Feel Good Tunes

in Musiclast month

"Good music is the remedy for a bad day" - Unknown


One of the good things about Social Media these days, especially YouTube, are the random number of recommendations and reels you see. This is probably the only good thing that comes from short-form content.

Of course, good movies too, can be a good source of entertainment, where you stumble upon a treasure trove of good music. There's gaming as well, which is also a proper and noteworthy source of amazing music. Yet, since I don't watch too many movies, and can't get much time to play any single-player or story-mode games, these days random social media recommendations have to get the job done.

I don't care about the source, I couldn't care less. Most of the time it is just a random encounter. As long as I'm getting to learn about new forms of music or tracks that I've never heard of, I'm good. I just need something to get my groove on, and I'd say getting me in my groove is quite a difficult task.


PXL_20230907_121217096~2.jpg

ᴵᵐᵃᵍᵉˢ ᵃⁿᵈ ᵒᵛᵉʳᵃˡˡ ᶜᵒⁿᵗᵉⁿᵗ ᵃʳᵉ ᵐʸ ᵒʷⁿ ᵘⁿˡᵉˢˢ ᶦᵗ'ˢ ᵐᵉⁿᵗᶦᵒⁿᵉᵈ


I also possess the superpower of playing a single song on repeat, until it's completely ruined. So, I have to keep it going, and be on the search all the time; just to keep the groove going.

I don't go searching for good music like I once used to. However, I don't feel the need to. Meta's Social Media platforms and others alike, have gotten so good at tracking your data that, sooner or later they end up recommending something of your taste. Whether it be a viral reel, tune, or meme, they always pop up suddenly out of nowhere.

My playlist and genres of liking are a cumbersome mess, a masterful clusterf*ck of melodies.

Yet, I own this distinct taste in music of mine quite proudly.



These are the three songs that I've been listening to on repeat for the past three days.

Of course, Let It Be and Somewhere over the Rainbow aren't new songs. I've heard Somewhere Over the Rainbow a hundred times, in many different places, but Let It Be by The Beatles, however, I've just recently stumbled upon it.

YG Marley's Praise Jah In The Moonlight is a fairly new release; it's only been a few months or so. His name says it all, Bob Marley is his grandfather. And you don't even have to look at the name. His style of music and lyrics, it is clear what genre and style he follows.

It's funny, how all three songs are two to three decades apart; yet, here I am, a 90s baby, who enjoys all three just as much. It just depends on the mood I'm in. This week it may be these three songs, and the next week it could be a completely different genre or language; even a language that I probably don't even understand.

Because music is all about how it makes you feel, and then sometimes comes total comprehension.



1.png


Sort:  

There are also times when I put a particular song on repeat for days until it feels like I have gotten tired of it so I’d change my taste again
That’s what I do
I love the jams though
Nice one!

I guess it's one of the good addictions some of us have. 😂