Three Tune Tuesday - Paul Weller

in Music β€’ 10 days ago

Hello music lovers! 🎡

It's a Tuesday, so it's time for #threetunetuesday and a chance to share something I'm listening to.
My last #ttt post was a week ago, and continuing with the music, I'm recalling memories from the past with you.

Today, I remember Paul Weller, an English musician, singer, guitarist, and songwriter. He became famous with the band The Jam from 1972 to 1982. Later, he formed and worked with The Style Council. After 1992, he turned to a solo career and is still working today. I have been following him since the beginning because The Jam came out with the punk music movement, and I, at a young age, a sworn punker, was absorbing all the punk noise that was coming from the island. Well, in reality, haha, as they said themselves, they never wanted to be punks. They wanted to be mods.
Paul has won numerous awards throughout his career. In 2009, The Times named him one of the 100 Greatest Britons of All Time.
He is known for his eclectic musical style, which incorporates elements of rock, soul, jazz, R&B, and mods. His lyrics are often personal and reflective, mostly socially engaged, dealing with themes of love, loss, society, and politics.
A little bit of everything :)

🎡 🎧 🎡

For those not (yet) familiar with #threetunetuesday or #ttt - these are tags you need to set when you post.
It's a music initiative started by @ablaze, and with his words, the jist is as follows:

Every Tuesday I'm going to share 3 songs that I like to listen to and I invite your feedback in the comments below. Better still, why not have a blast of your own Three Tune Tuesday and mention me in the post and I'll come and find the post and upvote it. If you could also use #threetunetuesday tag that would be great, as that is what I use when sifting through all the entries every Wednesday. It'll be a sweet way for us all to discover new music. You'll also be in with a chance of winning the reward.

🎡 🎧 🎡

I have selected a few songs from his extensive opus to continue with the music.

The Jam - In The City

The song is from the same name debut album from 1977. The song is fast and, I would say, nervous, with a distinctive bass and a strong guitar riff. A typical punk song from the point of view of a young man from the big city in the 1970s, frustrated by boredom and wanting to escape from the everyday. But on stage, they were always well groomed, fashionable for that time, and real mods, unlike the raggedy punks :)

🎡 🎧 🎡

The Style Council - It Didn't Matter

The song is from their third album, The Cost Of Loving, from 1987, and it is also a single. The song is about regret and lost opportunities. By the way, the backing vocalist, Dee C Lee, became his wife for the next eleven years.

🎡 🎧 🎡

Paul Weller - Green

The song is from the eleventh solo album Sonik Kicks, released in 2012. The album became number one in the chart immediately after its release. Green is the album's opening track about finding meaning in life. As you can see, the official video is a visual explosion of colors and symbols.

Well, let's have a bonus :)

The Jam - That's Entertainment
The song is from the fifth album, Sound Affects, from 1980. I added it as a bonus because it somehow generalizes and satirically describes the corruption of the music industry and suggests the imminent end of The Jam. The song has also had several covers, reportedly 20, by other musicians.

That's all for today, thank you for your attention. I hope today's selection was interesting and put you in a relaxed mood like it did me :)

🎡 🎧 🎀

This is my 45th post for #threetunetuesday, which @ablaze started. I hope what I'm sharing is enjoyable for others too, because it makes sense.

If you're curious about the fresh music, follow me on #newtunes, or take a look at my rare recordings at 3speak channel - video, or Seckorama's Music Podcast - audio.

If you like jazz, I recommend Jazz-Matinee, a regular Sunday blog by @w74.

More #ttt posts? Take a look at Suicide, Steve Hillage, Jorma Kaukonen, Slade, Ian Dury and The Blockheads, Opal, The Dandy Warhols, Seasick Steve, Echo And Bunnymen, Morphine, The God Machine, Modern Lovers, New Model Army, Wishbone Ash, Brian Setzer, King Gizzard and The Lizard Wizard.

The front image is mine, created in Night Cafe Studio and edited in Photoshop.

And here's something else:
There has been a lot of development in Hive core but documentation is outdated and updates are needed. So I invite you to support and vote for Hive devportal updates proposal by @good-karma.

Support and vote for those exceptional witnesses:
@good-karma, @liotes, @fbslo and @detlev.witness.

Music4life!

πŸ“· 😎 πŸ“·

Stay Healthy!
logosecko.gif

NFT Showroom
3Speak Channel
Photo Manipulation
Beer Tasting
New Tunes
Foodies

Ready for Web3
hive_nft_200x200.gif

Sort: Β 

An entertaining walk through the park of music history with Paul Weller. - No matter in what "fancy costume".
For the man's musical oeuvre, #threetunetuesday should actually be renamed in #tentunetuesday.
And then there'd have to be some thought about which songs wouldn't be on the list.
I enjoyed your post. πŸ˜ŽπŸ˜‰

Thank you. I try to search my memory for every #ttt.

Oh wow your certainly took me back in time there with the Style council and That's Entertainment!

They were high on the list of my 80's song lists!

In the city was a bit to far back in time for me- I was only 7! 🀣

Thanks for the memories! πŸ˜ƒ

Thanks for stopping by. I was just right, and I have 15! 😜

Ah so your a decade ahead of me then!
That's why the 80's were and still are my faves because they were my 'formative years'...πŸ˜†... learning how to drink, dance and party down at the Tathra pub and the Merimbula RSL club when all the big Aussie bands used to stop by on their way to Melbourne from Sydney- back when I was still in high school, so partying down at the pub at night and hungover at school during the day....🀣

Ohhhh those were the daze...ooops I mean days....🀣

Yes, you're right, what crazy years. And that's precisely the point of these #ttt posts of mine. To use music to remember my past 😜🍻 !BEER

Yeah Love it and so happy I bumped into this great little musical trip down memory lane too!
Thanks so much!
I Look forward to the next round to discover more gems too!


Hey @chocolatescorpi, here is a little bit of BEER from @seckorama for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.