Music Monday - Continental Classics - Goth Memories of the 90s.

in Music3 years ago

I woke up this morning to the song Detachable Penis by King Missile. I haven't heard this song in years and it instantly brought back a flood of hysterical memories from the 90s. Yes, it's another 90s post 🤣, The Dood's favorite era!

Around the time this track came out I worked in one of the bigger nightclubs in Buffalo NY. The Continental was Buffalo's Goth and Punk Rock mecca. It was a two floor club with live music on the first level and goth and EBM on on the second floor.

I worked as security on the second floor mostly but would work the door or crowd control for the stage when there were bands I wanted to see. The Continental was a must play venue for up and coming bands like Green Day, White Zombie, L7 and other similar acts from that era. I seen some great concerts there before those bands really took off. We could usually tell which bands were heading for big things as they rolled through town. I remember seeing White Zombie for the first time, and was just completely blown away!

Detachable Penis - King Missile.

This is just a fun song I remember from that era. This was played at least once a night on the second floor. We also had a video screen on the first floor of the club and this video was played often before and in between bands.

Looking for the video, I came across this story about the song and that I'd include it.

KMFDM - Money

I seen KMFDM a bunch of times back then. One of my favorite bands. They always played this track on the video screen on the first floor of the club I worked at. This always brings back memories of shooting pool and getting falling over drunk towards the end of the night! Hey, it was the 90s! That's what we did!

Bloodletting - Concrete Blonde

I have a playlist on my phone called Continental Classics. I love playing it for friends from that era. It always brings a smile to their face. This song is top on that list.

Warm Leatherette

This song was originally played by a band called The Normal. I found this version of it with some industrial pioneers doing a remix of it. I really like this version a lot. Features Trent Reznor, Jeordie White, Peter Murphy and Atticus Ross.

Bela Lugosi's Dead - Bauhaus

Another video I remember watching on the first floor all the time. This was always played on the second floor too. The entire bar would get a really dark vibe whenever this played. It just has such a dark sound and combine that with a bunch of punk rock and goth kids running around. It definitely added to the ambiance of the club.

White Zombie - 1965

Another favorite from that era. More memories of falling down drunk and shooting pool until I couldn't stand anymore. Such good times with some epic hangovers the following day.

Well, that's my gothic blast from the past. Good times and fond memories. Hope you enjoyed listening to these as much as I enjoyed compiling them. Happy #MusicMonday everyone.

Sort:  

I think I managed to miss a lot of music in the 90s. Not sure why. I was actually just discussing Bauhaus with @dickturpin. I remember them having some hits.

I did hang out in a club in Freiburg, Germany around 1990 that had a mix of punk, goth, rockabilly and other music going on. I was never into 'dance music' as such.

Bauhaus are like me, Marmite! You either like them or hate them. TBH, their music intrigues me. I've always been interested in sections of song/music or lyrics. Maybe it's a chord I like or a rhythm, so with Bauhaus, they'll have (for me) a great tune even if halfway through it's slightly ruined by someone screaming ♫ ♪ "In nomine patri et filii et spiriti sanctum" ♬ ♩ over and over again at the top of their voice. LOL

LOL @dickturpin so true. It's definitely an acquired taste 🤣

Germany had an awesome scene for this type of music! So much great music still coming out of that country!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @the-bitcoin-dood! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 60000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 65000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received a (still) small vote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!

Oh boy. This is like a memory of high school!. Cruising in the big Ford LTD blasting Concrete blonde... and as I recall, KMFDM is the drug against war. Man life was easier then my friend.

Yeah it was! Good times for sure!

And to somehow involve comic books, that great OG comic book based goth movie The Crow had some great tracks that tie in perfectly with your post and probably toured with a lot of the acts mentioned:

Great pull with that Warm Leatherette cover, had not heard that before and will definitely be putting it in the rotation.

Absolutely. I actually was going to post the Golgotha Tenement Blues track but it just fell short for the list. Glad you shared this. My Life With the Thrill Kill Kult is another favorite too. Great track selection there for sure!