Radio Liquorice -- the April Showers episode

in Musiclast year

Do you get the blues when it rains? Try Radio Liquorice!

This month's bumper episode is packed full of covers and originals from our band of musical collaborators and enablers.

From the Marx Brothers and the Wizard of Oz (@daniellemurray), to the Carpenters (@anna-newkey), Nina Simone (@purplesinger), several original tunes from talented local singer-songwriters (including @todayslight) and a highly unusual take on House of the Rising Sun (@steevc), this episode packs a punch that is guaranteed to stave off the rainy blues.

The guest spot features "Get Back"-style recordings from the rehearsals of emerging band Furwell Polk.

Premiering now on YouTube.

Just listening not enough? Want to take part more fully in the Radio Liquorice experience?

Most episode include a guest spot for non-regulars on the show, which has previously featured Hive musician @basilmarples. Drop a message either to this account or to @daniellemurray if you'd like to send up to three mp3s for the next episode.

Keep your umbrella close and your enemies closer!

Sort:  

Thank you For the wonderful podcast tonight. Sorry I didn't stick to the theme...

Don't worry, I don't generally stick to it. I have to go with what I have available.

I literally hadn't got any ideas and no time to record anything new, even if I'd had some ideas.

It doesn't matter a bit. Some people do it, others don't, but it gives me an overall theme to work with. It would probably be a bit boring if it was wall-to-wall songs about rain, or spring or autumn, or whatever... Also @purplesinger your set sounded spring-like.

I have tended to just record one new song and that will be whatever I am working on. I have been exploiting my archive, but that may get used up. I do not want to repeat myself, if possible. The theme can be good to inspire people. Anyway, it was a great show.

I enjoyed Paul's Rain Song. I used to be able to play it and have been trying it again recently. The original is in an alternative tuning, but I play it in standard.

@steevc I have been so busy since I've been working two jobs, that I am using up all my past recordings rapidly. I need to try to put aside some time to do some new songs. I'd love to hear some of your drumming recordings on the podcast...the ones you put on here with backing tracks. Or maybe we could collaborate on something?

I would be up for collaborating. I may also look at doing more tracks with my drums where I replace the backing track with my own singing.

Time is always an issue. Putting a recording together can take hours. I was impressed that several people added backing vocals to their songs. The skill level has gone up over the time we've been doing this.

Always fun to hear what people come up with. Long may you rain.

!LUV

Hi @radioliquorice,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

I love this. Good combinations making such melodious track

Thank you 😌