Synth Brittania for Three Tune Tuesday

in Musiclast year

If you lived through the eighties, you probably lived through the age of synth. For me, it was Joy Division and New Order, which I adored beyond all reason. New Order really began to feature the synth heavily and Blue Monday was one of those songs that started an entire era of techno, arguably. I still get shivers when I even think of this song existing in the world.

image.png
Image Source

I'm writing about this era of synth for #threetunetuesday, brought to you by @ablaze, because we recently watched this documentary, which is highly recommended for fans of the era and those who know nothing about it. Synth Brittania details the rise of electronic music in Britian via a genration of post pun musicians who started with experimental music and ended up making this genre the centre of the pop stage.

We loved it - there was a lot of tunes we remembered from the past but also found it remarkable that a genre like this burst onto the music scene so spectacularly. Jamie's a huge fan of Depeche Mode, but he also had quite a few of the featured tunes in his vinyl collection, just because you couldn't quite live through the eighties and nineties without collecting some at least.

It's pretty hard to choose three and I want to choose New Order, but I guess that's something you're all familiar with anyway. I mean, you would have have to have lived under a rock not to have heard of Blue Monday. And I'm pretty sure Kraftwerk and Human League are also familiar.

But let's throw an old Depeche Mode in there shall we? What struck me was how young they were. I mean, der, time passes and all of that.

These guys had adopted the synth as an instrument but it wasn't just about getting the computer to do the work for them as musicians, as they were accused.

I also adored this one, a version of a Chuck Berry song which is a lot of fun and makes me think of the innocence of those times.

I do have to end with this one for my three tunes. It
Atmosphere Joy Division. It's a twinkling, soaring, atmospheric, haunting, stunning gem of a song, trancelike, ethereal. I have it on vinyl, on the album Substance, and on 12 inch. It never fails to amaze me how beautiful this song is.

I know it's only meant to be three tunes, but I've gone down a bit of a rabbit hole this week and if you happen to be a Nine Inch Nails/Trent Reznor fan, there's a version by him and Pete Murray from Bahaus which is quite nice. But this one totally killed me. I mean, if I'd gone to see Mark Lanegan and he'd played this I would have lost my absolute shit. I was talking to @ablaze about Lanegan the other day and listened to his autobiography last year after he passed. Anyway, I think I'm still on three tunes, just I've done one song twice, haha!

What's your favourite song from that era? Here's a whole list of them on Spotify from the film - everything from Tainted Love by Soft Cell to Sweet Dreams by the Eurythmics, Gary Numan's Cars, and the beautiful Ceremony, which was both done by Joy Division and New Order so a particular favourite of mine.

Wait til I start on Jah Division and dub versions of Joy Division songs - he he - maybe another week.

With Love,

image.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here


Sort:  

Oooh, this post speaks to my musical heart! After all, I grew up, well was a teen in the 80s and grew up with ⬆️ almost all of the above. Never watched The Young Ones, and haven't heard Silicon Teens before but the rest? Oh yeah!

I love Depeche Mode also their newer songs and at the time was a huge fan. Same for New Order Blue Monday or, of course, True Faith - still love the video. And we still listen to their albums, admittedly Greatest Hits, but still. So good.

Another favorite of the time and from your list that I still love to listen to today - OMD. Really like their hits. Ultravox - Vienna. Awesome songs.

Hmm, I wonder what the first video is you posted because it is not available in the US.

In any case, thanks for sending me back to the 80s.

The very first one was the documentary itself. It is SUCH a walk down memory lane!!

Oh, I see. I was trying to find it online but so far - no luck 😟

Congratulations @riverflows! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-12 - Winners List
Be ready for the first Hive Power Up Month of the year 2023!
Update For Regular Content Creators - New Yearly Author Badge
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal

Synth Britannia is a great doco, I have watched it several times. There's some other 'Britannia' ones knocking around on YouTube, some of them only in partial form, like the Reggae one.

Yeah we are big reggae fans so think we have seen that one. Really enjoyed this too.

I remember synth! I remember it very well, in fact. Some of it was really quite a bit of fun, too!

Memphis Tennessee was new to me, though, and I really enjoyed that. That was a fun song!

It was new to me too... Loved it!!

Yeah couldn't miss synth in the 80's Human League and Soft Cell were two I liked but they were probably just two of the more popular groups from those times.

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

 last year  

Ah man, that was a quality read and listen and nostalgic throw back. The Young Ones!!! Classic telly, that was, they don't make em like that anymore! Genius..

I haven't seen Synth Britannia, but had a little ten minute taster, so it is book marked now for future listening/watching. I did listen to a great podcast recently all about Joy Division and New Order which was deadly - it's called Transmissions and I'd say it'd be right up your street.

Cracking array of songs from that era, all well up there in my estimation. Some other favourites from that Spotify Playlist - Just Can't Get enough, Tainted Love, Don't You Want Me, The Model, Master and Servant, Cars - they are all great though, what a cracking playlist. That'll get a whirl for my next long car journey.

That last tune of Mark Lanegan was very special - RIP. Another legend meets the maker.