charlocked's unreleased super-short tracks: Tracks 1, 2, and 3

in Music3 years ago (edited)

IMG_20210906_220411_581.jpg

Hi there!

So, remember when I said I will be releasing some super-short tracks/recordings about....people and things...? Well, I couldn't wait to release them so...I guess I am releasing them today!!

I'll be sharing with you Tracks 1, 2, and 3. Again, although these are originals, these are really short recordings of stuff I wrote I guess starting 2 years ago.

For starters, Tracks 1-3 are written in Filipino. I am NOT very good in writing in Filipino. I speak fluent Filipino, of course. But, my standards in songwriting in Filipino are Rico Blanco, Ben&Ben, Unique Salonga, Clara Benin, and Munimuni. SERIOUSLY!!! If I could be half as good as these people!!!! 😵

Anyway. So, let me use this post to explain the tracks in detail.

Oh, btw. Just a quick disclaimer. These 3 tracks are based on someone I like...d...? Someone who became dear to me...sige na nga...is still dear to me. Basta haha! Ok I can almost see my friends @erangvee and @debilog rolling their eyes at me 😅. Just like you guys, this will be the first time that my friends will hear these tracks. I didn't really tell them about these tracks because I initially intended these to be for my (and his) ears only. But, well... 🙂

Let me be like Taylor Swift for now and piece together the stories behind these tracks. Enjoy! (But please bear with my lyrics and guitar-playing skills hehe)


i...have fallen (Track 1)

nako, naloko na (crap, this isn't good.)
nahulog na ako (i...have fallen)
paano itatago, (how do i hide this,)
kung nahulog na ako sa'yo (when i've fallen for you?)

So I wrote this back in...2019? I was starting to like this someone, right? At first, I was really good at hiding my feelings, especially when I am with him. But, eventually, it came to a point when, I could not poker-face my way out of anything anymore. I couldn't hide the smiles, the laughs. And, I just knew I was doomed. I've fallen...so hard. And for the first time in a long time, I am in a rut and I don't how what to do and how to get out of it.

towards certainty (Track 2)

saksi ang mga bituin at buwan
(the stars and the moon are witnesses)
sa nga salitang iaalay ko sa'yo
(to the words that i will soon tell you)
bubuksan ang pintong patungo sa'yo
(i will now open the door that leads to you)
patungo sa bagay na sigurado
(that door towards certainty)

I don't remember exactly when I wrote this, but I am sure that I've fallen pretty hard already by this time. For this track, I imagined writing this on a rooftop, with the night sky painted full of stars while the moon shines so bright. These celestial bodies are the only ones bearing witness to the decision that I was contemplating on doing...breaking down the walls that I have put up and proceeding to open the door to my heart (naks?) that has been tightly shut. I asked, "Why not?". I was scared to try, but it was during this night when I asked, "Well, why not? Why don't I try it? I only live once." I was scared because if I finally admit that my feelings were becoming real, then, the . But, at the same time I didn't like not knowing. I didn't like uncertainties, especially when I can do something about it. So, I did. I went ahead...to be certain...once and for all.

a secret between me, the stars, and God (Track 3)

Saksi ang mga tala
(The stars have witnessed)
Sa mga luhang pinawi mo
(All my tears that you've wiped)
Dininig ni Bathala
(God has heard)
Ang bawat letrang iniaalay ko sa'yo
(Every letter of all that I want to tell you)

If it isn't obvious yet, I definitely have a strong affinity for the stars and their being the sole witnesses to what I have been feeling back then. 🤗

I think at that time when I wrote this, the person I wrote this for has slowly become my "person". Still, although I have loosened up quite a bit, I still have quite a number of reservations about pursuing a relationship with this person. Still, my reservations did not change the fact that this person, MY person, has been able to wipe every tear that I have cried. He has done a lot for me and I wish I could tell him that. Well, at least, back then. I was able to tell him these things, eventually. 😅 But, yeah, that time, only the stars and God know and hear about the wonderful things that he has done for me. And, it was fine. It made things less complicated, so it definitely was fine that what I was feeling was a secret between me, the stars, God only.


OK! I guess that's it!!! I know, I should've probably given a heads up that my first ever post about these "unreleased" tracks may be a bit cringey. 😬 But, hey, we all have probably had a similar kind of phase, right? Right? Hahaha please tell me I am not strange. 🙃

Again, just write.
I cringe at how awful my writing in Filipino is. I cringe even more when I try to translate it to English.

But, still try. You'll be better for it. I know I am. 😊

Sort:  

The melody and lyrics are great! Nothing to cringe about. The feelings within the song resonated. I dunno if it were as effective if it was sung in English but for me it felt really genuine hearing it in Filipino.

Hope you find more inspirations and opportunities to write songs. In Filipino if possible. haha. Thanks for sharing glimpses of your song and story!

Awwwwww huhuhuhu you're too kind 🥺🥺🥺

Thank you!!! I am super insecure about writing in Filipino, but thank you for rooting for me!! I will definitely try improving!! I appreciate the support 😊

Ok I can almost see my friends @erangvee and @debilog rolling their eyes at me 😅.

oh wouldn't you know...

love it!!!!

lagay mo rin yung isa @charlocked <3 hahaha

Will post next tracks soon hihi 😊

rolling your eyes at me pero with words of wisdom na minsan masakit, but just what i needed 😅🥰😘❤️

Ang ganda!

AAAAAHHHHH really?!?!?! 😭 thank you!!!!! 😘 yes po opo i wrote a bunch of songs for him and about him hahaha pero di na po mauulit chos hahaha

Congratulations @charlocked! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 9000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 10000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP