Bass Challenge on a Funk Piece by Scott's Bass Lessons - Take I

in Music4 years ago (edited)

Hello everybody!

So, I decided that I will take part on a challenge that takes place on a bass learning platform that I am a member in, Scott's Bass Lessons! The winner will receive Scott's own Sadowsky NYC Deluxe 4-21 Satin Series bass!

The pieces of the challenge are copyrighted by Scott's Bass Lessons, but I have asked and it is ok to publicly show my videos and thoughts about the songs. Linking the Challenge or the song's path won't work as they are part of the membership of the Academy, so anyone interested can go to the link of the homepage above and explore it!

This is my first challenge, so at the same time I am excited, a little anxious (the anxiety is going to wear off after some days though) and very open to any suggestions both about my playing/ performance in general and the descriptions of my progress and goals!

Below is my first video!

Since the piece has a funky feeling I thought I would wear the funk too, hence the shirt.. 😎

I don't have speakers for the time being, so for this one I recorded only the bass and whatever sound I could get by the headset on max volume and placed next to the smartphone. I will improve the video and sound quality for the next ones as soon as possible.

Next time also I'll be less serious and pissed off! My brother put some epic music on top volume on the next room and I had to stop recording and get him to stop it just the moment I was getting warmed up, but well, I have pissed him off enough last night that I was playing the bass on 2am, so he owed me one, what can I say..? 🙃

Got to stop with the eyeroll/ looking to the sky thing too, don't know what I think I will find up there.. The Holy Spirit of Bass? A spider's web? Or maybe the perfect bassface? No one knows! 😅

GOALS:

  • Play a little louder and with dynamics/ feeling
  • Being able at the same time to remember the notes - play them without looking at the sheet or at the fret in order to see what I am playing
  • Have a clear sound and play with no stress to catch the groove
  • Remember to remove the napkin from the video shot (Just kidding 😆)
  • Also I will try to play this standing instead of sitting on the chair

Sometimes I have the tendency of getting lost and overwhelmed when there is a lot of information and stimuli, or get bored easily and feel the need to start something new before coming back to what I was doing before, so one way I am going to approach the challenge is to be sure that I do my best to practice everyday on the piece and record it - get feedback from here as often as possible.

At the same time I plan to continue studying about Harmonic Layering & Groove, which are the subjects I was getting started with before the challenge began!

I already got some suggestions from other members of the platform to watch and practice with these two videos:

Cheers to all and best regards! More bass posts are on their way!

Sort:  

Excellent post really enjoyed I'm really surprised no one else has commented. Thanks for following much appreciated 🤝

Thank you very much too @kgakakillerg both for the upvote and the comment! I'm glad that you enjoyed it, I am getting more bass videos ready for the next days and starting a series with some of the essential parts of my practice and progress that can help others too on their journey through music, as well as entertain!

You're welcome, I really like your art and I hope you will resolve quickly the issue with Hivewatcher!

No problem. Glad you like my art creations 👍🏾 about @hivewatcher I've appealed my case already the funny thing is I made no mistake with this account so it was wrongly blacklisted as everyone can see 👀 I would like to speak to you more if you have a Instagram account please contact me @kgakakillerg

Hello again @kgakakillerg , I have just followed you on Instagram, my account is https://www.instagram.com/xristina.gousiou.holy.bass/!

Is there anything cooler than a funky bass riff?

@gtown, I think that the only thing cooler than a funky bass riff would be more funky bass riffs! 😄 I totally love them!

Congratulations @christina-madart! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 30 posts. Your next target is to reach 40 posts.
You distributed more than 900 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Wow you can play some really good music. I am also learning to play guitar from last month. But I have to say it's really hard

Loading...