You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Alternative Weekend: More Heavy Noisy Grunting Growling Stuff

in Music4 years ago

I grew up listening to my Dad's Black Sabbath, Deep Purple, AC/DC. By the time I hit my teenage years I was into Slayer and Megadeth. I love all kinds of metal (not so much power) but thrash is my first love.

Have you tried Gojira? They're a bit more out there than Opeth, but I like 'em.

I know the feeling re: role reversal. I had much the same when my daughter was growing up. She used to complain about most stuff I listened to (but hey, I had to endure Spice Girls and S Club 7 from her, so you know!). Now she listens to metal too. Never could get her to like Springsteen or Dylan though. Ah well, you win some you lose some!

Sort:  

LOL about your daughter. Mine is not mainstream, loves the Beatles, Pink Floyd, and eighties music.

Dad - 'Why don't you like today's stuff'
Her - It's mostly crap.

It was mostly good for me when I was 16. I feel sorry for her not being able to hear new great stuff as it no longer exists.