Three Tune Tuesday: In the Chill Zone

in Music3 months ago

Gosh, it's good to be chilling and not doing constant DIY. It's been quite wet here but every now and then the sun streams through into the guest room of my mother in law's house where I read a book or do yoga in the afternoons, wrapped in a little peace. I've had a hankering for chill instrumental slide guitar so slipped into a Spotify playlist where I have been hearing some songs I had entirely forgotton about but love.

image.png

Here's my three tunes for #threetunetuesday, a project by @ablaze where Hive folk share three of their fave tunes for the week.

Yo La Tengo: Green Arrow

This song is beautifully meditative. The shakers sound like sprinklers on an early summer morning and there seems to be cicadas too. I put my book down to drift to this one and listened to it three times. The next song in the playlist seemed awfully jarring against this beautiful soundscape.

Ben Harper: Paris

I used to play Ben Harper quite a bit, but haven't listened to him in years. It was lovely to hear this familiar tune appear and twinkle around in the sunshine.

Ry Cooder: Paris Texas

I loved this film many years ago. It's a beautifully masterful film - even after all this years, all the way from 1984. If you haven't seen it, do yourself a favour. Wim Wenders choosing Ry Cooder to do the soundtrack was a stroke of genius.

Please drop your instrumental slide below - I'd sure appreciate it!

Sort:  

My husband was into Ry Cooder way back when. I’ve not heard him in years. Loved all 3 of these!

I'm so glad... My music isn't always your taste! My Dad was a big Cooder fan.. well is.

Ry Cooder is awesome and I have been seeing the daffs pop up as well as crocuses, spring is on the way!

I love Ry Cooder, he's just a legend musician isn't he? Cold up there mate?

All these 3 tune Tuesday posts are making me want to make one, too!
I listen to a lot of random music, but usually never too much from the same artist for whatever reason... For the past couple of years I feel as though I have been listening to the same 20 songs on repeat. Trying to think of a theme for my 3 songs now...

No need for a theme!

Haha yes it's good to listen to new music. That's why I like Spotify radio .. one song connects to a million others!

Three great choices (as always).

Please drop your instrumental slide below - I'd sure appreciate it!

Not exactly slide, yet it's open turning. Hope it counts. :)

https://hive.blog/music/@novacadian/original-instrumental-in-dadgad

#threetunetuesday, a project by @ablaze where Hive folk share three of their fave tunes for the week.

I was not aware of any such project. Is this some competition and can I also participate in it?