Redemption Song - Ed Privat (Cover)

in Music3 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Monday Live (I am starting a thing)

Another succesful weekend!

How have you been? I hope you had a good weather, a good time, and feel well rested, ready to attack a brand new week.

As I was recovering from a bit of a flu (or else), my voice was particularly raspy, so I thought of songs that could fit the tone.
The first in mind was the Barry White song "The First, Last, My Everything" that I might work on it throughout the week, giving it a studio vibe, maybe changing the style to a bossa nova, because it deserves to spend some time on it.

But in the meantime, this is the "Monday Live", so every monday I've been playing a song live, and every Friday I release a song which requires a little bit more studio time and all.

I did this last week, and it was cool, so I am doing it also this week, and we will see if it's still as cool as last week!

This song, Redemption Song, by Bob Marley, fits the tone for today. I cannot tell you how much I love this track, I use to play it all the time at gigs, events, castings, it was my song.

Funny how I took the guitar today, and played it half time for the first time (for the unititiated, it means that instead of accentuatiing on the 2 and 4 of a bar, I put accents on the 1 and 3).

It's interesting because I've been looking at the guitar in a very different way lately, even the 7 modes, seem to interconnect with each others, like electrons and atoms, and I am not in charge anymore, I let it be, and the music seems to find its own pathway.
That's also why I am less and less interested in listening artists of the same genre as mine, because I take the habit of imitate what I consume, we are all copycats, and I much prefer listening to something with a complete different style, I think @mipiano said something similar the other day.

Anyway, I love the original by Bob Marley of course, I also love the cover by Stevie Wonder, I love the version by a French artist called Tété, and now I am going my own tangeant, I try not to think of anyone's version, and be free.

It also means sometimes, it isn't perfect, I fuck up, but we aren't trying to pass a test here, right? It's more about feeling the moment.

Playing in the nature, it feels that this is how this song was supposed to be played. Cheers!

Redemption Song
Bob Marley

Old pirates, yes, they rob I
Sold I to the merchant ships
Minutes after they took I
From the bottomless pit
But my hand was made strong
By the hand of the Almighty
We forward in this generation
Triumphantly
Won't you help to sing
These songs of freedom?
'Cause all I ever have
Redemption songs
Redemption songs
Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery
None but ourselves can free our minds
Have no fear for atomic energy
'Cause none of them can stop the time
How long shall they kill our prophets
While we stand aside and look? Ooh
Some say it's just a part of it
We've got to fullfil the book
Won't you help to sing
These songs of freedom?
'Cause all I ever have
Redemption songs
Redemption songs
Redemption songs
Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery
None but ourselves can free our mind
Woah, have no fear for atomic energy
'Cause none of them-a can-a stop-a the time
How long shall they kill our prophets
While we stand aside and look?
Yes, some say it's just a part of it
We've got to fullfill the book
Won't you help to sing
These songs of freedom?
'Cause all I ever had
Redemption songs
All I ever had
Redemption songs
These songs of freedom
Songs of freedom


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Good morning and thank you Ed :-) a song we all should take with us and sing thru the week and these crazy times :-)

Didnt know it is by Bob Marley. But with the version by Manfred Mann on the "Live in Budapest" there were times in my life this song and "davies on the road again" were my absolut favorites for a very long time.
And still now listening to them gives me a strong and deep inner calm feeling. You know what I meen?

Have a good start into the new week :-)
!LUV

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@edprivat, you've been given LUV from @beeber.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/4)

Yoyoyo, thanks for the LUUUUUV!

I am listening to Davies on the Road Again, and it's the typical amazing epic song! I love it! I also cannot believe that I did not know it!

That bass drives it!

Hope you listend to the "live im Budapest" Version?
But I made a big mistake! Just going trough youtube I recognized my favorite on this Album wasnt Davies. ..
it was "blinded by the light" who I listend round and round. How could I forget this???
Especially from 2.38 and than 4.40 til the end of the song :-) love it

But thats somehow no music for the smartphone listening. It needs a good soundmachine and no Mp3 quality to show whats in it :-)

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=sunI7NPDrrM

Let me have a listen and I will come back!

Oh my!!! Loved it!! When the bass starts, it's just wonderful!

I'm glad you like it :-) when they sing the canon (hope that's the right english word) with the two voices, this goes straight into my soul.
So many Songs from that time havnt been music but compoaitions. Artworks :-)
Have a nice day

Niiiiiice Monday habits we will have here, so Monday live, Friday dead...I mean, studio thing :)) Excellent ✨✨

Well, I am not sure if that is the reason we listen to different styles, so not just because of taking the habit to imitate someone. That also, of course, but maybe it is just allowing our hearing to lead a different kind of sounds to the cells where it will be processed. It's a way of stimulus and a learning process, but don't really know 😅 It's Monday morning and definitely it is just better to listen to your super rendition of this song. Cool the place of shooting the video this time too 👌🎶🎶

Friday dead...I mean, studio thing :)) Excellent

You're just jealous because I have those amazing ideas :D

our hearing to lead a different kind of sounds to the cells where it will be processed

Did you know that my right ear has a delayed process? it's hard to explain, it's all in the brain.

Cool the place of shooting the video this time too 👌🎶🎶

I think autumn is my favourite season around here! Cheeers!

Hahhha, yeah, I should be ;p

No, I didn't know your right ear has a delayed process. So what do you do when you want to play in beat? Just plug your right ear? 😅 Well, Autumn is nice everywhere, but at your place looks amazing!

Just plug your right ear? 😅

You silly you!

Well, Autumn is nice everywhere, but at your place looks amazing!

Thanks, it is! We have the cranes that have arrived few days ago!

You silly you!

Is it so oblvious 😱 ?

🤣

I also want to leave the house to record :s yes, I want tips. I hear everything very well, beautiful, clean.

That song by Bob is one of the most beautiful I've ever heard in life.

I want tips

What tips you need?

Yeah man, Redemption Song is one of my favourite of all time! Hope you are good my brother!

Well, for example... I've always wondered: How do we record live, outdoors (no "playback") and without the microphone being overwhelmed by the wind? I have wanted to record outside but it has not been possible.

So, there is too way to do it.

If you go outside and you want a clean sound, find a spot where there is at least one wall to cut off the wind, and external sound. It's also a matter of luck, some days, it's just not windy and there is no sound. Try to keep the phone that you record from not further than 2 meter away from you, or the sound quality won't be as good.

If you have a laptop, the other solution is too record video on one side, audio on the otherside with ambient mic, and then mix them in post prod.

At last, if you want the perfect clean sound, I would suggest to:

  • Record the audio first
  • Lip Sync in a video, pretending to play?

That allows you to have 2 or 3 camera angles, a clean sound, and it's more engaging for the audience. You can also add backing vocals!

Nice one! I like your version for sure and cool setting outside.

That's interesting what you said about listening to other genres to because of imitation. That makes sense to me. I agree that we copycat. I do that with writing. I sometimes mimic the writing style of the books I read.

I do that with writing. I sometimes mimic the writing style of the books I read.

Wow it means that you must be a pretty avid reader! favourite book?

We are here in France for my wife's job and my work is very sporadic, typically part time with periods of lay off so I have been reading a lot the past 2 years to keep busy. I don't know about a favorite book of all time but the best book that I've read the past two years is "Into Thin Air." It's a nonfiction story about the Everest climbing disaster.

That's a great song and your version was beautiful.

Thank you very much, I appreciate the appreciation more than you can imagine 😄, lovely song indeed.