You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Starting Again - Liquid Drum & Bass Freebie

in Music3 years ago

We have lived the same experiences it seems!

I agree with you about HIVE and about the music too. Peakd seems to be a good supplement to share music with your crypto followers like with a Facebook page or Twitter profile but to grow your music following - Soundcloud, Spotify and Mixcloud for radio shows just shine the brightest and I've had the most success on Spotify in terms of listeners.

Dsound just seems to have faded. Others I've heard of are Emanate, ROCKI and Audius but too small an audience, mostly focused on producers and.. integrating crypto with music... I've seen many communities split over it.

It's Friday man, let's just chill and have a beer hey 🍻

Sort:  

Hahahaha indeed... way to serious talk for the Friday... That's why this comment comes onto the chain and to you on Saturday! 😉

Most (to all?) crypto based music platforms are geared to producers. Not to fans. Wondering though how producers earn money when it are not the fans using these platforms. Will also be a major block to real growth. Anyway, all these project owners and devs should work it out themselves 🙃

Cool you have some traction with Spotify. So many are just shitting on them, but I suppose these are the artist who believe their income should come from publishing music only. Anyway, their problems, not mine 😉

Wish you a great weekend.

Yeah man, pretty much agree with everything there!

The only thing I'd like Spotify to have would be a comments section like with soundcloud so that fans can comment with artists and the bond can be built from there. If they did that, there'd be no competition.

But like you say, I'll leave the comments about artists shitting on Spotify alone - they can always set up their own site 😁😶

Hope you have a great one too!

When Spotify would ad a comment section, this will indeed be an all inclusive service. But, I'll tell you as a music fan: I'll probably never will use the comment section, not to write, not to read. I know, some do, but many won't. If I was to be advising Spotify, I'll probably not advise to include a comment section. I may advise them to start experimenting with social elements more, maybe a blog at the side where artists are provided with a platform to provide news and updates to their fans. This service could have a comment section as well. But I see this service not integrated with the core of Spotifiy, but as an additional service. Ie no comment section under a track or album, but another 'vertical' service.

Many artists trying to earn money in crypto space, don't seem to understand one can only make money when the audience is large enough. And where audiences are large enough, a lot of artists push their work. To be able to stand out of the crowd, an artists shall use all business tactics we know to get an audience. That's why all sort of roles are at play in the music segment. Roles all these crypto music platform, as well as many artists seem to want to do without. It's sometimes too funny how idealistic people are while they don't even realise their they are idealistic :)

Yeah I guess my point was mainly geared around the social side of streaming on Spotify, not necessarily just a comments section. They do have a "highlighted" feature on the profile page that artists can edit and showcase new releases or events if anyone does browse someone's profile. I suspect most of the time, people just stream in the background though

I suspect most of the time, people just stream in the background though

Thats what I do :) And indeed, I suspect many. A comment section can be harmful for the service. Why you think so many news services, companies and all don't have a comment section? :)