My Playlist Song #4: 3 Libras by A Perfect Circle

in Music5 months ago


Photo is AI generated using Craiyon

I actually never heard this song played on the radio anywhere, so I'm assuming this never got the airplay it deserved.

I watched them play on the Jay Leno show way back. I saw there was this weird guy on front vocals imitating Pan, the greek mythology character. That weirded me out at the same time caught my attention. He sounded alright.

At first it didnt register much to me maybe because of the frontman's antics. It was just okay to me, maybe because it was a live performance.

But then I'm a really a big Tool fan, and so this song would sometimes appear on the suggested songs queue. Then i found out the Pan guy was Maynard Keenan, the vocalist of Tool.

Because i am an avid Tool fan so I played 3 Libras again on youtube

On my second hear, but this time I truly felt the emotions the song was trying to evoke. The perfectly captures the frustrations of people who are overlooked.

The title definitely have a deeper meaning like Libra is the symbol for balance, and yet the tone of the song is about frustration, disappointment and vulnerabilty. So Maynard may be playing with ironies. He may also be symbolizing a weighing scale with three balance scales or something that is just hard to achieve equilibrium.

Thats why I like Maynard, he just let's you make your own interpretation and doesn't give away what he means most of the time.

The song is really good once you feel the emotions.Tool band is where Maynard expresses spiritual and metaphysical insights while in A Perfect Circle he expresses expresses raw emotions. It was also said that that Tool is the masculine side of Maynard's music while APC is the feminine side, like yin and yang.

Actually Maynard created a third band called Puscifer. This is where he performs experimental creativity not under the scope of Tool and APC like hip hop things and collabs with other genius creatives like him.

Without further ado, ladies and gentlemen, lets welcome A Perfect Circle performing 3 Libras. Let me know what you think in the comments.


Credits to the owner of the video