Englishman in New York - Ed Privat (cover)

in Music2 years ago

Light Gray Music YouTube Channel Art (4).png

20220123_145305.jpg

Anyone who has travelled in their lives, know the feeling of being an alien, being a stranger in a foreign land.
Living in a different country is great for that matter, it gives you a new perspective. You'll also lose something, you'll give away a little bit of your own culture, your accent, your history, to adopt new codes, new rules, and unfamiliar habits.

20220123_145311.jpg

Then you'll move somewhere else again, forget about the new rules and habits you've just learnt, then eventually you'll learn some new habits from another country, and so on.
Eventually you'll become a true alien, with no real roots, it will then be hard to relate with people with a strong sense of patriotism, belonging to an ideal.

20220123_145249.jpg

I changed a little bit the song, by making a slow funk, it has become an habit of mine, to shuffle a few things. I don't know if you can hear the water in the back, it's a spot that I used before for another video, but not that close to the river before.

20220123_152832.jpg

I don't drink coffee, I take tea, my dear
I like my toast done on one side
And you can hear it in my accent when I talk
I'm an Englishman in New York
See me walking down Fifth Avenue
A walking cane here at my side
I take it everywhere I walk
I'm an Englishman in New York
Oh, I'm an alien, I'm a legal alien
I'm an Englishman in New York
Oh, I'm an alien, I'm a legal alien
I'm an Englishman in New York
If "manners maketh man" as someone said
He's the hero of the day
It takes a man to suffer ignorance and smile
Be yourself no matter what they say
Oh, I'm an alien, I'm a legal alien
I'm an Englishman in New York
Oh, I'm an alien, I'm a legal alien
I'm an Englishman in New York
Modesty, propriety can lead to notoriety
You could end up as the only one
Gentleness, sobriety are rare in this society
At night a candle's brighter than the sun
Takes more than combat gear to make a man
Takes more than a license for a gun
Confront your enemies, avoid them when you can
A gentleman will walk but never run
If "manners maketh man" as someone said
He's the hero of the day
It takes a man to suffer ignorance and smile
Be yourself no matter what they say
Be yourself no matter what they say
Be yourself no matter what they say
Be yourself no matter what they say (oh, I'm an alien, I'm a legal alien)
Be yourself no matter what they say (I'm an Englishman in New York)
Be yourself no matter what they say (oh, I'm an alien, I'm a legal alien)
Be yourself no matter what they say (I'm an Englishman in New York)
Be yourself no matter what they say (oh, I'm an alien, I'm a legal alien)
Be yourself no matter what they say (I'm an Englishman in New York)
Be yourself no matter what they say (oh, I'm an alien, I'm a legal alien)
Be yourself no matter what they say (I'm an Englishman in New York)
Be yourself no matter what they say

20220123_153517.jpg

20220123_153452.jpg

This song is normally a Reggae, brilliantly written, it just shows that a good song can be played in any styles.

20220123_153503.jpg

I stayed a little bit longer after recording, just to chill, enjoy the silence, and the sun that was finally back!

20220123_153415 (1).gif

Hey @rubido how funny you said "Manners make the man but man made manners too" in your post today, and in the song it says "Manners maketh man", it's not like we've been consulting each other about this, I don't know I think it's funny. How funny it's going to be tomorrow when they put in place the new passport in France, very fucking funny. Oh shit we ain't supposed to talk about our feelings and everything affecting our social credit score, ok lalalalala everything is awesome bubye.

Sort:  

Agree, living in another country gives great things, and moreover a new perspective, as you say. We can be a bit lost sometimes, we can be those aliens and strangers, without being surrounded with own culture, religion or codes, but I think that every new country and new language enriches us. The trick is adaptation :)

Song and singing? Flawless, as always :)

Heeellooooo my friend, I really need to come check what's happening on your side of EU!!!
How are you?

As you say, the trick is adaptation! That's what we do best, right?

Thanks for your compliment, I was also happy with the result for this one! When is your next performance?

When is your next performance?

nobody knows... not even me... a mystery... 😬

As you say, the trick is adaptation! That's what we do best, right?

Exactly, whole my life adapting. I see you are almost in the same boots :))

And have you ever felt at home in another country? It's wierd but in our little dorpie they call anyone that isn't a generational resident a foreigner. Doesn't exactly give the warm and fuzzies. When I read that you had made a few changes I thought you may make it more amusing - like being a Frenchman in France and feeling foreign ;)

It's wierd but in our little dorpie they call anyone that isn't a generational resident a foreigner

Yeah we remember this haha. I still prefer this type of "racism" than the unspoken one, when people give you a big smile, but then report you to the police when you aren't looking. (At least the police comes, not like in SA hahah).
How dare you telling me my version isn't amusing hahaha.

It's funny you said that though, when I was in Jobrug, I was replacing it with "I am a French in Johannesburg" sometimes, but I thought it would be silly as I am in France.
But you know, I don't know how much French is left in me, I know when my bru calls me from SA, my accent shift straight up to "Howzit China" hahaha

@edprivat Damn man! the beatbox rhythm, I loved this video, woow no doubt dude this is one of the styles I enjoy the most!!!!
Beautiful place as always, dude as I always say you are my inspiration to be better, you are one of the best here, without a doubt, my respect and my admiration.
I swear I moved to the rhythm of the song while I was listening to it and that is not something that happens to me very often, thanks for this my friend!

Hahaha Jared that's an awesome heartfelt comment! I am truly in awe and inspired by what you said, the place was very enjoyable to record, now it's cold for a few days so it will have to be indoor! Thanks for your lovely comment JK!

It's very true that a lot changes in your behaviors, mindset and even accent when you go to a new country. You nailed it there.

I didn't notice the water in the song but it's a great location for the video

Thanks brother!

Yeah, it's probably the same for you. Do you feel that some of your habits have changed ever since you moved?

Yes definitely. I can't say which right off hand but I notice them regularly, at moments when they occur.

awesome cover of a great song nice one!
dunno if im supposed to do this but @smithykins just joined (me mum) and i want
her to hear the song (i think notification is sent to herby ptting her name, guess ill find out)
sometimes i feel like a foreigner on planet earth, let alone in a foreign land😅

I see the post. Just not sure how or where to listen. Perhaps my brain is fried by all this learning about this stuff.

No problem! Click on the play button on the Youtube video!

Thanks @roconnor, I feel exactly how you feel haha, well that's why us folks band up together!

I shared the link, good job on onboarding your mum! Baby steps haha...

yeah i know this feeling haha, your song describes it so well.. you learn a lot more from it, you have nothing to lose even as a stranger. and you get to know so many new people, i think it's the best experience you can have sometimes.. a great environment that you chose for the song.

You got nothing to lose as a stranger, that's so true. I also think that you can reinvent a personality, the possibilities are endless!

I am super happy that you enjoyed the environment, I love this spot!!

 2 years ago  

I love this song, I even had it in my repertoire. You put your style in it and it sounds great his way, I love it!

Hey my brother, I am sure you're killing this song too!

Good performance and very good words. Definitely when I moved to Colombia at first I feel some strange in first place because of the fact to wake up and listen to a different accent around me and seeing many different people but after that now I feel that the world is my home and not only a country.

The world is your home, that's beautiful! Thanks for your kinds words, keep on rocking David!!

Beautiful publication. Congratulations...

Thanks!!!

Congratulations @edprivat! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 11000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 11500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 22

Thanks so much!!!

You're welcome @edprivat, that's a pleasure! Have a nice day 😊👍

Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received an upvote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!

🎶 Join us on our Discord Server! 🎵

Lo que dices es totalmente cierto mi amigo, te expresaste muy bien y con mucha pasión, las fotos super hermosas y el vídeo genial..

GRacias!!