassette player I used to make mixes with. I don't have any more cassettes. A long time ago, I gave one substantial black garbage bag full of my tapes to a friend who has a mountain hut and still has them there :) I burned it all on CDs and later on DVDs, and I donated it all years ago :), and I have my own NAS where it's all on, so I can listen to it all over the internet or locally if it doesn't work. And I have a phone full of music for the car :)
Hurt is a great song, but it's a cover of Nine Inch Nails. I think it's on Cash's last album, just before he died :(

Still Wonder why posting became so challenging for me. Takes a lot of energy it seems 🤷‍♀️
Your friend on the mountain hut is wise to keep them 🙂 think we reflected more in how to arrange the songs. Wich one would suit the best as next. I spent hours with recording

Yes, mixing and recording were time-consuming. Nowadays, I just put four or five bands in the folder and play them randomly. 🎶

Ya, but you dont put selected 20 songs in a special order. Listening to my first old mixed tape I see a big difference now.
And the quality of the old records also much better. More calming somehow. Okay, probably you have a top device and high quality mp3s, thats different I guess.

My last experience with a cassette was when my older son (two years old at the time), in my Peugeot 307Break (which I still have), jammed a wrong-facing cassette into the player...and wholly ruined my car radio, so I took it out... and I haven't had any more cassettes since 😀

Haha 😅 reminds me of cassettes trying to get the wrapped up tape out of the player 😅 but somehow this became rarer with newer generations of players and cassettes I think.

So your son has an early cassette trauma?

Twenty-one years have passed now, but he still remembers how I screamed then... the car was almost new, two years old, with a built-in radio and an Alpine cassette player (they made excellent audio equipment for ordinary people then, but now I think they only make it for the high-end), and I had no sound in the car... for the crazy 😜

Ich liebe die France Galle Lied immer noch! Super, dass du dein Tape Deck installiert hast. Seit langem habe ich kein Tape Deck oder Tapes Zuhause. Nach CDs und dann MP3s rauskamen, habe ich sofort gewechselt! Hehe

Ja ich hatte damals auch gewechselt. Die Sache ist, als ich in meinen 20ern ausgezogen bin, da hatte ich dennoch immer ein Zimmer hier im Haus das nie anderweitig benutzt wurde. Und so habe ich viele Dinge wiedergefunden als ich 2020 zurück kam 😂

Noch bevor der Name "Nick Cave" fiel wusste ich schon, wen Du meinst 😀.
Eine schöne Auswahl hast Du getroffen - obwohl ich doch eher etwas rockiger unterwegs bin.
BAP ist natürlich ein Klassiker. Deren Kölner Mundart aber ist doch schon sehr gezähmt.
Ich sollte vielleicht auch meine alte Anlage wieder aufbauen. Wer weiß, was sich da so alles finden lässt.
DAS hier ist sicher dabei.

Omg omg!!!! Den Song hatte ich ja auch total vergessen! ❤️❤️❤️ Ah tut das gut zu hören ❤️❤️❤️

Ja bau sie doch auf. Ich genieße das schon zwischendurch. Es ist eine andere Art Musik zu hören. Keine Fernbedienung (außer beim CD Player) und eben kein "klick und nächster Song" sondern eher die Zeit einfach zuhören oder im Notfall aufstehen und vorspulen.
Und der Klang ist einfach anders, auch das Gefühl für mich. Soweit ich weiß sind mp3 ja in den Daten reduziert und den "Rest" muss sich das Gehirn irgendwie selbst erarbeiten

Ich hab früher ja oft TTT mit 3 LPs gemacht und mich bei einigen Stücken sehr gewundert, wie öde und fad die dann über YouTube klangen

Verstärker, CD-Player und Tapedeck sind schon gefunden. Equalizer und Plattenspieler suche ich noch.
Ich vermisse ja manchmal das typische Kratzen bei einer Vinyl-LP.
Ja, bei den Mp3 sind die Daten reduziert. Hör Dir nur mal Bohemian Rhapsody von Queen an. Da fällt es mir persönlich besonders auf.

Ui da wäre ich jetzt gerne ein verstecktes Mäuschen um zu beobachten wie du alle Ecken durchstöberst 🙂

Ja mir ist es bei Manfred Mann, live in Budapest, mal extrem aufgefallen. Die sind auf YouTube Lichtjahre davon entfernt was diese Musik wirklich ist.

Viel Spaß beim werkeln weiterhin 😘 ich höre mir geeade alte Mixed Tapes durch 🥰 perfekt fürs Regen Wetter

Du möchtest sicher nicht sehen, wie ich einen als stauraum genutzten Anbau durchwühle 😜.
Oh, bei Dir hat es geregnet? Hier zum Glück nicht. Es breitet sich Sonnenschein aus, was ich doch sehr begrüsse.

Ja doch doch genau das wollte ich ja sehen 😅

JA JA 😅
Staubig war es und voller Spinnweben.
Jetzt habe ich noch eine Baustelle mehr.

Congratulations @beeber! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 100000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 110000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April PUM Winners
Feedback from the May Hive Power Up Day

Wow 😯 thanks for counting this for us

Keep up the fantastic work @beeber! Your dedication and hard work will pay off when you reach your target.

BTW, we noticed we miss your support for our proposal. Mays we ask you to check it out and consider supporting it?
All you need to do is to click on the "support" button on this page: https://peakd.com/proposals/248.
Thank you!

Wow you are amazing B!

Good old Nena, she is still going strong!

Haha, NENA cool This was the time where I didnt buy music ;-) I was sitting in front of the radio, waiting for the song to record and hoping the moderators wouldnt speak in at the end ;-) and yes, you know, I am that nostaligic soul, still hanging on analog music devices. Whenever Internet shuts down, I still can hear my music ;-)
nice to hear from you, hope youre doing well !LUV

stresskiller, beeber sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/5) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

i used to record music the same way MONO in the beginnig but atleast we had that song and played it over and over again :D , I'm doing fine not reall active with the camera at the moment but more in to computer games again . And how is your health going making any progress ?

I was SO proud of my first stereo player, with radio and cassette Player 😅
Nothing new, not much changes, but I feel okay. Learned to deal with being tired I guess. Installing the tape deck for example was a little bit exhausting. 😘 But worth it

every energy spend that gives you back some joy and fun is worth it 👍

Oh my goodness look at those tapes!

That brings back so many memories.

I am trying to rack my brain if I can remember these, I am sure I heard the Nick Cave one with Kylie on it.

There are so much long forgotten tunes on them 🙂

Very cool my friend! I never got into Nick Cave until Peter in life! Now one of my favorites 🎸

Cheers 🍻