Transmuting the internal tyranny

in Music3 years ago

Yesterday was a strange one for me. I thought I'd do a quick video to include in the #Hiveopenmic community for a bit of light hearted sharing. What actually happened left me feeling stunned, confused and heading to the shop - with red puffy, eyes - for crisps.

To back up and give some context, I was a late starter when I decided to write songs, sing and play guitar. I was nearly 30. But I was very tenacious and focussed and I did it. I played festivals, did support for well established, local artists, released recordings, had radio play of my recordings, played live on radio and was asked to sing on other artists recordings. I even got an Honours in Musical Theatre Grade 6, having never done any of the other grades and not particularly rehearsing much for the exam. My teacher would tell me I should choreograph a performance and I told her I was too embarrassed to do it in front of her so I made it up on the day.

This was all pretty astounding when I think that in school, panic would rise every time I had to say "present" when the teacher called my name in class.

There was always the internal cheer squad telling me my voice was no good, my guitar playing was crap and my songs were boring and then add to that the need for promotional photographs and the analysing of every pore on my face to see which images were acceptable to put out there in the fickle world of "music business".

After a couple of difficult personal situations I no longer had the energy to maintain the image. And not surprisingly really, a lot of my music friends didn't have the capacity to be around the real me who was grieving and in pain. So I parted ways with them and music.

I have done tiny bits and pieces here and there but as far as I was concerned it had run it's course and I didn't like the structures in which music was contained and controlled.

ALL of this came up yesterday when the beautiful @clareartista suggested we offer our talents to the open mic. I spent all day trying to record my own songs and I couldn't bear the results. All the old feelings of self loathing and lack of value came up.

As the roller coaster continued through the day I pondered why I even thought to play music in the first place. But more than that I wondered when music became a business and took on the current form which includes "selling" yourself and your art.

Surely singers, songwriters, musicians, poets, storytellers, painters, dancers and so on used to provide a wonderful service for their community in offering a cathartic outlet to express feelings, sense making around events, uplift, joy and a weaving together, acceptance and integration of all that was. Were they not the original mental health service? And when I say "they", yes perhaps some have more aptitude for the arts but doesn't everyone have the right and indeed need to express themselves through voice, colour, movement. Are these the methods we were given to allow energy to move through us as living beings and is the prevention of that, the stuck energy, what we refer to as "trauma"?

I don't know when art and music began to be owned and copyrighted. It was sometime after cave art! But perhaps in the times we are living in it is right to return art, music and creativity to Women, Men, Gaia. It's a gift. Creativity is a gift and it seems to me gifts are given not owned and certainly not used to build a corrupt and superficial industry around.

With that in mind I'm sharing the video I recorded for the open mic. I don't like it. It was recorded at the end of tricky day. But that's just the truth of it. And I feel I want to embrace that quality in my creativity. If you are still reading, thank you. I offer this post as a gift.

Blessings to you ❤️

Sort:  

What a beautiful interpreation of this song, both the guitar playing and your voice / singing.

It made my heart beat faster and I had to close my eyes halfway through and just listen to the energy.

A very powerful message also in your post. I love these kind of personal backstories, no matter how tough it must have been for you.

As a highly sensitve person and creative, who has struggled for most of his life, I can relate in many ways.

Much love,

Vincent
aka Hypersensitivosaurus

A beautiful comment, Vincent. Thank you. I'm really exploring how to disentangle from the effects of being in music "business" and accessing the truth of why I create at all. I can relate to being hyper sensitive ... Perhaps I'm a a hypersensadocus 😊 Blessings ❤️

Posted using Dapplr

:<)

Nice to meet you!

Lovely to meet you 😊

Oh yeah! It's a real pleasure hearing you carry this song. In fact it holds a very special place in my heart. I dig Sinead O'Connor's, and I understand Prince wrote it, I think. But I haven't heard anyone play it like this before, and it almost seems most natural this way. A tender song about losing in love - perfect for the acoustic guitar. Your singing voice is rockin'. Thank you for sharing your gifts with the Hive Open Mic community.

Thanks for joining in and enjoying Hive Open Mic

Thank you 😊 and thank you for organising a beautiful, supportive, inclusive open mic. I'm new to Hive and I'm really loving the sense of community. ❤️

Posted using Dapplr

Congratulations @ninasophia! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day

You are so beautiful, in every sense, dearest friend @ninasophia !!!! Blessings on all that you bring to the world: you are a power-full Gift to us, thank you!!!!

Great writing, amazing voice and artistry @ninasophia 👏👏👏 Love what you say about artists providing the original mental health service. Creative expression of our truth is so important. Wonderfull presence 🙏🏼

Ah thank you @exoexplorer .I love this journey we are on ❤️

Thank you so much, Beautiful Clare. Sending you blessings ❤️❤️❤️

You are a professional player already I show you my respect boss

🙏 Thank you so much. Much respect and blessings to you ❤️

Posted using Dapplr

You are welcome 😊

you have a nice and melodious voice. I love hearing you sing

Thank you ❤️