"Travel Guitar" test run

in Music3 years ago

This is the first video I've recorded using the kit Christmas present turned slightly munted strat that I chopped up. (see previous posts here)

image.png

From my uneducated ear it doesn't sound too bad, all things considered. I still find it more difficult to play than a full body sized guitar, but I'm slowly getting used to it. Having said that I picked up my tele the other night and geez it weighs a ton in comparison.

Watching the video back I do look a bit like a t-rex at times like I've got tiny arms hanging over the guitar. Also in hindsight, I really shouldn't have worn a black t-shirt. The guitar shape kind of blends in and disappears into my 2020 iso "full form". I really need to start running again.

I've gone and bought a single humbucker pickup to install at some time in the future when I buy the other bits and pieces (pick guard, volume pot, some wires... I think that's it). No doubt there'll be some posts when that all happens.

I hope you're all staying safe and well! Enjoy the solo and the ever so slight glimpse of my pale, hairy, sexy legs. Ohh baby!

Sort:  

Congratulations @gtown! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 900 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

Sounds fine to me, but I can see how it would feel odd. We're used to a certain bulk of guitar body. It's a fun little project.

!BEER

It's funny what you get used to. I'm still thinking of your suggestion with the strap. Especially now I have just bought a standup desk at home. I can't just turn around and grab the guitar to play.


Hey @gtown, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Wow, sounds pretty good. I thought hacking all that wood off would make it sound thin but that doesn't seem to be the case. Love the Musicman(ish) 4/2 headstock.

Cheers Stav. I'm still tossing around the idea of making it a headless, but the headstock as is looks nifty.

Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received a (still) small vote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!

Hahahaha... TRex and appearances :) Great you got some sounds out of your own DIY guitar!
The camera position is something you may like to adjust next time, in case you really think you shouldn't look like a TRex... Though I don't mind, and to be honest, I only saw it after I read your post :)

Sounds great to me! Spot on execution too!

I never played a travel size guitar but by looking at it I can imagine it feels a bit weird at first.

Congratulations on the project, it looks awesome! I especially liked the Music Man style headstock. Good choice!

Thanks for sharing!