ANALISIS DARK MATTER-PEARL JAM (ESP-ENGL)

in Musiclast month

ANALISIS DARK MATTER-PEARL JAM

Corria el año 1997, mi hermano mayor se habia casado y como el era el dueño del televisor de la casa nos dejo sin la fuente de entretenimiento. Particularmente ese fue mi vicio de niño, pero ahora empezaria a conocer otras cosas. En realidad no recuerdo quien nos dio o de donde salio un radio viejo. Lo cierto es que empece a escuchar una emisora donde colocaban musica alternativa. Alli conoci a The Cranberries, INXS, Alanis Morissette, Oasis, y el que nos ocupa en este articulo Pearl Jam. Ya habia escuchado a bandas como Metallica, Nirvana y Guns ’n Roses. Pero Pearl Jam con un sonido mas accesible para un muchachito de 13 años fue una de las bandas que se me quedaron pegadas.

Imagen generada por IA de Bing

En esos momentos no entendia Ingles, mucho menos habia herrramientas para descargar las letras y traducirlas. Asi que ver de que trataba una cancion era bastante complicado. Fue despues de adulto cuando entendi el significado de Jeremy o Black. Siempre me han llamado la atencion las canciones depresivas, no se por que. No sufro de depresion ni nada paracido pero es como que si me gustara hundirme en sentimientos nostalgicos. Asi que la tematica de estas canciones junto con una voz grave como la de Eddie Vedder, y un sonido potente pues es facil engancharse con esas canciones.

Sin embargo, Pearl Jam ha variado su sonido. Por ejemplo discos como Ten y Vs., eran una pasada. ojo no soy ni musico ni toco ningun instrumento, generalmente los gustos mios se basan en canciones con melodia, buena base ritmica (bajo y bateria) y voces gruesas (Rush es el mejor ejemplo, que pedazo de banda). Basandome en eso pues temas como Jeremy, Alive, Why Go, Go eran de mis favoritos. Hay un video de una serie de videos, NBA Superstars, que usaban canciones como una especie de video musical, usaron Go para un video con Shawn Kemp, veanlo si pueden en YouTube. Pero vinieron discos mas relajados pero con esas letras expresando sentimientos tan escondidospropia de Vedder. Asi entran discos como Vitalogy y Binaural.

Asi que el 19 de abril salio lo ultimo de esta banda de Seattle (tenia dias tratando de redactar este post), y pues se imaginaran que estuve esperando este disco con muchas expectativas por las buenas referencias que habia leido. Y no defraudaron, el disco en general es como volver a sus primeros años, pero sin apretar demasiado el acelerador. Eso se gana con la experiencia, no espero ver a Vedder tirarse de el techo de un recinto en pleno concierto para que lo atrape el publico, ya no son los mismos muchachos. Y pues eso lo percibo en su musica. Creo que yo tambien estoy viejo, no estoy estoy para esos trotes en los escuchaba Toxicity de SOAD o Kill ’em All de Metallica todo el dia y no pasaba nada. Asi que me ha gustado bastante este disco.

Imagen descargada de la cuenta @PearlJam https://pearljam.lnk.to/runningTP

Y entramos en el disco con Scared of Fear. Una cancion que nos hace recordar a esos inicios de la banda. Mi interpretacion de la letra es sobre una relacion toxica, donde hay manipulacion, y bastante ganas de pelear. Con React, Respond pues es una cancion bien movida con vocalizaciones de Vedder que tantas parodias se ha ganado. Pasamos a un tema mas suave pero cargado de una verdad que te golpea, Wrecked:


Visited by thoughts on another darkened week

How even every winner hits a losing streak

The mistakes we all make and perfectly repeat

Chains are made by DNA refusing, refusing to release

Vamos con la cancion tema del disco Dark Matter, lo que entiendo es como una critica social. Me gusta mucho esta linea:

No patience left for impatience no more

Y sin paciencia nos vamos a la siguiente, basicamente es de la indecision del primer paso a la hora de expresar los sentimientos a otra persona. Asi que si estas en esa situacion Won’t Tell es para ti. Con Upper Hand me paso algo curioso, a primera escucha me parecio un tema flojo, pero la letra te muestra mucho lo dificil que puede llegar a ser la vida. Me quedo esta frase:

Oh, but you know, something that I never had was the upper hand


Waiting for Stevie me parece la cancion mas floja del disco pero se deja escuchar. Con Running volvemos a escuchar el bajo machacon de Jeff Ament y las guitarras a toda maquina. Con Something special escuchamos una muy bonita melodia con una muy bonita letra, quizas porque soy padre esta me senti identificado, sin duda mi favorita del disco, ese primer verso me atrapo:

If you could see what I see now

You gotta know I'm looking up, oh, so proud

The one I used to hold is, oh, so special

Mmm, and every setback now but a chance to grow

If further proof that you're phenomenal

You better believe it that you are something special

La penultima cancion es Got to Give, la entiendo como una relacion en un punto critico, ambos necesitan dar de si mismos para que la relacion funcione, lo que incluye perdonar y ceder. Y en este orden de ideas llegamos a la cancion final Setting Sun donde nos lleva a una relacion a punto de quebrarse, me llama la atencion que usa una comparacion que un hueso sana con un yeso pero el amor no sana tan facil.

Este disco me ha parecido muy buen material. Las letras las busque googleando, y aunque quizas el significado sea otra cosa, asi lo percibi yo. Puedes contarme que interpretacion te ha parecido a ti y compartimos ideas. De hecho disfrute al hacer este post, escribir sobre musica que te gusta, haciendote recordar buenos momentos de tu infancia, y con un album de esta calidad pues era algo que queria hacer y espero que les guste este disco asi como me gusto a mi.

Nos seguimos leyendo...


- Traducción hecha con Traductor de Google

- Banner hecho en Canva versión online


DARK MATTER-PEARL JAM ANALYSIS

The year was 1997, my older brother had gotten married and since he was the owner of the television in the house, he left us without a source of entertainment. In particular, that was my vice as a child, but now I would begin to know other things. I actually don't remember who gave us or where it came from an old radio. The truth is that I started listening to a station where they played alternative music. There he met The Cranberries, INXS, Alanis Morissette, Oasis, and the one we are dealing with in this article Pearl Jam. I had already listened to bands like Metallica, Nirvana and Guns 'n Roses. But Pearl Jam, with a more accessible sound for a 13-year-old boy, was one of the bands that stuck with me.

AI-generated image from Bing

At that time I didn't understand English, much less there were tools to download the lyrics and translate them. So seeing what a song was about was quite complicated. It was only later as an adult that I understood the meaning of Jeremy or Black. Depressive songs have always caught my attention, I don't know why. I don't suffer from depression or anything like that but it's like I like to sink into nostalgic feelings. So the theme of these songs along with a deep voice like Eddie Vedder's, and a powerful sound, it's easy to get hooked on those songs.

However, Pearl Jam has varied its sound. For example, albums like Ten and Vs. were amazing. Mind you, I'm neither a musician nor do I play any instrument, generally my tastes are based on songs with melody, a good rhythmic base (bass and drums) and thick voices (Rush is the best example, what a great band). Based on that, songs like Jeremy, Alive, Why Go, Go were some of my favorites. There's a video from a video series, NBA Superstars, that used songs as a kind of music video, they used Go for a video with Shawn Kemp, check it out if you can on YouTube. But more relaxed albums came but with those lyrics expressing such hidden feelings typical of Vedder. This is how records like Vitalogy and Binaural come in.

So on April 19, the latest from this band from Seattle came out (I had been trying to write this post for days), and you can imagine that I was waiting for this album with high expectations due to the good references I had read. And they did not disappoint, the album in general is like returning to its early years, but without pressing the accelerator too much. That is gained with experience, I don't expect to see Vedder jump off the roof of a venue in the middle of a concert so that the audience can catch him, they are not the same guys anymore. And well, I perceive that in his music. I think I'm old too, I'm not up to those jogs where I listened to SOAD's Toxicity or Metallica's Kill 'em All all day and nothing happened. So I really liked this album.

Image downloaded from account @PearlJam https://pearljam.lnk.to/runningTP

And we enter the album with Scared of Fear. A song that reminds us of those beginnings of the band. My interpretation of the lyrics is about a toxic relationship, where there is manipulation, and quite a desire to fight. With React, Respond is a very moving song with Vedder's vocals that has earned so many parodies. We move on to a softer song but loaded with a truth that hits you, Wrecked:


Visited by thoughts on another darkened week

How even every winner hits a losing streak

The mistakes we all make and perfectly repeat

Chains are made by DNA refusing, refusing to release

Let's go with the theme song from the album Dark Matter, which I understand is like a social criticism. I really like this line:

No patience left for impatience no more

And without patience we go to the next one, basically it is the indecision of the first step when expressing feelings to another person. So if you are in that situation Won't Tell is for you. With Upper Hand something curious happened to me, at first listen it seemed like a weak song, but the lyrics show you how difficult life can be. I keep this phrase:

Oh, but you know, something that I never had was the upper hand


Waiting for Stevie seems to me to be the weakest song on the album but it can be heard. With Running we hear Jeff Ament's pounding bass again and the guitars at full speed. With Something special we heard a very beautiful melody with very beautiful lyrics, perhaps because I am a father I felt identified with this, without a doubt my favorite on the album, that first verse caught me:

If you could see what I see now

You gotta know I'm looking up, oh, so proud

The one I used to hold is, oh, so special

Mmm, and every setback now but a chance to grow

If further proof that you' re phenomenal

You better believe it that you are something special

The penultimate song is Got to Give, I understand it as a relationship at a critical point, both need to give of themselves for the relationship to work, which includes forgiving and giving in. And in this order of ideas we arrive at the final song Setting Sun where it takes us to a relationship on the verge of breaking, it catches my attention that it uses a comparison that a bone heals with a cast but love does not heal so easily.

This album seemed like very good material to me. I searched for the lyrics by Googling, and although perhaps the meaning is something else, that's how I perceived it. You can tell me what interpretation you thought of and we'll share ideas. In fact, I enjoyed making this post, writing about music that you like, making you remember good moments from your childhood, and with an album of this quality, it was something I wanted to do and I hope you like this album as much as I did.

We continue reading...


- Translation made with Google Translate

- Banner made in Canva online version