OPM: Menace To Sobriety

in Music17 days ago

Recently I was going through some old CDs and thinking of some of the music I used to listen to when I was first getting into listening to music.

I remember OPM, and how hard I tried to find this particular album when I was around 10.

I'd heard one of their songs on TV, called Heaven is a Halfpipe, and that made me want to seek them out. It took a lot of searching at the time, but I finally found it in a music shop in a different town.



Source


Stash Up - OPM

This is the opening track of the album, and I still remember the first time inserting the CD and not knowing what to expect.

While I was going to skip straight to the song I bought the album for, I didn't, and instead decided to let it play from the start, and the whole way through.

It's a fairly cool opening, and the song itself has a fairly decent build up, especially as it gets to the end.

It's funny how there was so many, rap/ punk/ metal bands around the time that this came out, and many of the bands that would have fit into that genre were in my album collection.


Better Daze - OPM

This song changes the tone a little bit, especially at the beginning, and then as the song continues the music goes a bit harder.

The end is fairly cool, and even now listening to it after a long time of not hearing it, I was kind of blown away by the end in particular because I wasn't really expecting it.

It's funny though when it comes to the end of the songs and the singer mentions, "The System" and the first place my mind goes is the Lonely Island song - Threw It On The Ground. "I'm not gonna be part of your system! I'm an adult."

I don't know why singing about the system is so cringe now, lol. Maybe our corporate overlords have programmed us into considering it some sort of joke now.


Dealerman - OPM

This is a really good song too, and it's actually funny when listening to some of their songs, and those of other bands I used to listen to.

They're all druggies, and most of those lyrics just flew right over my head when I was a little kid listening to all of this stuff. I didn't stand much of a chance really, lol.

"I get much love from my dealerman," I had no idea what a dealerman was when I was singing this back in the day.

It's not a bad song though, and the guitar and general tone of the song is pretty sick. It kind of gives me Tru Blood vibes for some reason, maybe the theme tune from that show.

The entire album is really eclectic, and they seem to have had a lot of fun writing these songs, and not tying themselves to one particular style or genre. It's a bit like my own band in a way, as we just play whatever comes to mind, rather than not allowing songs that don't really fit in with the rest of our stuff.

Sort:  

I expect I heard them some time. Those songs are okay though and they do mix it up a bit. Thanks for sharing :)

!PIZZA

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@steevc(1/5) tipped @killerwot