You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: MUSIC: Three Tune Tuesday - 3 Anti-War Songs (2 Covers and an Original!)

in Music2 years ago (edited)

Hahaha I am Zak's star pupil Jasper! But I think you have the ability to overtake me the way you are progressing now on HIVE?

Thank you for the wonderful comments! It means you watched all the way which I thought would be the challenge with the 3 tune in a row concept! I think I am going to try and do it like this for the next few times as well... Pick a theme, 2 covers and then end with an original song... For as long as the original songs last!

I think I saw a recent post where you implied that you did conscription when it was still a thing in South Africa? Not many men talk too much about that anymore. I think my dad went to Angola but doesn't talk about it much... He'd much rather talk about mountaineering adventures, etc

Sort:  

Hahaha.....nah, I will just watch you from the shadows flying up like beep beep the road and bite your ankles now and again to hopefully boost you further....hehe.

I think it is a brilliant concept and I hope it takes off.

I am pretty much on the same page as your Dad then and normally rather talk about surfing & got free travelling to the same places as him.

However it is also sad that the buried stories are starting to go to graves with the holders and not being left for future generations to truthfully know about in comparison to some of the invented crap that gets placed in social media & other places by people with no clue these days.

I totally respect & understand your Dad's silent actions and am pretty much the same......isn't particularly macho bar talk to be used.

His actions say a lot about him in a respected way and my humble suggestion would be to not to push him for memories as they are probably buried in a place that he doesn't want to relive.

Awesome going on the songs again.

Well Dad has talked about it a few times but yeah definitely prefers other topics.

I also do something called the Mankind Project and have heard other men talk about their time in the army trying to squash protests in the townships during Apartheid, and it sounds awful.

That is awesome and I am glad he does.....probably a good release for him.

I would be interested to hear about the mankind project.

Yip, "urban coin" (riot control) was no fun on many levels and a uniform, gear and a rifle definately doesn't make one Rambo...especially as an eighteen year old.
A large group chanting and bearing down towards one with pangas etc or patrolling around on foot in pitch darkness in those sad places does unexplainable things to one on many levels including shitting your pants.
Any wannabe big talker about it these days that says they weren't nervous in the situations is a bullshitter in my humble opinion.