Sort:  

I really enjoyed this video and the music. Even though I am just a couple of years too young, born in 1981 ( and I only seriously got into music in the mid to late 90s and started out with 90s Eurodance ), to know these tracks, I realize that this type of music really makes me feel good. Can't deny the nostalgia!

Thanks for sharing this with us as well as the story behind it.

Groetjes uit Portugal!

Vincent

Eurodance: Something that I didn't miss out on as well. Have still some CDs around from Robert Miles, Sash, Faithless and more. Listened a lot at home, or in the car. In clubs, no Euro dance for me though. End 80s was more triphop I liked for dancing. Also went to Parkzicht (Rotterdam) those days, early hardcore, the place where it all began for hardcore... but somehow a bit to fast too my taste. When I discovered Techno, no more Parkzicht anymore; But Mazzo in Amsterdam :)

In case you like this kind of music, check out the link (qsounds music & story library) in the footer of the post. Full of techno. Not all from the 90s, but some for sure :)

NJOY Portugal!

ps Immediately after I posted this post as a Tweet (addressed ROD in the Tweet), he reTweeted it. So I hope this gets some people to HIVE, since his follow base is huge!

It must have been pretty awesome to grow up in Amsterdam in those days. I grew up in Gouda haha and mainly played soccer outdoors, until I discovered computer games in the early 90s and really got into movies around the mid 90s.

Music was kind of a second priority but I loved it anyways. I am listening to a record of Vangelis right now and - after writing my last comment on your post - I realize that I mainly grew up with my dad's record collection ( lots of pop and rock from the late 60s onward ) and top 40 music ( hahaha ), all in all pretty mainstream.

I loved going to the Free Record Shop and Plaatboef though to listen to CD's and once I listened to one that I liked, I often bought it too. I visited Rock Werchter several times until I felt too old for 4 days of camping and dixies but never went to any Techno festivals.

In case you like this kind of music, check out the link (qsounds music & story library) in the footer of the post. Full of techno. Not all from the 90s, but some for sure :)

Cool! Will do and I'm curious if your tweet leads to more cool music loving peopleon Hive.

Bye for now!

Until late 90s I lived in Rotterdam where I moved to mid 80s. Still in school, started my HTS in Rotterdam and then moved on to studies in Delft, I exposed myself to all sort of music that was not heard on the radio. Just a few 100 meters away from my place in Rotterdam, the CDtheek was opened sometime in 1986 or '87. They rented CDs for 4 Guilders a week. And they would buy anything when requested for and not in their catalogue. I recorded many of the music on tape, and bought the CDs I really liked. In those days, I discovered Vangelis, Tangerine Dream, Jean Michel Jarre and lots and lots more. This CDtheek was the first ever in NL, maybe in the world. Later it was absorbed by the Library of Rotterdam, and you could see other libraries around the country creating a CD listening and rental corner as well. When Techno was exposed to me, Amsterdam was just an hour drive away, so yeah, not living in Amsterdam that time, but ending up at Mazzo many of the weekends, next to Escape and other clubs when Mazzo didn't had a techno night. Later in the 90s, Awakenings parties started at the Westergasfabriek. Initially travelled from Rotterdam and moved to Amsterdam late 90s. These parties did expose me to many many of the big names by now from all over the world, but back then they were under under underground. Hardly anybody knew names like Adam Beyer, Marco Carola, Richie Hawtin, Surgeon. Sure Carl Cox and Sven Vath had established themselves already, but their sound is more approachable so to speak, not real techno in my definition, though their music was catagorised as such. Have been to so many parties since mid 90s, many times had to drive somewhere between a few 10s to a few 100 kilometers to get to something interesting. Back then, techno was not big, so my travels went from Groningen (Simplon mainly) all the way to Dusseldorf, Köln, Frankfurt (U60) to Antwerp, Brussels, Kortrijk in Belgium :) Even made it to Paris, Rex was one of the clubs programming techno. And the bigger indoor festivals like Time Warp in Mannheim, and in our own country Dane Valley, Innercity were a must for me.

Back then Rock Werchter programmed electronic. I know Marco Bailey as a regular. Have been one time their, as a guest of Marco. Never stayed for a true party trip.

But hey, you are never ever too old for dance parties! I left almost 5 decades behind me, and still going to events. Sure, not every weekend. And when we go to multi day festivals, we go in style. We get ourselves a campervan, fully loaded with the best food we can find, decorated as if its our own cosy homes and we roll. I prefer the mutli day festivals like this. Like Fusion in North Eastern Germany, 5 days nonstop music, art and all; No commercial music. Great people. Plus at least an extra day of none official music. We go their for at least a week with our mobile homes and stack of food and drinks. Its like going on vacation, camping in style (one can call this glamping) and whenever we like, we get ourselves some ear pleasure :) I think I'll never stop doing these events, even when I need a 'rollator' hahahaha

Before this CDtheek, I was more or less bound to whatever the radio was bringing. Most of it was pop, similar to what you got exposed to. Though not too much into music back then, I was already hooked on 'De Bond van Doorstarters', a radio show on one of the public channels where long remixes from (semi) pop songs where aired. Ben Liebrand mixes as well. I was less into pirate radio, but my brother already listened to early early hardcore and some techno through pirate radio stations. It took me till early 90s before I got the true vibe of techno.

Free Record Shop I rarely went to. For me it was Plato and some other smaller record stores in Rotterdam, and later Amsterdam (Boudisque for instance) and Twist in Utrecht. But I'm talking mid to late 90s by now.

Sooooo, if you dare, why dont you join to a cool music event!? Young people love it when they see the oldies; They all want to become like us; Want to be partying still when they are in their 40s and 50s. The trick is, get to the cool festivals. Not so many around, but I know a few :)

Contemplating already for some years to go to BOOM festival, its in Portugal. Mostly Psy Trance (thats they reason I didn't go yet), but the festival suppose to be really cool with great people. Age doesnt matter with that crowd, like at Wildeburg, or Fusion. All (well, most of them) party people with a openmind, 360 degrees view at the world and everything in it and so on and so fort. The cool thing? It keeps us young as well! :) I dont see age of people, have (close) friends who are 10 to 15 years older than I, and those who are 20 to 25 years younger than I.

This comment could be a post in itself :<)
The CDtheek sounds awesome and you just made me remember that I started out with a radio-cassette recorder ( with double tape deck ), recording songs from the radio in the early 90s and compiling my own tapes, before I owned a CD-player or bought CD's.

I forgot Plato and Boudisque although I only started visiting these around 2000 ( when I went to study in Utrecht ) I believe.

Sooooo, if you dare, why dont you join to a cool music event!? Young people love it when they see the oldies; They all want to become like us; Want to be partying still when they are in their 40s and 50s. The trick is, get to the cool festivals. Not so many around, but I know a few :)

Hahaha! Am I an oldtimer, already, at 38? I guess I am for young people, let alone kids.

I will keep that idea in mind.

I have definitely heard of Boom festival, my Portuguese brother in law has been there several times in the past but I'm not sure if it's my kind of thing. I have to admit that I associate it with drug use and these days I don't even drink alcohol.

I dont see age of people, have (close) friends who are 10 to 15 years older than I, and those who are 20 to 25 years younger than I.

The same is starting to happen to me. I guess it's part of growing older hahaha!

Thanks for your awesome comment, Ed!

Groetjes,

Vincent

this comment could be a post in itself :<)

Hahahaha, I think I'm on of the few who write more words in comments then in my own posts.... Ah well, maybe not, my posts are (usually) not short as well.

Hahaha! Am I an oldtimer, already, at 38?

Hey, I didn't know your age but you stated something on the lines of: "I visited Rock Werchter several times until I felt too old for 4 days of camping and dixies" - I know, I know. Nothing about your real age :)

I have definitely heard of Boom festival, my Portuguese brother in law has been there several times in the past but I'm not sure if it's my kind of thing. I have to admit that I associate it with drug use and these days I don't even drink alcohol.

Like everywhere, drugs will be used by people visiting BOOM as well. But I'll assure you, also people go that don't use these substances, other than smoking (also drugs) and alcohol (as you mentioned, also drugs). The cool thing is: Nobody tells you to do whatever, and nobody will blame you for not doing something you don't like. You would be surprised how many people you may meet in the street, are under influence of something.

The same is starting to happen to me. I guess it's part of growing older hahaha!

COOL! Always room to improve :) But how cool does it feel when age is not object?! Maybe when I was in School and Uni I felt age differences, mainly towards adults, but fortunately left that age thing soon after entering this adult life :)

You might be an exception in this haha.

Have you considered partaking in this ( ever heard of it? )?

Hive Engagement League

I went to Rock Wercherd in the mid 2000s, when I was in my early twenties. I guess I grew old early, just kidding ;<)

But I'll assure you, also people go that don't use these substances, other than smoking (also drugs) and alcohol (as you mentioned, also drugs). The cool thing is: Nobody tells you to do whatever, and nobody will blame you for not doing something you don't like. You would be surprised how many people you may meet in the street, are under influence of something.

Nice to hear this and I realize that. Let's say that it's kind of a trauma on my side that I prefer not to talk about in detail ( on here ), I'm working on it.

And yeah, I know that many people are on substances, also here in rural Portugal. Dealing with life on your own and feeling our feelings ( without any form of escapism ) is very difficult for many of us. It's a daily struggle for me too but I try my best with walks in nature, meditation and all kind of self help stuff.

Humans are funny creatures ;<)

Groetjes!

Shared -brilliant one - please check the discussion (my comment) on the recent OCD post buddy.

Thanks so much!!!

You mean the comment you have some time this month to have a call and brainstorm how we can move things a bit to be more united and become more social? I'm available :)

Yes! and yes, and also - and much more..... :-)

When shall we have a call?

10am tomorrow morning CET?

Lets find us another time; Back2Back; Nope not DJing, but phone calls :)
Still have the same WhatsApp / mobile number?

same here, all month full of calls and virtual stuff these days - dropped you a whatsApp right now - my number should be same, a different one on WeChat and Line though

What a great story - good things from Corona, i see more and more.

Hahaha indeed :)

birdies are swinging in the air!