Another song! Listen to it :L

in Music4 years ago

Hello, everyone :3
How's your week going?
It's been quite a week in my swampy wonderland.
Here's another one for you.

USE EAR/HEADPHONES

So I have an appointment with Guitar Center, they're going to take a look at the guitar I purchased. It's acting really dumb. Hopefully, it's simply a matter of loosening/tightening things. I'll also ask about trading it in, as I don't think it's an ideal guitar for the sound I'm striving to accomplish..
For a few reasons:
It's possible the strings I'm meant to use are way too thin. You need ze heavy strings for the heavy sound, riiiiight? :L

Also, my method of recording is a factor. It's quite possible the guitar isn't meant to be plugged into the interface, it's meant to be in a amp with a mic. I hate recording with mics. I prefer to plug right in. Both for the sound it produces and I don't have to feel self conscious about playing what with roommates{s} and neighbors. As far as the sound, for reference, here are a few songs that have been recorded directly in:

Territorial Pissings by Nirvana
Heroes by David Bowie
Black Dog by Led Zeppelin
Mr. Tambourine Man by The Byrds

There are lots of these...
I won't know which way it is until I can talk to a professional face to face.
Hopefully I can pay for the service and trade it in for a more ideal guitar. I do have one I'm crushing on pretty hard. Gonna see if they'll have it.
If my assumption is correct, I've learned: Fuck Active Pick Ups. And Fuck Floyd Rose.

I've been simply using my other guitar, which has been used to record everything since last April.
And I much prefer it's sound.
We shall see. I'll have an update, hopefully around Monday or Tuesday. We shall see. :3

Anywho, I hope you all liked the song very much. Feel free to give me your thoughts.
After listening to it over and over, sometimes I worry my perception of tracks not being neglect/being louder than the other in an inappropriate order becomes obstructed. Or it could be I'm simply listening to the song too many times and my brain is just turning off..
Feedback is always appreciated!
I want to make the best tracks for all of you. Because in times like these, we need to love each other and listen to music.
The world gets crazier every season, it seems..

I hope you're all safe out there.
Talk to you at the beginning of next week, fingers crossed.
Byeeee.

~ C.K.M.

Sort:  

Love that 90’s sound man, “feedback is appreciated ;)”

Ear fatigue is a real thing man, you gotta take breaks when youre mixing because you lose your frame of reference. Also referencing back to professionally produced tracks That you like and listening on various sets of speakers helps a lot.

I like the guitar sound more as the song progresses for some reason, maybe its the addition of the distortion, i dunno.

Oh shit. O,O i made a pun on accident.
Thanks so much for your opinion, brother/sister. :3
I get 90s a lot. I dont intend to be a poor man's three days grace. I strive for a relevant sound. But i dont seem to be able to get away from it :x

Nothing wrong with that, I’ve been diving back into foo fighters and blink 182, my chemical romance and stuff like that for inspiration for a new project I’m working on. I’m writing a space opera in a little explored genre called tesla punk. actually it may be a completely unexplored genre :) I’m sort of blending 90’s alt rock/punk with synths and drum machines... We’ll see how it goes, I’m really into the first tune I’m making so far.