Songs in the Desert

in Musiclast year (edited)

Today is Tuesday and my Three Tunes for Tuesday are all lost in the desert. From Friday I will be on the West coast of the US in California and Arizona. I figure it is better to visit the desert in the Winter than in the blazing summer sun. One of my younger brothers is planning to get married outside of Phoenix so I decided to make a big deal out of it.

Anyway to get me in the mood I found some songs about the desert. The first is "Desert Song" from Säje. The song contrasts the ocean and the desert in vocal harmony accompanied by acoustic guitar. The Grammy nominated group consists of Sara Gazarek, Amanda Taylor, Johnaye Kendrick, and Erin Bentlage.

The music lifts me up and carries me on the ocean waves like a sea turtle. I feel like a new creation standing in the sand at the side of the ocean. But the desert is calling me deeper in. That someday is soon and I will breath in the desert and see myself reflected in her eyes. I will realize that song of life and love and I will sing along with her. I feel welcomed in the desert and will share my voice with her in song.

She is calling me.

"A Horse With No Name" is the first song I think of when I hear the word "desert". Dewey Bunnell from the band "America" wrote and sang the song. He seems to follow Neil Young's haunting vocals giving it a groovy feel.

The interesting thing about the band "America" is that the band started in London by US expats. They were military family kids stationed in London.

The interesting thing about the music here is that this song "A Horse With No Name" is one of the first songs a beginner guitar player learns. That's because almost the entire song is played with an Em chord. The funky feel to the recording is that it's played with a 12 string and is tuned lower than usual.

The song itself is basically a story of a journey in the desert. The lyrics are sometimes paradoxical and gives the listener the sensation of heat stroke. Like this line:

"In the desert you can remember your name
'Cause there ain't no one for to give you no pain"

If we look at it logically we negative negative negative = positive. It really never registers with me but it feels good as if in the desert I will find who I am because no one is there to bother me.

A Horse With No Name

America

Finally is The "Desert Song" with Mario Lanza and Judith Raskin on Soprano. The song is an operetta written by Sigmund Romberg in 1926. The Mario Lanza recording was done in Rome in 1959. Lanza was recovering from double pnemonia at the time and died a month after the recording. The interesting thing about this recording is that the Soprana part at the end by Judith Raskin was actually recorded in New York after Lanza's death and mixed over.

Too much talk and not enough music. Just listen and be taken off your feet by the orchestra. Close your eyes and step a little closer to the soprano in this delightful operetta. Soon you will have a smile on your face and dream together. Follow some of the last breaths of Mario's tenor as he gently embraces this desert song. A way is made in the desert through song. A picture is painted through words and music. I'm swept off my feet and consoled for a moment of peace and love.

The Desert Song - Mario Lanza

Do you want to dance?

That's the interesting thing that happened in the hall today. I was passing by the multimedia room and someone was practicing piano for graduation. Suddenly a second grade student came up to me and asked me why I don't teach second grade English. This was the same girl who asked me why I don't date her mom. I really wanted to run away but she was blocking the hallway and started to grab my hand and pull me the opposite direction of my class.

There was not much I could do in this situation but the music gave me an idea. I followed the beat and in two steps danced her into the opposite direction and gave her a little swing and she was in a dream. By the time she opened her eyes I was down the stairs and had disappeared. It wasn't easy to escape the grip of an 8 year old but the music helped me a lot.

Music brings us back to where we should be. She was back in her class and I was back in my class and very thankful she doesn't know where my office is.

Vacation starts Friday!!!

image.png

Sort:  

Did you say dessert? I'm all in. Oh wait.. !LOL

Piece of cake @buffalobin,

Are you still under a blanket of snow?

It's snow joke.

!LOL

What did the retired detective call his new real-estate business?
Sherlock Homes.

Credit: reddit
@buffalobison, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @mineopoly

Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.
(3/4)

A jumper cable walks into a bar..
The bartender says, I'll serve you, but don't start anything.

Credit: reddit
@mineopoly, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @buffalobison

Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(1/2)

This is nice. I enjoyed the song by the group of women and the guitar man. Good music indeed

Hi @jesus-son,

I'm glad you could enjoy the song.

I like your reggae beats. I wonder how they would sound with traditional hymns. I like when people take a traditional piece of music and play it in a new arrangement like this:

I'd like to see more music like this kind of dance style hymns. There are not many. And yeah sometimes I want to hear a reggae or calypso hymn but all I get is Mary's song or more ccm mixes like this one:

Yea, these beats are quite interesting.
It takes an act of ingenuity to really use such beat in traditional Christian songs. But I will try it one of these days

Please send me a shout out if you do. I think it takes a shot of inspiration and a lot of experience. Hive has helped you to keep producing music and get rewarded for what you love. I'm proud of you for that !PIZZA

'Horse with no name' always appears in my head, randomly...But if it's desert music, it's always Tinariwen for me.

Dessert music is another thing entirely.

Thanks. I'm new to this desert thing. !LUV

Dessert songs are a thang !LOL

A blind man walks into a bar..
..and then a chair and then a table.

Credit: reddit
@riverflows, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @mineopoly

Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's new FUN tribe!
(1/4)

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @mineopoly.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@mineopoly(1/5) tipped @jesus-son (x1)

Join us in Discord!

 last year  

The music lifts me up and carries me on the ocean waves like a sea turtle. I feel like a new creation standing in the sand at the side of the ocean. But the desert is calling me deeper in.

I can see why, this song is stunning. I had not heard this song before and it has now been added to some of my playlists, so thanks for the heads up and best of luck in Phoenix for the wedding prep. A horse with no name is a classic, always loved that tune.